We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Villa Petrischio
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Wonderful resort, excellent restaurant, but most of all the service - from the receptionists, duty manager and the nice French lady in the restaurant really made my stay perfect. I am going back soon. I must also mention the master chef, who produced some sublime dishes, with a novel twist on classical Tuscan cuisine. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicropolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petrischio, Sales Manager at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your kind review on Trip advisor, I am sure it will be very helpfull for guests who wish to have an opinion about us.
I hope to see you again at Relais Villa Petrischio in the future!
Kindest Regards,
Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a fabulous experience at Relais Villa Petrischio. Our two-bedroom, two-bath apartment was nicely furnished, beautifully decorated, and had all possible modern conveniences. We especially liked the well-appointed kitchen, where we created some very memorable meals comprised of the incredible local meats and produce. We visit just before the start of the "season" so we had the entire property to ourselves. Great location, too, and we made half a dozen day trips to Cortona, Montepulciano, Montacino, Chiusi, and more. Tuscany at its best.

Room Tip: Beds in Europe are super firm. If you like a softer mattress, bring along a pillow-top mattress cove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmsauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petrischio, Sales Manager at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
I remember you and your wife and I would just to thank you for your nice review about Relais Villa Petrischio.
I hope to see you here again, maybe in summer so you can enjoy all the services we offer .

Best Regards,
Elga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Staying in a wrong place can totally ruin your experience with Tuscany, fortunately Villa Petrischio saved me and my girlfriend from such a thing (that we had in another town in Tuscany). We arrived in Petrischio with skepticism about the whole region but the friendly owner and staff of the lace made us forget about the bad past. The place is cozy and clean, an excellent location for a lovely honeymoon. The food was wonderful and we really enjoyed the information tips that staff gave us about the region.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ehsan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petrischio, Sales Manager at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thanks for understanding what we want to convey to our guests every day.
You will be always the welcome.

Best Regards,
Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I loved my stay at Villa Petrischio with my boyfriend. The place is romantic, the structure clean, cozy and with a great hospitality. The staff and owners were extremely kind, the food delicious so that we felt like being in a family.
Excellent location if you are looking for true Tuscany feeling.
I would highly recommend this place to other couples or families.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAMILLA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petrischio, Sales Manager at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Guest,
I would to thank you for your kind review about us. You will be always welcome.

Best Regards,
Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at VP 3 years ago and had a wonderful week, the location is perfect if you want a secluded and quiet environment, at that time the all round service and restaurant was excellent.
However, on our return this year and after VP had accepted and confirmed our booking for 8 nights, some weeks later we were informed that we could not stay in the room we had specifically booked for the last 2 nights because they had a wedding.
On the upside VP is in a superbly quiet location and good for visiting all area,s of Tuscany, the rooms are good and spacious.
This time round there was downsides to our stay in addition to having to find somewhere else to stay for the last two nights. The service and meals from the restaurant were very poor, there was used glasses and crockery left out on the tables by the pool for two days, the breakfast was poor in choice and in location which had no air conditioning. We were also confronted with a timeshare rep coming to our room without invitation or prior notice, not what you should expect from a place like VP, it is above that style of commercialism or should be.
Don,t know if it has changed ownership or onsite management but whatever, it has not been to the benefit of the overall image and experience that VP should and used to offer it,s guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmtmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petrischio, Sales Manager at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear Guests,
I would take the occasion of this reply , to explain that when Relais Villa Petrischio hosts a wedding , we give the exlusivity and we inform our hotel guests about that but nobody asks guests who are already in the hotel to leave. It could be a suggestion because there is a lot of people around , Restaurant and pool from 6.30pm are reserved but our guests are not posted to leave.
As regards the Restaurant services, I would apologize for the inconvenients occoured and the Mencarelli Group who manages our Restaurant and breakfasts will give you a reply as soon as possible.
At the end I would also to puntualize that just 5 km far from Villa Petrischio a beautifull and innovative Golf Resort signed by Gary Player is on building and our partners in charge of promoting, aim only to offer a glass of wine and informing of the many benefits that RVP guests will have at the resort next year.
The property and the management at Relais Villa Petrischio are always the same since may years so we really hope to see you here again. You will be our guests and you will not regret the choice that we hope you want to repeat in the future.

Best Regards,
Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at Villa Petrischio several times before. This time we had a total of 5 in our family. We stayed ina 3 bedroom unit that was beautiful, comfortable and very well equipped.The location of the property is really spectacular - views out to Montepulciano and the valley are magical.
The kids love the pool and we loved the tranqulity - Cortona is only 15 minutes away and there is plenty to do there. The on site restaurant was good - I found all the staff to be very helpful and the service was also good - absolutely no complaints and it is a place that I will return to over and over. They are building a golf resort nearby with a Gary Player course and the villas looked beautiful there too. Its my favorite place in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gl0betr0tter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Having enjoyed a previous stay at Relais Villa Petrischio when the overall standard was exceptional, we returned this year to find that the food served in the restaurant was in our opinion well below standard. We would also express our disappointment with the level of service, again, given in the restaurant. We would add that the approach made to us by a sales person representing Villa Petrischio in regard to timeshare, was not one we appreciated.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank mortimer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petrischio, Sales Manager at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment on Trip advisor.
I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant. It was an isolated incident that we could not fix immediately. The situation is now fully restored. Mencarelli Group manager of the restaurant and the Tosato family owner of the Relais , take this opportunity to invite you back to the Hotel, you will be our guests for one breakfast, one lunch and one dinner any time .
With regard to the timeshare sales, we did not want to cause trouble but just to give you the possibility to show the unique Manzano Golf Resort is currently under construction due to open next summer.
Hoping to see you again and make you enjoy the property and all its services, I send you my best regards.

Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
8.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
680 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
458 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Residence Il Casale
Residence Il Casale
#18 of 23 in Cortona
68 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Centrale
Hotel Nuovo Centrale
#21 of 23 in Cortona
59 reviews
6.9 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#6 of 23 in Cortona
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Petrischio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Petrischio

Address: Via Villa Farneta 25 | Cortona, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: $133 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Petrischio 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find Relais Villa Petrischio in the heart of Tuscany. The Villa was built in the 18th century on the highest hill of Farneta, which is a little village ten miles away from Cortona. Villa Petrischio is surrounded by three hectares of park with secular pines and cypresses . A long time ago the Villa belonged to the family of Count Lambardi, now the new owners have changed it in to a charming and elegant four star Relais. The accommodation offers guests a pleasantly relaxing experience, after a walk in the park or a trip to visit the "pearls of the valley". 18 rooms named after mythological females are situated between the Villa and “Il Borgo” which has a Japanese atmosphere. All the rooms are decorated with precious designs and it's possible to sense the touch of local artisans of the 18th century, without forgetting modern equipment as LCD TV, hydro massage bathtub and shower , minibar and wi-fi connection. All the rooms open up to the large green park and around the swimming pool there is natural terrace offering unforgettable views over Tuscany. Within the three hectare park there is a possibility to find many beautiful details as little rose fountain and a Japanese garden. From the swimming pool terrace it is possible to look at an inimitable sunset. At the edge of the swimming pool there is our restaurant La Terrazza where our appreciated Chef Walter Passeri 1 Michelin* offers typical Tuscan plates from an extensive “à la carte” menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Villa Petrischio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Petrischio Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing