We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best holiday setting ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best holiday setting ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good price, great room, breakfast something else and amazing view. Second trip to Cortona and can't wait for the next time. October a great month, still warm but quiet. Cooking class at Ristorante Ambrosia highlight. Walking the Stations of the Cross close second. Gelati late evening out walking a new experience. Everyone so friendly.

Room Tip: First floor was good, lift. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    88
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
43
148
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our third stop in Italy and couldn't have been more pleased. Hotel has all the Italian charm we expected. A typical Italian breakfast every morning on the top floor over looking a beautiful view of the valley. You have to pinch yourself to make sure you are there. The staff is friendly and so helpful. They suggested eating at LaBucaccia and we were not disappointed. Reasonable prices and food like we have never tasted!!! The center of town is only a few feet away with the Piazza busy during the day and entertaining with people watching at night. Love the location, cost and the friendly staff. Rooms are not fancy but are clean and comfortable beds. View from our room was Amazing!! Would stay there again!

Room Tip: If in Italy, Location, Location, Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norine2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel Italia is just steps away from the piazza in the center of town. We arrived by taxi and were given a very warm welcome. Our family room had a living room with two twin beds (not much other furniture though, and a bedroom with a large, comfortable bed. We shared a bathroom that was pretty small but very clean. The room was no frills but was perfect for my husband and me and our daughter. The breakfast (served on the 4th floor) didn't have a lot to choose from but the food they did serve was great and the view from our table overlooked the spendor of Tuscany. Came back to the hotel in the morning from our morning walk to a wonderful park and found checkout was 10:30 and it was 10:45! The desk clerk happily stored our luggage until we left to take the train to Montepulciano. Don't miss eating at La Bucaccia just down the hill from the hotel - it's superb. We would stay here again if we return to Cortona - the price was right and the hotel is very clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MooreaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel has got such a charm about it, from the minute I opened the door. The hotel reception were the friendliest and most helpful that I've come accross in a long time. The rooms are fantastic and the breakfast room on the top floor was much better then you're average hotel breakfast with a spectacular view! I love Cortona, I'll definately go back and stay at the same hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here with 2 girlfriends a few years ago. It's very central in the town within walking distance to all major restaurants bars and events. The town of cortona hosts lots of festivals with some amazing personalities hosting same such as Sofia Loren, Robert Redford, and sir Antony Hopkins to name but a few. It was the town featured in the movie/book under the Tuscan sun featuring Diane lane. A visit is a must!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdictdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Italia for a few days in September of 2011. The location of the hotel is great- just steps from the main street and within walking distance of everything in town. My single room was very small, but very clean. Having a/c was such a treat after long days exploring the town and its many hills. The staff was charming and I look forward to staying here on my next trip to Cortona!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristenreinvented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Too often Tuscany these days is known for poor value and grudging service. Not at the Italia. We stayed four nights and were brilliantly looked after. Great advice on nearby restaurants, help with travel arrangements, great warmth and friendliness. Fabulous old Palazzo, great breakfast, ideal central location. OK, so the room was a bit dark and could use an armchair, but the Italia was our base for a memorable wedding and we will always remember it as "doing it's bit" to make everything as perfect as one could imagine. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.1 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing