We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“a great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Borgo San Pietro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Borgo San Pietro to your Saves list
Relais Borgo San Pietro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. San Pietro a Cegliolo, 52044 , Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
MANSFIELD TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Before our visit to Cortona I reviewed several properties and finally decided upon Borgo San Pietro. I feel I made the perfect choice after our stay there. The property is about a ten minuete drive from Cortona. It is in the valley below the hill that Cortona sits on. By the way ,being from Texas we call that a mountain folks. The propery as the name suggests is rustic and has that in the country feel. It is surronded by orchards. Apple,fig,pomegranite, lemon and olive trees are all in close proximity to the hotel. The rooms are quite large and very comfortable. Try to get one with a patio if possible. We enjoyed sitting on the patio in the evening with a glass of wine and listening to the quiet. They also have a very beautiful swimming pool but be aware the water is more than cool. The staff was very helpful and couteous and went out of thier way to assist in any way they could. We highly recommend this property to anyone coming to the Tuscany area.

Room Tip: try to get one with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELINOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
91
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not easy to find in the dark, even with a SatNav so our first impressions were just relief at having finally arrived. However waking to the stunning views of the Tuscan hillside and enjoying the most wonderful breakfast on the terrace in the early morning sunshine, Borgo San Pietro rapidly became a very special place. I wish we had more time to explore the extensive gardens. We were lucky enough to have a room upgrade, so our spacious room was very well appointed, TV, minibar, sofa etc. The staff were all very friendly and attentive, and the cappuccinos at breakfast were fabulous! The Relais is very well placed for Cortona and Arezzo and I would not hesitate to stay there again given the opportunity (now we know how to find it!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McNeills66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Relais Borgo San Pietro has come to be like a 2nd home to me. The staff is superb, friendly, helpful and fun. This time we stayed in a superior room as last time in May I stayed in an apartment. The rooms were beautiful, in the old original Tuscan style, well appointed, clean and up-to-date in a several hundred-year-old renovated farmhouse. The pool is always nice, refreshing and peaceful, for the most part. The gardens are heavenly. In May the roses bloomed, in September the apples were ripe. You get a real sense of countryside as you hear cows mooing in the distance, along with roosters proclaiming their territory. Sometimes you may even hear the foxes at night...
One thing I don't get: this really is not a party hotel. If you want to be loud, celebratory, and annoying, go to Ibiza or somewhere else. This is in the middle of the Tuscan countryside, where many seek some solace and quiet, to read a good book by the pool, to stroll the gardens, away from everyday cell phones and hectic paces. Please do not book this hotel if you are looking to blast your radio, partying all night, and taking over the pool by day. Not enjoyable for the rest of us. You just become annoying in this pastoral scene.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this Relais for 4 nights and had a really great time. The hotel is located about 5mins at the foot of the hill where the town of cortona is. It is a bit hidden and not easy to find the first time you arrive here. The atmosphere is really quiet and peaceful. The staff really is attentive and helpful. The room was big, clean and the pool area was in a very good shape too.
If you want to find something to criticise it could only be the breakfast which is the same small buffet every day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeRieHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The only thing I didn't like about the place was the rules for the swimming pool and BBQ area. If you want a BBQ you have to have a fireman present which I think is stupid. Also there is no jumping in the pool and you are not to take towels from your room to the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very nice place and great environment
Staff very kind and helpful very nice People the room and the outsider are exactly like the website show
Place is clean and well organized. The viene from the pool is amazing

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letizia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camisano, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed only one night, but had a wonderful expirience. We were greeted in front of the hotel by the concierge. The rooms were very clean,the staff very attentive. Did not have a chance to see much of the grounds, but the pool area was very clean and quiet. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Marsili Hotel
Villa Marsili Hotel
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
1.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Borgo San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Borgo San Pietro

Property: Relais Borgo San Pietro
Address: Loc. San Pietro a Cegliolo, 52044 , Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Borgo San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Borgo San Pietro is an ancient XVII century farm transformed into a charming Relais with outdoor swimming pool composed of 14 rooms and 5 apartments. Thanks to an intelligent restoration the new purpose of the structure took into account yet maintaining its ancient look. The old well, the fruit and olive trees, the grass fields, combined with the old prints, paintings and furniture, give that peaceful feeling and atmosphere of a Tuscan country house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Relais Borgo San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Pietro Hotel Cortona
Relais Borgo San Pietro Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing