We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible way to experience Cortona”
Review of Cortona Suite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortona Suite
Ranked #8 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This property is the perfect spot for enjoying Cortona. The location is right in the center of Cortona and the staff (Chiara) is delightful. The property is hundreds of years old and yet you still get ALL of the modern amenities! (well, except an elevator)
We will definitely stay at Cortona Suite again when in Italy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were travelling with our son and his wife and had booked this on line from recommendations. We were not disappointed as the rooms we had booked were beautiful and large with triple aspect in ours. The view from the windows was lovely - central square and in the distance the rolling plains toward Lake Trasimeno. Cortona is a small but fairly upmarket little town with smart restaurants and little bars. Our fourth visit but this is the first time we had actually stayed here. I think we chose well and would recommend the friendliness and helpfulness of the people who run it. We had three nights here and would return and request the same room.
Ps appreciated the little Easter egg presents - thank you!

Room Tip: Probably all lovely - we had two rooms overlooking the square. No lifts - if your bags are heavy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandi S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona B, Proprietario at Cortona Suite, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

It was a real pleasure to have you with us! See you next, Chiara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Cortona Suite is a fantastic place to stay in Cortona.
Chiara is a warm person who pays attention to every detail, everything is wonderful and impecable.
The apartment is nice and the decoration is exquisite. The bed cloths and towels are extremely good in quality.
Its a really nice place to rest and to enjoy the view of Cortona.
If I happen to be again in Cortona, I would book a room in this unique place.
Its worth visiting it!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Mechi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona B, Proprietario at Cortona Suite, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Mercedes, a big hug from Cortona! Chiara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I cannot even begin to describe how much I loved the Cortona Suites. My husband and I had a 12 day road trip from Venice to Rome and spent four nights at the Cortona Suites. From start to finish this beautiful accommodation was wonderful. We walked into the B&B and were greeted with a warm welcome, a glass of amazing wine and a brief description of where to go/what to do in Cortona. My husband and I went into our room and were stunned. The high ceilings, the view, the rose petals on the plush bed, the amazing natural bath products, the rain shower- EVERYTHING is maintained and perfected to the very last detail. (You can tell they have spent hours working on this place. It looks like every detail should have been on Pintrest!) The B&B has had the perfect amount of renovations to make it modern, while still ensuring all the beautiful and rustic Italian detail are still there. While we were visiting I celebrated my birthday. We came in from a vineyard tour and found Chiara had left a bottle of champagne (which was on a plate with two gorgeous champagne glasses and surrounded by pretty little pebbles). I honestly can't recommend this place more. Every morning we opened our windows and listened to the quiet town of Cortona wake up,we listened to it go to bed and loved LOVED our stay. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatelynGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona B, Proprietario at Cortona Suite, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Katelyn, I wish you all the best things! Chiara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We rented a car in Florence and drove down to Cortona. We only spent one night at Cortona Suites, but what a wonderful location and just a unique experience. We drove into town and Chiara met us down in the square. We arrived a little early so we left our bags and went off with the intention of visiting Assisi but then abandoned that idea to spend some relaxing time in Cortona. Absolutely no regrets! Chiara managed our luggage upstairs to where our room was. (Was I impressed!) She said they were on the 2nd floor, but remember in Italy, the ground floor is 0, so actually it was 3 flights of stairs. When we returned later on, her brother Andres met us to show us our room. He is a very polite and courteous young man. The room was exactly as shown here in Tripadvisor and on the internet. It was large, comfortable, just a very homey space.
Cortona is a delightful town and exploring it was fun. Let me say, be prepared to walk and start throwing incline levels on the treadmill now to get yourself ready! There is only one level street in the entire town. Be prepared to be exhausted because every turn has something to discover.
We asked Andres for recommendations for dinner and he directed us to a couple of options. The restaurant, right down from our apartment, was one of the best dining experiences we had during our trip.
Going downstairs the next morning, breakfast was set up and ready for us in the small café on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2gether_pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona B, Proprietario at Cortona Suite, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you, It was a pleasure to meet you! Best, Chiara e Andrea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great location in heart of Cortona Old Town. Room have a view over the main square. Family business, very friendly and accomodating. Rooms are beautiful, exactly like the photo's on the website.
Cortona is a lovely small Tuscan town. It was lovely and quite in the off-season. We were surprised how many restaurants were open even thought there appeared to be only a handful of tourists in the town in January... Just check the opening times and days of the restaurants at the start of your stay so you can find a different place each night and not be disappointed.
The train station is 10 km from the old town, and down in the valley, however it was very convenient to get the bus up the hill for 2 euro's each. Check the internet for latest bus timetables before you leave, or email the hotel for a taxi phone number before you stay.
Was easy to get the bus or train to nearby towns including Arezzo - get the timetable from Tourist information near the main square, next to the Museum I believe.
NOTE - Frances Mayes House from the MOvie under the Tuscan Sun is NOT actually in the Town of Cortona, you need a car if you want to get to it.
Would definately recommend to friends and family and would definately stay again.
Was the cheapest, but NICEST hotel on our whole trip - GREAT value for money, the hotel in Florece afterwards was 3 times the price and half as nice.
The lovely Chiara even gave us a lift to the train station on our last day.
Our stay here was a very happy memory from our trip

Only negatives - small breakfast of coffee and pastry at cafe next door, and our shower was quiet small in the romatic room, so don't pick this room if you are a larger person

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniepurchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona B, Proprietario at Cortona Suite, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Annie maybe see you soon in Australia! Best, Chiara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cortona Suites are 4 rooms in a 15th century palazzo. We had the family room (2 bedrooms and a hugh bathroom). Situated in the old centre, next to the two main piazza's in town.
Cortona is a lovely ancient town in Tuscany, with marvelous views over the countryside to Lake Trasimeno.
Just sit on some stairs or have a drink and let life in Cortona pass by. You won't be dissapointed!
But our most pleasant memory to Cortona will always be the hospitality of Chiara, who runs the Suites and welcomed us as we were family! We already promised ourselves to go back once.
She decorated the rooms in a romantic style which you should aspect in this environment.
From the first moment we felt at home.
Breakfast is arranged 'the Italian way' in a small restaurant next to the suites. Eating there together with the local people makes you feel as an Italian.
For those who come by car: call Chiara for the best place to park and walk about 200 m. It is easy to find. One tip for elderly people: In the house you have to climb some stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank woutvanalphen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona B, Proprietario at Cortona Suite, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Be one of the most pleasant memories of Cortona it's a big pride. Thank you, I'll wait you again to drink a glass of red wine together! Chiara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
443 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
833 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
669 reviews
4.3 mi away
Locanda del Molino
Locanda del Molino
#12 of 24 in Cortona
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortona Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortona Suite

Address: Via Benedetti 25, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range: $118 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic centre of Cortona, Cortona Suite is set in a 15th-century building. It offers air-conditioned accommodation with elegant furnishings.With views on Signorelli Square, rooms at the Cortona Suite bed and breakfast come with a flat-screen TV, a seating area and a fireplace. The private bathroom includes a hairdryer.An Italian breakfast of croissants and cappuccino is provided daily. Celiac-based items can also be prepared.Free public parking is possible 200 metres away. Montepulciano is 30 km from the property. Pienza is a 50-minute drive away. A bus stop, 300 metres away, has links to Camucia di Cortona Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cortona Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing