We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poggio Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poggio Sant'Angelo
Ranked #21 of 42 Cortona B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband, 2 grown children and I stayed at Poggio Saint'Angelo for 2 nights in August 2011. This beautifully situated, impeccable accommodation/restaurant was the highlight of our visit to the region. The service we received, both as guests of the country house and as diners in their restaurant, can be described as warm, and extremely professional. The proprietors and the staff are on a mission to please. The rooms provided all the luxury without sacrificing any charm or beauty that is consistent with the region. The best way to for me to compliment the restaurant is to say that we dined there the first evening only because we arrived late and were exhausted. We did so reluctantly because we wanted to explore the area and see other restaurants/ places. The cuisine, presentation and al fresco dining experience were of such superior quality, that we did not consider going elsewhere the following evening. All in all this is a beautiful place in a beautiful location with quality and excellent service. If this is the area that you re interested in spending time, do not hesitate to try Poggio Saint'Angelo.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    22
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a classic B&B in an old Tuscan villa. The property is beautiful with olive groves, swimming pool and close to hill towns and vineyards. The best feature is the gourmet restaurant run by Luigi with exceptional food and wine at reasonable prices. Lucas provides personal information for touring and guest needs. In July and August the villa can be hot for sleeping, although air conditioning may be added in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanaz1970, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Poggio Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear John,
thank you again for your kind words, Luigi and I are both very proud as well as pleased that you had a good stay and enjoyable meals ! As anticipated via e-mail, I am taking the opportunity to inform you that we have actually installed air conditioning in every room!! So, your suggestions were appreciated and taken into consideration! We hope to be able to greet you again soon! My very best regards. Luca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Had lunch in their resturant, food and sevice A1, returned the next day and stayed the night, beautiful room, food and wonderful Hosts, Luigi and Luca. Hope to be back next year.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

As I arrived I had a lovely welcome and while arriving at the reception some nice chillout music reached my ears... within seconds I felt that this is the place to feel comfortable and at home. The stuff was very sympathic, helpful and caring during my four days stay at Poggio Sant'Angelo. The room, named Rosmarino, was radiant, the bathroom clean and everything was decorated in a lovely way.
This is the perfect stay to discover and visit towns nearby and further away as Cortona, Perugia, Firenze and Roma. Highway access is easy and after a day out I was looking forward each single time to return to this sympathic home away from home, to have a refreshing swim in the pool before fabuleous dinner was served and to enjoy a glass of great Prosecco as "apéro".
Being back home I am missing this property with its friendly stuff, the atmosphere and last but not least the delicious tuscanian food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gomoonstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

The B&B is quiet and in countryside but very near to Cortona as well as other near by towns. The rooms are large and comfortable and very modern. The restaurant is very good and it is worth dining in. The staff is all very helpful and friendly and give the B&B a very homey feel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Poggio Sant’Angelo is an amazing respite in the Tuscan countryside. Our other stops were big cities and this was a great stress-free break. This place combines everything you need: a great place to stay, a restaurant and a wine bar. One stop shop!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalifornianInLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

I stayed with my husband and my mother for 3 days in this BB and we found it wonderful.

Great location, close to Cortona, Perugia, Montepulciano, highway etc. You need to have a car

Large rooms, nice hard beds ( we slept like babies), quite and comfy. We were in the Rosmarino and my mother in the Salvia. Beautiful swimming pool with salty water, garden and please do not miss the "fig tree". I have never had better figs.

Donato is great!. Very helpful. He waited for us awake until one o clock in the morning to check in.

Poggio Sant'Angelo also offer a very high end restaurant for dinner. We would reccomend you try it. We ate better there than in Cortona! Fair prices as well.

We will come back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
3.0 mi away
Albergo la Foresteria
Albergo la Foresteria
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
9.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
7.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Sant'Angelo

Property: Poggio Sant'Angelo
Address: Strada Provinciale Manzano, 42 | Gps: 43°13'54. 77" N - 11°50'51. 08" E, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Sant'Angelo is a typical farm house of Valdichiana recently renovated to become an elegant country house with fenced garden and swimming pool. Located between the towns of Cortona (15 km) and Foiano della Chiana (5 km) is the ideal place for those who want to start excursions around the provinces of Siena, Arezzo and Perugia. The nearby motorway allows you to reach Perugia and Siena in 30 minutes while passing through the rolling hills of Siena in about 30/40 minutes the towns of Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Castiglione del Lago can be reached. Many wineries are found nearby that have a small production of high quality wines, and from here you can go to horseback riding and mountain biking along the paths of reclamation. Rooms at the Poggio Sant'Angelo are all very spacious and well-appointed with private bathroom and air conditioning, and an excellent restaurant on site allows you to spend a relaxing evening followed by a restfull sleep. We speak perfect English and German and fluent Spanish ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Poggio Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Poggio Sant`Angelo Hotel Cortona
Bed And Breakfast Poggio Sant`Angelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing