We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful day spent cooking, eating and drinking with friends”
Review of Toscana e Gusto

Toscana e Gusto
Ranked #3 of 18 Tours in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We dedicate our cooking sessions to those who wish to learn Cortona and Tuscany recipes and techniques for the preparation of a sunny, healthy Mediterranean cuisine. Whatever is your level of culinary experience our Cooking School is passionate about teaching in a in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, attentive to details.The In house Chef program is available for a special occasion or just to enjoy at your home the pleasure of a Tuscan menu.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful day spent cooking, eating and drinking with friends”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stefania and Anna picked us up at our hotel. We went to the market to purchase items for our cooking. We went to Stefania's house where we learned to make pasta in the Tuscan manor. We cooked many different dishes. We then sat in the garden to eat our wonderful lunch. We had wine to accompany each dish. We felt like we had made good friends for life.
I highly recommend this wonderful experience. It will be fondly remembered.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Granby CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Cooking in Tuscany!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Look no further! My husband and I were in the Tuscan region celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We spent our last day in Cortona with Anna and Paula and it was amazing from start to finish! We were greeted with a warm welcome (and even picked up at our hotel!), and started the day at the local market choosing the ingredients for our meal, just like the locals do! We learned how to make homemade pasta (pici) as well as several other courses, while chatting away with our gracious hosts. We then all sat down to enjoy the fruits of our labor with some local wine and such warm companionship. It was one of the best days of our trip. LOVED LOVED LOVED. We were so sad to leave the new friends we had met. It is a great way to truly experience the Tuscan culture We would definitely go back and do it again. We will remember this experience forever. Thank you, Anna and Paula!!!!!! Fondly, Cindy and Chris

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Day in Cortona”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stefania and Anna met us at the Market, and showed us around the area. We chose to make 3 dishes, including pizza, which is Anna's specialty. We made fresh dough, and Anna showed us a few tricks in making the pizza. We will never buy another from a pizza shop! A fun and informative day, with excellent practical instruction and fun with cooking and having a few glasses of wine. I highly recommend spending the day with Stefania and Anna!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaufort818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always Authentic, Always Delicious”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Don't miss this wonderful opportunity. I am a travel agent and I turn to Toscana e Gusto many times to share with my clients an authentic experience. Stefania is naturally generous and goes above and beyond the call of duty. She shares her food, her recipes, her experiences, and her knowledge which encompasses history and food. She shares them in the most natural way. She shares them in the most delicious way. Leaving you wanting more everytime. I know when I go here, there will be complete satisfaction. Don't miss this!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were staying with another family in a villa outside Cortona and booked a cooking class with Toscana e Gusto.

We were very glad we did.

An adult and a child (8 year olds) from each family participated in the class and it was a memorable experience.

Stefania and Anna met us at the Camucia market where we purchased some of the local produce. We then went back to the villa and the four of us were taken through the preparation and cooking of a traditional Tuscan lunch, sipping Prosecco throughout.

Apart from laughing at the writer's attempts to make pasta dough, the chefs were very helpful, and didn't get upset when the children deserted the kitchen to go for a swim.

We then sat down with the rest of our families for an amazing four course lunch, with local wine. We had leftovers that fed us for a few days.

Despite our protests, Stefania and Anna then cleaned up and left everything sparkling.

A great day with lovely company. Can't recommend this experience enough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscana e Gusto also viewed

 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Toscana e Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing