We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rugapiana Vacanze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rugapiana Vacanze
Ranked #20 of 42 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We loved Cortona but not our stay at Rugapiana Vacanze. To start with we choose an apartment rather than a B&B room because of the availability of a washing machine. Upon checking-in Massimo informed us that the washing machine was broken. Seeing our disappointment he stated that a new one might be delivered the next day which was Sunday - right. It didn't show that day nor the next, our last. (I'm curious if it's there yet.) We had to ask several times for a replacement light bulb which was very slow in coming. Finally, running out of amenities such as hot water and and toilet paper topped off the whole experience. Maybe this isn't normal for Rugapiana Vacanze but it was certainly our experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snow---1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugapiana, Direttore at Rugapiana Vacanze, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi from Cortona
We sincerely don't understand what was the problem during your stay here.
We have offered an Apartment Deluxe, even if your original booking was for a Standard Room.
It was our gift to you, at no additional costs, the washing machine was broken and it was immediately repaired but it was impossible to do during your stay, which was only 3 days.
About the bulb that can burn out at any time, it was immediately replaced, as soon as you told us.
Our team is always available to our guests.
Sincerely.
Rugapiana Vacanze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    65
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
132
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We (four adults, two couples) stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments. The location is on Via Nazionale so was easy to walk to everything in Cortona. It is on the main street, but if you close the windows it is quiet inside. Massimo was very easy to work with reservation and answering questions. The apartment had everything we needed for our three night stay and it was very clean and comfortable. Our apartment was on the top floor so travel light as you have to carry your bags up the stairs. I also had read that hot water was an issue here and we had very little hot water for showers. We arrived by train to Camucia-Cortona and luckily found a cab to take us up to town as the bus seems to be very iffy. The day we left there was no bus so we had to walk down the hill a ways to find another bus stop. If traveling by train I would highly suggest making arrangements with a taxi to be there to pick you up at the train and to take you back to the station. Enjoyed our trip - if we are ever in Cortona I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This b & b is wonderful. We were only going to stay only one night in Cortona--but I fell in love with Cortona and our sweet little apartment. Massimo, the owner, checked and let us stay another night. The apartment was a haven--beautifully decorated, comfortable--far more than I expected. Yes it is on the "main street," but the street is pedestrian only so it is very quiet. All restaurants are within a 10-minute stroll. I will return to Cortona and I will stay here--and eat at Fafluns! Massimo is wonderful too! Ciao, ciao

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybirdjaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I really like the location on Via Nazionalle the main road in Cortona. My room was very nicely decorated. The staff (Sabrina) was fabulous and helpful. I wish I could have stayed longer. I got restaurant recommendations and hand drawn maps from her. As well she spent about 2 hours helping me book my train tickets to Sorrento. She even ensured I had a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We decided to spend our vacation in one place this year and chose Cortona as a quiet getaway from,the bigger, busier cities of Rome & Florence. Cortona was out of this world. We took the train to Camucia-Cortona and then took the bus for the 4 km ride up the mountain to Cortona. The views were incredible. Just about 50 yards down the street from the piazza where the bus stopped, we found the doorway to Rugapiana. After Massimo buzzed us in we climbed the steps up to the top floor where our rustic room awaited us.He was more than welcoming and gave us many suggestions. Stone walls and a rustic bed, with our bathrobes was very welcoming and definitely put us into the atmosphere of the city. The room also had a refrigerator. The hotel was provided breakfast coupons to be used each morning at one of the cafes just down the street. The hotel is on the only level street as the rest of the city streets are on very steep inclines.Restaurants were all wonderful and we also bought olive oil from one of the regional shops. Transportation was rather easy as we were able to take a bus to Arezzo one day, and on another take the bus back to the train for a journey to Assisi and Perugia. The view from city overlooked the valley and the Lake was also in view. One can even take an easy walk into the countryside. We were about an hour south of Florence by train.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and there are 3 floors, so be prepared to climb many steps. His website has pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerrylovesTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Rugapiana Vacanze as a large group ... booking four rooms that were then essentially made into two apartments (on level two and three).

The approach to Rugapiana Vacanze is via the Nazional (main street) and was extremely easy to find. Close to everything in Cortona ... we weren't disappointed.

The rooms were decorated tastefully in period furniture. A small kitchen, living and dining area.. a good size bedroom and the bathroom was fitted with a washing machine (extra bonus). The rooms had a good feel and a very Tuscan style. One room had a four poster bed with mosquito netting.. was very romantic (for the single guy in our group.

The owner greeted us and had good English skills. He was eager to make us feel at home and gave us a plethora of information including the history of the building which was amazing.

You could base yourself here for quite a while.

It was lovely and I'd certain stay again. What a wonderful time (PS: check out the amazing fresh markets on a Saturday.. a must).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
B&B Gabri
B&B Gabri
#10 of 42 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Vicolo della Scala
B&B Vicolo della Scala
#12 of 42 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda Pane e Vino
Locanda Pane e Vino
#14 of 42 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugapiana Vacanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugapiana Vacanze

Property: Rugapiana Vacanze
Address: Via Nazionale 63 | In Pieno Centro Storico sul Corso Principale, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rugapiana Vacanze 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rugapiana Vacanze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing