We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Search to Find”
Review of Oltre il Giardino - CLOSED

Oltre il Giardino
Price range: $20 - $46
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the Search to Find”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

On our last night in Cortona, fellow travelers recommended this wonderful and secluded restaurant. The setting is beautiful, surrounded by trees. The inside of the restaurant feels like a country house - very comfortable and private. The food was fantastic, as well as the service (thanks to Joanna). There was no feeling of being rushed, as it appears that there is only one seating per table per night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank levitan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    8
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace and good food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This modern and efficient restaurant is to be found in a secluded area near the Cortona Swimming pool, surrounded by trees and with an excellent area to eat outside. The menu is original and interesting, with a choice of fish and meat, and charcuterie from other areas of Italy, not only Tuscan. The food is well presented, tasty, and it makes a difference from the more traditional fare of other local restaurants. The service is pleasant and efficient. This place deserves a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diago_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful memories from our last night in Cortona”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a wonderful place to have dinner- you work up an appetite walking and finding it! We were the only patrons. It had been suggested by Lenard at Il Pozzo in town who is a wealth of knowledge. We had wonderful attention and suggestions for our dinner. The outside area was wonderful for cocktails and appetizers and then we moved inside for our dinner. It is like we were eating at someones house. The chef is very young but don't let that fool you! The food was fantastic and his sister took great care of us. A wonderful ending to our week in Cortona!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decor only with a Fawlty Towers twist”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have now been to this restaurant a number of times. Our last visit was the worst. It started out well, we were a party of friends who gathered in the living room for prosecco and aperitivii. Our table was not ready there was some confusion about the time of the reservation for our party of 8. We sat for about 30 minutes before going to the table because we were waiting for it to be set. There was one other couple in the room ie it was not crowded. First problem, there were only 4 menus for 8 people so we were asked to share. Rather unusual for an expensive restaurant. We all ordered but many selections were not available. There was a lot of confusion as to what was on the menu and what wasn't. Many decided on caci e pepe for a first course. It was excellent I must say. As was the egg yolk zuccini and proscuito. Unfortunately several main courses were not available as were several first courses. One of our party was completely left off the ordering. Her order taken but not served! But all was saved because the small roast chicken was big enough for two people so we halved one of the ordered chickens for the guest who did not get her main course. The waitress apologized but it was quite unprofessional or a rather Fawlty Towers moment. Strangely there seemed to be only four bottles of wine for the night to drink and to choose from. The wine list was abandoned for the wines on display all 4 bottles, which is what we drank, as that seemed to be all there was.

This restaurant has great potential, the decor is very attractive and comfortable. Not traditional country italian, rather sophisticated, muted grays in a big open room with a living room feel. Since it is such a small seating it would be very wise to do just a few choices very very well on a nightly basis. Display them on a chalk board because they are so fresh you have just written them down. I definitely got the feeling all the fish is frozen. The Bacala which was billed as very very good was very very average, stiff and woody tasting. On the other hand the hamburger and the steak tartare were good and I wish I had ordered that. It is certainly not the 5th best restaurant in Cortona as rated here on Trip adviser. I truly hope they work on improvement as there is great potential.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tuxedoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oltreilgiardino1, Proprietario at Oltre il Giardino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Google Translation
Buongiorno.
Mi dispiace molto aver letto questa recensione.
Sono del opinione che quando un cliente torna è perchè e sempre stato bene. E molti di voi siete stati diverse volte da noi e siete sempre andati via facendoci molti complimenti e soddisfatti di aver trascorso il pranzo o la cena nel nostro ristorante. Non è vero che il vostro tavolo non era pronto, c'è stata solo una confusione con le prenotazioni cosa che può umanamente succedere ma in neanche 5 minuti è stato risolto il problema. Questo disguido non ha creato nessun tipo di disagio perchè ancora non eravate arrivate tutti e nel immediato vi e stato offerto un aperitivo come e nostra abitudine fare che vi siete goduti piacevolmente nei divani del nostro salotto ( tra l altro vi ho offerto 2 volte il prosecco perche era mia premura che passavate una bellissima serata)quindi l attesa dei 30 minuti non è stata per un nostro errore ma perchè i primi ad arrivare aspettavano gli altri ( vi vorrei gentilmente ricordare che siete arrivati alle 19:30 quindi un ora in anticipo e la vostra prenotazione era per le 20:30. Per quanto riguarda i menu avete perfettamente ragione ne avevamo quella sera disponibili solo 4, perchè erano rimasti appoggiati nei tavoli fuori in giardino ci era stato improvvisamente un temporale e si erano bagnati e rovinati tutti e non era possibile usarli più
ma questo non accadrà nuovamente dato che gli stiamo facendo rifare, ed e vero che le portate non cerano tutte ma appena siete arrivati vi ho spiegato che stavamo cambiano il menù da estivo passavamo a quello invernale cosa normalissima per un ristorante dato che molte verdure e alimenti vanno a stagione quindi alcune portate non cerano ma mi ero resa disponibile per spiegarvi i nuovi piatti fuori menù. Non è assolutamente vero che per uno dei ospiti l intera ordinazione è stata dimenticata solo il secondo piatto è anche questo può succedere non penso sia una tragedia, mi sono scusata ed ero pronta a farvi preparare immediatamente il piatto o un altra portata ma voi avete preferito di no. Tra l altro il signore che ha deciso di dividere il piatto ricordo che era " il galletto" era ben felice di condividere dato che era molto grande ( e una portata che serviamo anche per due) . Io sono subito andata in cucina e ve l ho fatto dividere.
Non sono una persona poco professionale faccio questo lavoro da 15 anni e oltre essere una cameriera sono la titolare del ristorante e ci metto passione e amore nel mio lavoro è la prima volta che mi dicono che non so fare il mio lavoro mi dispiace ma non sono assolutamente daccordo con voi. Per quanto riguarda il vino e vero che cerano pochissime bottiglie (10) ma era comunque possibile scegliere erano ottimi vini e tutti con prezzi diversi meno costosi o piu costosi ,e dato che siete venuti diverse volte sapete perfettamente che abbiamo sempre avuto tutti i vini, anche in questo caso vi ho spiegato che l indomani avremmo chiuso il ristorante per una settimana perche stavamo cambiando anche la carta dei vini. Il fatto che lei abbia avuto l impressione che il baccala fosse congelato non vuol dire che sia cosi. Noi usiamo prodotti di ottima qualità e soprattutto freschi, se a chi ha ordinato il baccala non e piaciuto mi dispiace ma noi siamo felici perche invece sta avendo un enorme successo.Poteva dirmelo e le facevo portare qualcosaltro ma ricordo bene che quando ho ritirato il piatto era tutto finito quindi non era poi cosi orribile come lei lo descrive. Non possiamo piacere a tutti e sicuramente non abbiamo la pretesa che sia cosi ma per questo c'è la possibilità di scegliere se venire da noi oppure noi, anche se avete detto che questa e stata la vostra peggiore visita per noi sarete sempre i benvenuti. Da parte nostra nel nostro lavoro sia in sala che in cucina c'è sempre tanto impegno amore e professionalità, e sarà sempre cosi.Personalmente non do valore alla qualità del mio lavoro in base hai giudizi su trip advisor quindi se lei crede che non dovrei essere tra i primi su ristoranti a cortona libero di pensarlo , credo anche che sarebbe stato piu giusto dato che io ero li tutta la sera al vostro servizio che se avevate qualche problema potevate direttamente dirmelo a me, invece che scriverlo qui, ma ognuno e libero di esprimersi dove e come vuole. Non so chi dei 8 ospiti ha scritto questa recensione , ma comunque le auguro una buona giornata e spero di rivederla e soprattutto che questa volta si trovi molto bene. Terrò in considerazione le sue critiche che io non trovo giuste ma si può sempre migliorare dato che sono una persona molto umile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Truly memorable!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is the restaurant to go to in Cortona if you are looking for a truly memorable experience. The restaurant is a challenge to find, but completely worth it. We were welcomed into a beautifully decorated and presented large room, with comfortable couches etc around the fireplace, and the few tables positioned around the room. An entirely family affair, the food that is prepared is the best of Italian cuisine. The service is personal and first class. All in all, an evening to remember, and an experience not to be missed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MouseSaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oltre il Giardino also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Mercatale, Cortona
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing