We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1994 Osteria del Teatro welcomes you with politeness and professionalism, offering typical Tuscan cuisine with a selection of tasty dishes. It is a restaurant in Cortona, Italy, charming and genuine, owned by Emiliano Rossi, experienced and friendly chef. For a good lunch in Cortona or a romantic dinner visit our restaurant to discover the exquisite Cortona cooking pleasures! Our restaurant trattoria in Cortona allows you to enjoy tasty and sought-after dishes from Cortona in a unique setting: a 6th century building totally renovated and restored to original splendor. Three different settings welcome you in an elegant and very exclusive atmosphere: the first room reclaiming the typical features of the ancient inns of Tuscany, the second is characterized by a cozy contest, the third is enriched by precious frescoes which make your dinner or your lunch in Cortona intimate and romantic
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We walked by this restaurant every day and loved the way it looked. This trip, having read the other reviews, we decided to try it and it was great. The homemade pasta was delicious - I had the stuffed tortellini and loved it. My husband then had the steak with truffles and fois gras - Wow, while I had lamb chops that at home would be called 'rack of lamb'. We enjoyed a great Cortona Syrah and ended with cheese and preserves. One of our best meals in Italy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank writingmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,425
    499
    80
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
141 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were encouraged to dine out on our trip to Cortona and osteria del Teatro was highly recommended. Glad we did as it was one of the best meals we have ever had on the dozens of trips we have been on. Not only was the waitress fun and bubbly, she was highly educated in wine and new what wines to pair with our many plates of food. She was amazing and you could tell that she loved what she did. The food was incredible too and the dessert was to die for. I would definately recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Loved the loo! Have to take a camera in there to photograph the dolls and other bits. Apart from the loo - the food was amazingly good and reasonably priced. The chocolate board was a brilliant idea. Staff were attentive and had a sense of humour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandi S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This typical tuscan rest is just great. The pastas are very tasty, and the bistecca fiorentina is great.
The service is personal and welcoming.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bellisimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant to celebrate a friend's birthday. We started with a cheese truffle fondue as an antipasti that we shared. We all went for a primie which were all gorgeous pasta (the chestnut potatoe and pork pasta was very good). As a secondie, one of us had the beef fillet with grape and bacon which was to die for. Dolci were beyond marvellous. We tried the Charlotte tiramisu and the chocolate selection (try the pistachio chocolate), all of which were accompanied with a selection of rhums and sweet white wines. For a grand total of eur 50 per person, as Londoners, this is a gorgeous restaurant and a foodie heaven.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 786rabi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing