We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like to visit friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domus Poggio Sant'Angelo
Ranked #21 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This Villa is located on a small hill surrounded from trees. Very nice and stylish. The rooms are big enough and the beds are not too soft and not too hard. Every room has it's own style.
Luca and Luigi were very nice and friendly, they gave us the feeling to be at home with friends. The kitchen has a very high level and quality. The wines are also very good.
The area is well maintained and has a poolsite. A parkinglot is available.
We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryder67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

My wife and I chose Poggio Sant'Angelo due to it's excellent location and also a previous experience in the area with the manager, Luca, who is an amazing host and person. The B&B is quaint and romantic, but also has all of the modern amenities that travelers have come to expect. The restaurant is unbelievable and the chef, Luigi, is a great chef and guy. The wild boar ragù is much better than Luigi's English, or my Italian, but all his dishes translate into happiness! We ate there every night we were in Tuscany and saved the adventuring out for daytime. They also bring in musicians every Friday for entertainment. The blues band that came the week we were there was great. As previously mentioned, the location is great for trips out to Siena and all the small, romantic mountain-top Tuscan towns in the area. Luca can direct you to the best of the best. We will definitely be back to see them again on our next trip. Ciao!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I had a great experience at Poggio Sant´Angelo with luigi as he is a master in the kitchen.
Luigi´s cooking lessons are very professional and the personal service he provides in his Dolce Maria restaurant is superb.

On Friday he holds a blues and jazz dinner that is what is needed to experience an unforgettable night in a tuscan atmosphere.

This is an experience that everyone should have to live Tuscany at its best.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband, 2 grown children and I stayed at Poggio Saint'Angelo for 2 nights in August 2011. This beautifully situated, impeccable accommodation/restaurant was the highlight of our visit to the region. The service we received, both as guests of the country house and as diners in their restaurant, can be described as warm, and extremely professional. The proprietors and the staff are on a mission to please. The rooms provided all the luxury without sacrificing any charm or beauty that is consistent with the region. The best way to for me to compliment the restaurant is to say that we dined there the first evening only because we arrived late and were exhausted. We did so reluctantly because we wanted to explore the area and see other restaurants/ places. The cuisine, presentation and al fresco dining experience were of such superior quality, that we did not consider going elsewhere the following evening. All in all this is a beautiful place in a beautiful location with quality and excellent service. If this is the area that you re interested in spending time, do not hesitate to try Poggio Saint'Angelo.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a classic B&B in an old Tuscan villa. The property is beautiful with olive groves, swimming pool and close to hill towns and vineyards. The best feature is the gourmet restaurant run by Luigi with exceptional food and wine at reasonable prices. Lucas provides personal information for touring and guest needs. In July and August the villa can be hot for sleeping, although air conditioning may be added in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanaz1970, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Poggio Sant'Angelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear John,
thank you again for your kind words, Luigi and I are both very proud as well as pleased that you had a good stay and enjoyable meals ! As anticipated via e-mail, I am taking the opportunity to inform you that we have actually installed air conditioning in every room!! So, your suggestions were appreciated and taken into consideration! We hope to be able to greet you again soon! My very best regards. Luca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Had lunch in their resturant, food and sevice A1, returned the next day and stayed the night, beautiful room, food and wonderful Hosts, Luigi and Luca. Hope to be back next year.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shamy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

As I arrived I had a lovely welcome and while arriving at the reception some nice chillout music reached my ears... within seconds I felt that this is the place to feel comfortable and at home. The stuff was very sympathic, helpful and caring during my four days stay at Poggio Sant'Angelo. The room, named Rosmarino, was radiant, the bathroom clean and everything was decorated in a lovely way.
This is the perfect stay to discover and visit towns nearby and further away as Cortona, Perugia, Firenze and Roma. Highway access is easy and after a day out I was looking forward each single time to return to this sympathic home away from home, to have a refreshing swim in the pool before fabuleous dinner was served and to enjoy a glass of great Prosecco as "apéro".
Being back home I am missing this property with its friendly stuff, the atmosphere and last but not least the delicious tuscanian food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomoonstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
18.6 mi away
Casa Vacanze e B.&B. S.Caterina
12.0 mi away
Villa Buoninsegna
Villa Buoninsegna
#5 of 18 in Rapolano Terme
149 reviews
9.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
15.5 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
12 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Poggio Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Poggio Sant'Angelo

Address: Strada Provinciale Manzano, 42 | Gps: 43°13'54. 77 N - 11°50'51. 08 E, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range: $1,523 - $1,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Sant'Angelo is a typical farm house of Valdichiana recently renovated to become an elegant country house with fenced garden and swimming pool. Located between the towns of Cortona (15 km) and Foiano della Chiana (5 km) is the ideal place for those who want to start excursions around the provinces of Siena, Arezzo and Perugia. The nearby motorway allows you to reach Perugia and Siena in 30 minutes while passing through the rolling hills of Siena in about 30/40 minutes the towns of Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Castiglione del Lago can be reached. Many wineries are found nearby that have a small production of high quality wines, and from here you can go to horseback riding and mountain biking along the paths of reclamation. Rooms at the Poggio Sant'Angelo are all very spacious and well-appointed with private bathroom and air conditioning, and an excellent restaurant on site allows you to spend a relaxing evening followed by a restfull sleep. We speak perfect English and German and fluent Spanish ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Domus Poggio Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Poggio Sant`Angelo Hotel Cortona
Bed And Breakfast Poggio Sant`Angelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing