We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Italia for a few days in September of 2011. The location of the hotel is great- just steps from the main street and within walking distance of everything in town. My single room was very small, but very clean. Having a/c was such a treat after long days exploring the town and its many hills. The staff was charming and I look forward to staying here on my next trip to Cortona!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristenreinvented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    79
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
35
132
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Too often Tuscany these days is known for poor value and grudging service. Not at the Italia. We stayed four nights and were brilliantly looked after. Great advice on nearby restaurants, help with travel arrangements, great warmth and friendliness. Fabulous old Palazzo, great breakfast, ideal central location. OK, so the room was a bit dark and could use an armchair, but the Italia was our base for a memorable wedding and we will always remember it as "doing it's bit" to make everything as perfect as one could imagine. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I often travel to Cortona for work and stayed at this hotel several times, always in a room with a nice view on the Val di Chiana. Good room even though it would need some refreshing. Great location, warm and friendly service.

Room Tip: Single rooms are very small. Superior rooms with a view are large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights this past September. We had a jr suite which had an amazing view of the surrounding countryside! The hotel is in an excellent location. It is clean and charming. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful! It was our favorite experience in Tuscany!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a panoramic view. I think room 425 has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likestoeat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I had originally wanted to stay at Villa Marsilli where I'd happily stayed before, but it was booked out. So, deciding to give Hotel Italia a try because it was well positioned just around the corner from the main piazza, I chose a superior room with a view. Great decision. The room was gorgeous - large, clean, a view over roof tops like a postcard, classy Tuscan styling, spotless, large bathroom. I was delighted with the place as it's better positioned than the popular Villa Marsilli, but cheaper because it isn't as many stars, but you wouldn't know the difference in the superior room. It was serene, but so close go everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was okay - not a huge spread, and sad fruit salad, but this didn't bother us as it left more room for us to treat ourselves with delicacies from town. The restaurant right next to the hotel is great - try the ravioli.
We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitpicking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service was very warm and friendly and the room was spotlessly clean with a bathroom the same size as the bedroom which was fabulous. The best shower we had on our two week trip to Italy. Very quiet at night but close to the main area in the town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is in a old buiding in the centre of Cortona but not far from a huge and free parking lot out of the town walls. Although the hotel looks fine and the breakfast room has a very impressive view on the landscape, there were some problems that affect my review: 1) the towels in the bathroom were old and grey, they didn't even look clean; 2) internet is free for one device, but the wifi connection was so slow that browsing the web was almost impossible (it took several minutes only to display google startpage!); 3) the hand held shower was completely broken: when I reported it to the reception I was told that it would have been immediately fixed. After two days I checked out and nobody ever came to my room to fix it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nobre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili Hotel
Villa Marsili Hotel
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing