We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
183
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la loggia home made cakes the owner ruined castle get away from it all tuscany and umbria private patio beautiful landscape dream vacation wild boar short drive beautiful pool the location is perfect olive trees andrea agriturismo valley
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 190 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our fourth visit to Rocca di Pierle and I am sure it won't be the last. The whole experience is first class and very intimate as there are only 3 apartments. The pool area and landscaping are immaculate and are never crowded even when all apartments are booked. It truly is a magical place and a terrific way to unwind. The Tuscan hills surround you and you are very near Cortona, one of the beautiful Tuscan cities. Andrea is the perfect host and can not do enough for you. Try it for yourself.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LogoWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in May 2012. The location is good, the owner, Andrea Luchini goes out of his way to make your stay special. He is very personable, speaks English very well and I appreciated that he has all the services clearly defined that are included and those with an extra charge. He gives a briefing with an overview of the area, provides a packet with places of interest and specifics about the facility. He also gives you a cell phone that can be used while you are a guest.

An example of his hospitality is on the day we checked out to drive to Venice we had a problem with the ATM in town; we called Andrea and he called his father, who lives in town. His father met us at the ATM and helped with the problem. He also followed up with an email to be sure the problem was addressed.

The location of the property is beautiful and inspires relaxation. It was a little chilly during our stay, so we did not spend too much time outside by the pool. We could see how this would be fabulous if the temperature is warmer. We stayed in the La Loggia apartment; it was immaculate; nicely furnished, comfy beds, felt like home. We had internet access, used the washing machine (for a reasonable fee). There is a patio with table and chairs outside the front door; however the wall around the patio blocks the gorgeous view. You have good views from the windows, but the best way to see the hills and the valley would be from the pool area.

The kitchen has all of the items needed if you want to cook. You need to stop to get some basic items like paper towels, dish washing soap, condiments, plus food. Speaking of food, we participated in the cooking lesson that was offered. Ms Anna, the teacher, was wonderful and we had a very enjoyable time; but I would not do this again as the cost was relatively high.

Bear in mind that you are in the Tuscany region and a car is necessary. We found that it took about 45-60 minutes to get from Rocca di Pierle to other places of interest. The drive is breathtaking, but you will spend 1.5 to 2 hours each day getting to/from. Our favorite trip was to Sienna; cute town, nice size and great eating.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Last year, my wife, daughter and I all stayed at Andrea Luchini's Agriturismo Rocca Di Pierle for three weeks. What a special treat!

The house is located in the hills of Tuscany near a little village that has a castle. The castle itself is closed and under repair, but it sets the backdrop looking down into the valley that, from the house looks fantastic. This is a rural area, where the men head into the woods in the morning on a tractor to selectively cut trees (no big bald patches).

Andrea went out of his way to accommodate, coordinating wine tasting and helping with a rental car, but was not "in your face" all the time. He and his family were more than gracious hosts, especially considering they were working through his wife going to the hospital, recovering from a car accident.

The grounds are very well maintained with a wonderful pool, lots of flowers, and many butterflies that my daughter enjoyed chasing.

I personally can not think of a place where I have been on vacation that was more comfortable, relaxing and welcoming.

The only shortfalls that I experienced was the weather (odd for the time of year and out of Andrea's control) and entry / exit of parking can be challenging if the tenants are not in a sharing mood.

This is a centrally located place, with easy access (once you figure out the roads) to many things to see and do. Be sure to stop in the grocery in Mercatale, who went well over and above to help us.

Saturday was market day in Camucia, which is something to experience. Parking in Cortona can be challenging, so if you are there during prime time and see a spot - take it!

To this very day, my daughter (4 1/2 years old at the moment) still says "remember, in Italy we...". This was her first trip to Italy and was obviously a memorable one.

Room tip: The ground floor rooms tend to stay a very constant and cool temperature, which is a significant benefit when its hot outside.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kennedyjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were in Cortona with our year old son to get married and could not have booked a better place to stay. I haven't stopped recommending since we got back!
Everything people say about this place is true. Not only is the accommodation perfect and location magical, you have the perfect host in Andrea.
The first night we arrived my son was poorly and had a very high temperature - Andrea gave us his number and his fathers and said not to worry how late it was but if we needed a dr to ring. I found out a few days later that at the time Andrea's wife was in hospital after a crash.Unless he told you, you would never have known as at no point did his attentiveness and eager to please and look after his guests falter.
The garden areas and pool area were beautifully maintained and it was so peaceful and relaxing to sit outside during the day and night. You easily forgot you were there with other guests!
Mornings were glorious, waking up above the clouds.
It was a perfect holiday in ever way. Not only did we get married whilst there but staying here really helped make it a special holiday.
The great thing about here is it caters for all, young old, couples, families - yes there is no activities for children such as 'club, climbing frames etc' but there is a pool and gardens and your imagination which is better than anything else.
Whilst here you eat at Borgo Di Vagli. Had a lovely meal and they were so helpful with our son - we forgot his cup but they had one they could provide and played with him.
I really can't say enough about this place - stay here and see for yourself

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouBoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

"Andrea's farmhouse is a very special place, made more so by its host, Andrea. We spent a wonderful week here for our honeymoon and had the most amazing and happy time. From the moment we arrived, Andrea made us feel so welcome and at home. The cake was a lovely gesture and incredibly tasty! Our apartment was beautiful, in a fantastic location with wonderful views of the Pierle Valley. The gardens and pool are gorgeous and it is clear that Andrea takes great pride in the entire property, working hard to ensure guests have a great holiday. You'll need a car to get out-and-about but lots to see in the area, including Cortona, Siena and Montepulciano. We will definitely be going back. A truly magical place. Thank you Andrea."

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews