We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the Florentine steak for 2”
Review of Trattoria 4 Leoni

Trattoria 4 Leoni
Ranked #353 of 2,703 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pitti
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Have the Florentine steak for 2”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wait with a prosecco in the Piaza for your table. They have a great wine selection and warm staff. This is a "must" restaurant in Florence. The tiramisu was average.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldbasics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,369
    1,023
    382
    192
    164
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saanichton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our son recommended this restaurant from his travels in Italy last year. Good recommendation. It's a bit hard to find, but once we asked directions, all of the locals seemed to know of it.

Our server was Pamela, who was a major part of the dining experience. Beautiful voice, beautiful person. She made great recommendations for us and we tried the pear ravioli with ricotta and a cream sauce of asparagus with goat cheese. Likely the best food I have ever put in my mouth. The cheese cake, which Pamela advises is the best in the world is very light, creamy and delightful. It probably is the best in the world.

After a day of being overwhelmed by the cultural and artistic treasures of Florence, we were overwhelmed by the food, wine and service at 4 Leone, who lead the way as a Stendahl Syndrome for cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food but Be warned”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is my third trip to Florence and I've come here for dinner every time. I did not book dinner after reading some reviews on TA about service but stopped by for lunch as I was in the neighbourhood and could not resist the temptation of their pasta with pear. Got there just before 1:00 pm and was seated right away on their patio by the Piazza. As noted in some of the earlier negative reviews about service, I found waiters to be arrogant but my personal theory is that this flows down from the owners/manager who never smile or welcomes guests in a friendly manner (unless you are a movie star as you can see from proudly displayed photos of beaming owner with Anthony Hopkins etc). The staff always look pissed off when customers walk in.

I started with bruschetta with tomatoes which was excellent. Pasta with pear was as good as ever and my older daughter's pasta with anchovies was also very good. Their cheese cake was so delicious we wound up ordering 2 more times. But, then the waiter had to ruin it all by whispering "the bill does not include service charge" as he gave the check. I was going to leave a small tip anyway as he arranged for my younger daughter's special pasta request not on the menu but this worn out cheap trick is ridiculous at a place of this caliber and especially considering the owner's obviously very high opinion of themselves as one can note from their website and some of the previous reviews here. Still good food but unless you are Italian or American movie star (who I'm sure are exempt from this "no service charge" trick) be aware of their waiters.

Bottom line - I like their food but always leave this place regretting their service and thinking how great this place would be if they only had decent manners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank072010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another gem in quiet back streets of Florence”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Loved this restaurant. You definitely must book but don't be late. They will release your reservation if you are late. They are very popular and rightly so. The food was delicious, and wine list was great. Not too expensive. The wait staff are on the ball and the place is filled with mostly locals, but our waiter could not have been more attentive. Wonderful experience. No 2 on our best restaurants in Italy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krystine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for the last 3 years and have never had a bad meal. The food is always well prepared and well presented. A recent meal for 8 consisting of 3 shared appetizers, 8 primi (pasta) dishes, 4 cappuchino, cover charge and 2 bottles of wine was about 145 euros. The red table wine is a good value and this food is fresh and well prepared. I would recommend reservations for large groups or weekends. This place feels like a great "find" due to its' location which makes it more special. I will go back (tomorrow night actually).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria 4 Leoni also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria 4 Leoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing