We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food,Owners wonderful !”
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1994 Osteria del Teatro welcomes you with politeness and professionalism, offering typical Tuscan cuisine with a selection of tasty dishes. It is a restaurant in Cortona, Italy, charming and genuine, owned by Emiliano Rossi, experienced and friendly chef. For a good lunch in Cortona or a romantic dinner visit our restaurant to discover the exquisite Cortona cooking pleasures! Our restaurant trattoria in Cortona allows you to enjoy tasty and sought-after dishes from Cortona in a unique setting: a 6th century building totally renovated and restored to original splendor. Three different settings welcome you in an elegant and very exclusive atmosphere: the first room reclaiming the typical features of the ancient inns of Tuscany, the second is characterized by a cozy contest, the third is enriched by precious frescoes which make your dinner or your lunch in Cortona intimate and romantic
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Traditional foods from the region. Home made pasta excellent. Service superb. Family Owned. Love the homemade Chocolate .

Thank Siabartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettunta, Owner at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Many thanks. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,221)
There are newer reviews for Osteria del Teatro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 420 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Such wonderful food in a beautiful setting. The service was excellent and we were a party of eight. It was the perfect ending to our time in Cortona.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant. The food is outstanding and the staff pleasant. I had the fresh tagliolini with white truffles(fresh) .An expensive dish but well worth it in season.The decor was very relaxing.The clientele were a good mix of Italians and tourists.highly recommend this restaurant.

1  Thank shogun93278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettunta, Owner at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We hope to see you again. Thanks for the review...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our party of eight climbed to the very top of this hill town upon our arrival. We wanted to see the Franciscan church, and when we left the church we mistakenly went uphill instead of down. But it turned out to be one of those good mistakes because when we followed directions back downhill to then centro, we passed this delightful restaurant. So after a leisurely hour in the exellent Etruscan Museum (don't miss it!), we found our way back to Osteria del Teatro. This is a "kilometro zero" and "Slow Food" family-owned restaurant, meaning they source all of their ingredients locally. All of us really enjoyed our dishes. The service was impeccable and the waiter was very patient in explaining the various regional dishes to us and helping us choose our wine. This was a wonderful dining experience, definitely an outstanding highlight of our many lovely Italian meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UUJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettunta, Owner at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for the review and we are so happy you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We tried this spot based on reviews here and were not disappointed. We know little to no Italian, however the waiter was wonderfully patient and helped in his limited English. He recommended a wine that was delicious and from the Cortona area. (If you need help in English, we did notice that there was a server who spoke perfect English, we simply enjoyed the challenge!) the outdoor area was full when we arrived, but the ambience of the dining room inside was beautiful, so not a disappointment to be sitting inside! We had gazpacho and a porcini mushroom "soup" which was more like a stew but both were delicious. We then had porcini pici and steak with basil pesto and roasted tomatoes. The steak was cooked perfectly - a good sear and rare in the middle..perfecto! We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and was reasonable for the two of us. highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing