We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food & great service”
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1994 Osteria del Teatro welcomes you with politeness and professionalism, offering typical Tuscan cuisine with a selection of tasty dishes. It is a restaurant in Cortona, Italy, charming and genuine, owned by Emiliano Rossi, experienced and friendly chef. For a good lunch in Cortona or a romantic dinner visit our restaurant to discover the exquisite Cortona cooking pleasures! Our restaurant trattoria in Cortona allows you to enjoy tasty and sought-after dishes from Cortona in a unique setting: a 6th century building totally renovated and restored to original splendor. Three different settings welcome you in an elegant and very exclusive atmosphere: the first room reclaiming the typical features of the ancient inns of Tuscany, the second is characterized by a cozy contest, the third is enriched by precious frescoes which make your dinner or your lunch in Cortona intimate and romantic
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food & great service”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Charming restaurant, great food and excellent service. Best to make an advance booking because this restaurant is very popular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzybarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,508
    523
    83
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and good fun!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We ate here twice on our latest visit to Cortona. We found it had changed little from our previous visits. The owner/chef and his wife/head waitress provide great food and a wonderful experience.
If you want fast food with the plates whisked away as soon as you finish eating, the next course passing the dirty plates as they head to the kitchen, this is not the place for you. We don't just go to a restaurant for good food, the ambience, the people watching are half the fun and the sensible rate the courses arrive increases the anticipation, adds to the pleasure of the evening whilst decreasing the chance of indigestion. You should try it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettunta, Proprietario at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks and we hope to soon you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were two couples who sometimes travel together. Our waiter spoke just enough English so that we communicated easily. In collaboration with him, we decided on two antipasti (appetizer) split among four, followed by two pasta dishes (primi course) to share then each had a main dish (secondi). Mushrooms and truffles were in their peak seasons so we emphasized that fact in our choices. Every dish was excellent. We split one dessert. We were then presented with complementary white caramel chocolate and dark chocolate shaved from the sources at the table. The wine list was extensive and not over priced with a lot of local choices. We ended with limoncello. This was more than enough food and what a great meal it was! The setting and service cannot be exceeded.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettunta, Owner at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are glad you appreciated the mushrooms and truffles. Hope to see you and friends soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food,Owners wonderful !”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Traditional foods from the region. Home made pasta excellent. Service superb. Family Owned. Love the homemade Chocolate .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siabartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettunta, Owner at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Many thanks. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Such wonderful food in a beautiful setting. The service was excellent and we were a party of eight. It was the perfect ending to our time in Cortona.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing