We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food at the top of town”
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1994 Osteria del Teatro welcomes you with politeness and professionalism, offering typical Tuscan cuisine with a selection of tasty dishes. It is a restaurant in Cortona, Italy, charming and genuine, owned by Emiliano Rossi, experienced and friendly chef. For a good lunch in Cortona or a romantic dinner visit our restaurant to discover the exquisite Cortona cooking pleasures! Our restaurant trattoria in Cortona allows you to enjoy tasty and sought-after dishes from Cortona in a unique setting: a 6th century building totally renovated and restored to original splendor. Three different settings welcome you in an elegant and very exclusive atmosphere: the first room reclaiming the typical features of the ancient inns of Tuscany, the second is characterized by a cozy contest, the third is enriched by precious frescoes which make your dinner or your lunch in Cortona intimate and romantic
Welsh Borders, UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Best food at the top of town”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ate some excellent antipasti, followed by well prepared steak with a prune sauce for me and succulent guinea fowl for her. Great selection of local as well as Italian regional wines. We had a Syrah from Cortona which had character-and not expensive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,508
    523
    83
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Gluten Aware”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We love this restaurant and eat here two or three times each visit. They remember us from visit to visit and spoil us. As one who is gluten intolerant, it is always easy to find something delicious I can enjoy, including pastas, breads, etc. And my husband who has no such limitations, also loves this great place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBarefootContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettunta, Proprietario at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for the review and we are really happy that you love it here - we love having you every time and for sure our gluten free menu is always being updated. Emiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Amazing food and treatment.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

First time in Miami and I fell in love with this place, they truly treat you like royalty from the moment you walk in til you leave. The food is delicious and the owner is a very wonderful welcoming man. He was there the first day we tried this place and it was his treatment that made us come back again for dinner. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maranjellys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited del Teatro for dinner and were not disappointed. It was great to have wait staff that were genuinely enthusiastic and cared about our experience, a contrast to our experience at Antica Pieve the night before. We shared the cheese fondue with truffle for starter and it was delicious. We followed with two filettos, tartufo (truffle & foie gras) & al lardo de colonnata e prugne (with bacon & wine & prune reduction). Both were excellent with beautifully cooked meat and flavoursome sauces. We were full after that and told the waitress so she brought us complimentary digestives (amaretto). Including side dishes of roast potatoes (yummy), grilled veggies and a bottle of wine it came to between E80 & E90 (I think). Another couple staying at our B&B went on the same night and also enjoyed their meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Divertimento eh Buona”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were attracted to this osteria when out for a stroll of Cortona sidestreets. What a great find! The ambience is fabulous and the food matches it. I had a pecorino stuffed fennel bulb that I will never forget. Actually went back the next day for the same thing. The staff are great and love their job. We were able to sit on the outdoor balcony as we arrived right at noon time. By one they were turning people away and I believe were booked for dinner as well. Make sure to check out the banyo even if you don't need it. Adorable! A must do in Cortona!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarpeVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing