We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
182
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la loggia ruined castle home made cakes tuscany and umbria get away from it all beautiful landscape amazing place wild boar andrea agriturismo valley apartment property gubbio monte perfection house
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 189 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

What can one say that hasn’t already been said…

A very special thanks to Andrea and his family for sharing Rocca Di Pierle with us; it truly is a labour of love. Apartment La Loggia-what a little bit of heaven on earth, a wonderful respite from the “maddening crowds” yet well situated for day excursions. The photos on the internet do not do justice to the beauty of the accommodation and surrounding countryside. It was exciting to wake up each morning and be greeted by the breathtaking views from each and every window. Early morning views of ‘the white lake’ (fog/mist) were spectacular.

Thank you too Andrea for your caring and warm hospitality it enriched our stay. The loan of your ‘visitors’ cell phone’ was a great comfort to us while we explored “uncharted” territories. We appreciated you introducing us to Gubbio and Montone in Umbria. Montone, in 2003, was initiated into the Club of The Most Beautiful Towns in Italy, we concurred. Your wife’s welcome cake was a lovely gift and treat.

After travelling for a month, Rocca di Pierle stands out as one of our favourites. Coining another guest’s expression…”we came too late and left too early”. We called Pierle home for seven days and were both reluctant to bid Andrea arrivederci. There is so much to see and do and it seems never enough time. The people, the food, the wine and the history combine to make Italy a country worthy of more than one visit and the same can be said of Rocca di Pierle. Andrea thank you for so many memorable moments and your guidance to great wines and restaurants.

Room Tip: car is necessary for full enjoyment of this area
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dole67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in the “La Loggia” appartment for a week mid June. We had an amazing holiday, the property is stunning with beautiful well tended grounds and a good sized swiming pool. The nearest town is Mercatale which has a supermarket, butchers and a couple of restaurants.

Cortona is about a 20 minute car journey and well worth the visit, such a beautiful place and great food!!!

The views from the property are quite breath taking and it was so nice to wake up to those views every morning.

The owner Andrea was such a huge help. He gave us lots of suggestions on places to visit and restaurants to go to. I can quite honestly say that without him we would have been absolutely clueless on places to go. He was the perfect host and the cake we received on arrival was one of the nicest cakes I have had in a long time!!

To sum it up, we had such an amazing holiday and I wouldnt hestitate to recommend the place. I really hope to return one day!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasha271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed in the “La Loggia” appartment here for a week at the end of May 2011 and were blessed with good weather and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The self-catering accomodation is excellent with a well tended garden and a swiming pool slightly larger than usual in such properties. A very good "Conad" Alimentare in nearby Mercatale has a good choice of Italian groceries and helpful friendly staff. The views over the valley from the property are impressive and it is possible to walk straight from the property into the nearby woods and hills. The owner Andrea was extremely helpful particularly with local walking information and his advice on accessing nearby towns and cities e.g. Perugia, Gubio etc. was accurate and very useful. A car is essential and the road from the Lake Trassimeno direction has several exciting hairpin bends. Once used to it, the drive from Rocca to the main Perugia/Firenze highway at Tuoro takes about 20mins. The road to Umbertide (e.g. for Gubio) is much more relaxing. There is a restaurant in nearby Lisciano with a varied menu of good quality, and good value cooking, in a slightly rough and ready but clean and friendly establishment. It is much better value than the nearby overpriced Borgo di Vagli restaurant with its difficult unlit "white" access road.

Room Tip: The upper floor appartments have valley views.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

A picture tells a thousand stories and Rocca di Pierle was exactly that and more. From the moment we arrived at the beautiful "Villa" until we left, Andrea was the perfect host. He made sure our stay was a memorable one. The "Villa" is so beautiful and our apartment was perfectly equipped with everything in it to make our stay comfortable. It was bliss to come "home" from a hot day out on the town to walk into a cool, airy apartment and to rest our weary feet in the sparkling pool. I wish we could have stayed longer. I look forward to going back again. Sharon van Heusden (Northcliff South Africa)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon_van_heusden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

There's a reason that this place is rated a 5 on almost every review. For a relaxing time in the Italian countryside in the Tuscan countryside, this is the place. Nestled back in the hils of Pierle, Agritourismo Rocca di Pierle was the perfect place for our family to base ourselves for exploration. We managed in one week to visit Florence, Pisa, Siena, Montepulciano, Cortona, Arezzo, Camucia, Umbria, Perugia and small places in between.

Everything is exactly what is on the website - no surprises there! The owner, Andrea is well-connected, and can arrange lots of activities, including cooking lessons in your own villa!

Get up early one morning and watch the fog roll in, and nestle in the valley over the town of Mercatile.

Will definitely recommend this place to friends travelling to Italy.

You will need a rental car for this facility which is easily arranged from the rail station, as it is way back in the hills, and cannot be reached by rail.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WBrinegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews