We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WONDERFUL BEAUTIFUL STAY IN CORTONA AT ALLE PIETRE”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Alle Pietre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
psaseattl...
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL BEAUTIFUL STAY IN CORTONA AT ALLE PIETRE”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one week in Ester's beautiful house in Cortona and cannot say enough about how enchanting, comfortable, quaint, friendly, and delightful our stay was. I traveled with my 12 year old son on a "mommy-son" holiday to Italy and this week was the highlight of a 2 week adventure. Alle Pietre - as other reviewers note - is a beautiful home ideally situated on a quiet street by the wall of Cortona's main historic center. It is well suited for 2 couples with a master bedroom on the top floor and another sleeping room on the bottom floor, with a living room/kitchen floor in between. For 2 people, it is also perfect. The master is charming, a very comfortable king bed, lovely bathroom. Views are wonderful out the back over the valley. A close walk to the main part of Cortona and perfectly peaceful in the night no matter what activities are happening in Piazza Signorelli (we were there during the medieval tournament). All in all, we cannot recommend this lovely jewel of a holiday rental enough....and we are planning to return for a longer stay in the next summer or two! Ester was wonderful to work with in every way. This is a real gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2018
Dear Pia, thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to know you and your son.
You will always be welcome at home.
Ester and Giovanni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grazie per una settimana stupenda”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cortona is a lovely and picturesque town perched up on a hill. The Tuscan way, as it were. Alle Pietre is a gem of a house on three levels which could easily accomodate two couples. The house is as cozy as it is old, but perfectly well kept. Although at the edge of the town, you only need five minutes to get to the centre by foot. History is everywhere around, starting with the Museum of Etruscan Art (don't take photos of the "lampadario") and ending with the Cirifalco Fortress which gives you unique views of Lake Trasimeno and the border between Umbria and Tuscany. There is a wide choice of bars and restaurants in Cortona, out of which our favourite was Il Tempero. If you're lucky you can also witness one or two local festivals in the evening, especially over weekends.
If the house is wonderful, so are the owners. Ester and Giovanni are warm and considerate hosts, ready to meet every requirement with a smile and to make useful suggestions. We were privileged to have met them and to have lived in their house for a heavenly week. If you have a car, you can visit a variety of towns and cities: Siena and Arezzo, Firenze and Montepulciano, Orvieto and Assisi, Spello and Gubbio. Should you feel the need for a really nice surprise, give a chance to small but fantastic Pienza. Many have called it "la citta ideale del Rinascimento" and you will see why.

Many thanks, Esther and Giovanni, and expect us back some time.

Irina and Radu, Bucharest, Romania

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2018
Even if we do not write as well as Radu, we want to say that guests like Irina and Radu were exquisite, precious and respectful and we warmly recommend them. We also hope to meet them again
Ester e Giovanni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim181102...
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Perfect location in stunning Cortona”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Ester and her husband Giovanni welcomed us to their fabulous property in Cortona and gave us a brief tour of the house and its amenities. A lovely fruit bowl was left for us to enjoy. Fabulous location close to the centre, but in a quiet street. We especially enjoyed our lunches at the little table and chairs provided which are right against the old wall, which overlooks the valley below. Easy to visit surrounding countryside with our hire car, but mostly we preferred to relax and enjoy Cortona. The house is beautifully and thoughtfully furnished, and is very comfortable. We stayed for a week and hope to return some day soon !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2018
Thank you for your kind words. You will be always welcome at home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 23, 2018
Dear Sally, dear Vernon,
thank you very much for your kind words.
We really hope to meet you again. Please, remember you will be always welcome at home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mcpafs
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 4 days in Cortona at the end of December through the New Year. Alle Pietre was a lovely place to stay. The apartment is charming and Ester has done a great job of adding all the extras to make for an enjoyable stay . . . from the breakfast for our first morning - to the Presecco for New Years Eve - to the chocolates on the bed.
We have been to Cortona before - but the experience of “living as a local” was wonderful !
We hope to go back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thank you very much for your kind words.
You will be always welcome at home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, magical, and a bit of heaven on earth”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ester had arranged for the taxi to pick us up at Camucia Station and deliver us to her front door. Ester was waiting for us at her front door with a warm, welcoming smile and soon we were taking a tour of her lovely house. The house was immaculate, warm, and beautifully decorated. On the kitchen table, a well stocked bowl of mouthwatering fruit awaited us along with croissants, milk and juice to ensure we were off to a good start. The kitchen is well supplied if you wish to challenge yourself to making an Italian dinner at home. Of course the highlight was the table and chairs in the back overlooking the valley below. We spent many a morning with our coffee and the evening with a glass of wine sharing special moments and sunsets wondering if we were in heaven looking down on the beautiful earth below. The house is located in a quiet setting ensuring a peaceful sleep and only minutes away from the town center and markets, should you wish for the company of others, or just to watch the Cortonese in their evening stroll while you enjoy your glass of prosecco. The merchants are friendly and go the extra distance to make you feel welcome . Our only regret was when it was time to leave Alle Pietre. Esther arranged for the taxi to pick us up and deliver us safely to the train station. We leave with only fond memories and a special thank you to Ester for creating such a welcoming and comfortable place to stay. By the way, if you are lucky enough to befriend the neighbor's tabby striped cat, say hi to Paulina!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2017
Dear Monika, dear Ron,
thank you very much for your kind words.
It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope we will meet again.
Paulina cat greets you affectionatlely and I too.
All the best,
Ester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b
Urmston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Italy”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fabulous stay in Italy. our stay in Cortona was even better when we saw alle Pietre. It's a wonderfully charming little cottage with stunning views. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and a short 5 min walk from the main square in Cortona with its restaurants museums and shops. If you arrive by hire car there is free parking a 5 min walk away. Worth noting that the beautiful city of Florence is an 80min train ride away and alle Pietre is well placed to explore the local area. We would definitely recommend the cottage to others. thank y
Out for a wonderful stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Hello Mark,thank you for your kind words.
You will be always welcome at home !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing