We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
182
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la loggia ruined castle home made cakes tuscany and umbria get away from it all beautiful landscape amazing place wild boar andrea agriturismo valley apartment property gubbio monte perfection house
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 189 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Mg husband, daughter and I stayed at Rocca Di Pierle for five days. Andrea was a wonderful host, who welcomed us with a cake freshly baked by his wife, and provided us with great local advice. The pool was a perfect place to relax and unwind after days out exploring beautiful Cortona and other cities. It was a wonderful holiday. We would be very happy to return one day!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelindaR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just returned from another wonderfully enjoyable and relaxing holiday in Rocca di Pierle. We first discovered this property in 2006 and have returned every year since then. From our perspective this is the ideal holiday destination. The location is idyllic, overlooking as it does the beautiful and tranquil Niccone valley. It is within easy reach of all the major Tuscan and Umbrian sites. The apartments are extremely well equipped and the gardens and pool beautifully maintained. The fact that there are only three apartments in the property ensures that the peace and tranquillity of the valley is replicated in the property.
While all the foregoing are important factors in drawing us back to Rocca di Pierle each year the most important factor is undoubtedly the hospitality of the owner manager, Andrea Luchini and the extended Luchini family. This is a type of hospitality rarely encountered nowadays - the welcome is exceptionally warm, helpul advice and assistance (in excellent English) is generously provided and every effort is made to ensure that their guests have a memorable and enjoyable holiday. They work extremely hard at this and deserve all the success that their business is currently enjoying. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DedalusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

For our fiftieth wedding anniversary, our children gave us a three week vacation in Italy. Having been in Italy several times, we decided to enjoy Tuscany and all of the art, history and natural beauty that it offers. We choose Rocca di Pierle because of its' centrality to the many historical sites that we wanted to visit. How were we to know that we had choosen a real Pearl, so naturally beautiful and serene that when the sun rose, and the valley below was shrouded in morning mist, no adjatives were adequate to describe it - other than possibly Magical! We were much impressed with the property itself; everything you needed to live comfortably and everything first class. Couple that with the most hospitable owners/Hosts, Andrea, his Dad Stephano, and their lovely wives and you have a stay that is beyond your most exacting expectations. We had places too far afield to visit as day trips during our third week, however, at the conclussion of our stay, we seriously considered extending for a third week, but there was no room at the Inn. Highly Recommended! *****

Room Tip: I believe the two apartments on the upper floor have a superior view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefjackcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We spent only three nights here but wish we could have changed out schedule and stayed at least a week. The property is immaculately maintained, well-equipped, and has superb views - especially from the pool. Andrea and his family, the owners, are very friendly and helpful; they clearly enjoy operating their agriturismo and take great pride in providing the best possible service. A homemade cake was waiting for us in the room when we arrived, and another night they brought us a bottle of wine for dinner. The location is somewhat remote -- you'll need a car to get here -- but once we learned the route (Andrea provides detailed directions) it was not difficult to get to Cortona, Gubbio, etc. for a day trip. One of the highlights of our stay at Rocca di Pierle (and indeed of our entire trip) was the cooking lesson we had with "Miss Anna". She is both an excellent cook and an excellent instructor (she teaches classes for American college students who are in Florence on foreign exchange programs) and the meal she helped us prepare was fantastic. Andrea can arrange a lesson and we highly recommend this. One thing we would do differently next time (besides staying longer) is leave more time just to relax at the house and explore the local town of Mercatale.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have stayed in variousTuscan locations over the last few years all of which have had there merits. Rocca di Pierle has been the most comfortable and well appointed Agriturismo we have encountered. The attention to detail throughout the property is superb, the pool area has a fantastic view and Andrea is the perfect host. The propery is an ideal base for those wishing to tour the area of Tuscany incluing Cortona, Arrezo and Perugia. Congratulations to Andrea for his number 1 ranking on trip advisor, it is well deserved.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews