We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star accomodation,if you are a mosquito!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Il Casale
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Reviewed October 4, 2009

It was advertised with King size beds but most of suites we were shown had double beds large enough for 2 children,After complaining ,we were shown their best apartment;one Queen and 2 single beds which were very uncomfortable.The bathroom had a shower smaller than a telephone booth.We were supplied one towel each for the week and 2 rolls of toilet paper.All condoments (salt,pepper,sugar ,etc )had to be supplied yourself and the place was not very clean when we arrived.Between the hordes of mosquitos and the owners constantly barking dog,it was not a peaceful Tuscan experience. Everything was "cost plus"when you actually found someone who worked there.For the money,it was a one star at best

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wally023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerCortona, owner at Residence Il Casale, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2009

With reference to your comment we would like to explain you the following points as we believe that the satisfaction of our guests is vital in our sector.
We don't know where you find the description that in our property we have king size beds, this is very strange because except one apartment we don't have king size beds.
We would be curious to know where you read about king size beds.
Our property is a ancient farm house of 1500 and furnished with tipical antique furnitues (as beds, tables etc).
The showers of the bathrooms measure about 80x80 cm.
About the foodstuffs you mentioned we would like to inform you that we are not obliged to provide them, and on the contrary -according to the latest hygiene rules- we are not allowed to provide it, sometimes when the packaging is well maintained and not damaged we leave them available for the following guests inside the apartment.
About the mosquitoes has been a general problem in the area of Cortona and not exclusively for Il Casale due to heat and humidity that there was in this particular year.
Furthermore, the reception is open both in the morning and in the afternoon in order to help our customers in everything the may need, therefore, if you had problems you should have mentioned them to our staff always at your complete disposal.
we are sorry to learn it now and only throughout the comments posted on Tripadvisor an an other site. If you had communicated them at the beginning of you stay we would have given you another apartment and we are sorry also to inform you that only you complained about all those lacks in our service in fact all the other guests have had a pleasant stay.

Your sincerely,
The Staff
Residence Il Casale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at Residence Il Casalle for a week in May. The weather was wonderful as were the accomodations. Our host was very hospitable, helping us out with anything we needed. The pool had not been opened when we arrived but they opened it early for our use.
The location was good too as it allowed us to do some exploring each day and the proximity to Cortona was just a short drive.
The whole ambience was exactly what we were looking for from the sound of Church bells ringing, singing birds, to the lush greenery that surrounded the grounds and of course the 16th century architecture. We would definitely return to the Residnece Il Casalle.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekiltedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

pro :
- good location : sienna, perugia, montepulciano, pienza, todi, assisi easy to reach
- nice swimming pool
- beautiful garden
contra :
- from 4 - 12 july every night loud music due to music festival within 300 meter distance
- a lot of mosquitos in the garden and in the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steppewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Il Casale provides a self catering option well placed for Cortona's highlights, on the road to Arezzo. The accomodation is in old farm buildings, typical of the period, with small windows and antique furniture. The place was clean, but in late May's rainy weather, rather gloomy, and no heating was available after May 1....we were cold due to the dampness. No starter pack of oil, salt, pepper, wasing up stuff provided which seemed mean, especially after we had to pay a Euros 30 'cleaning charge'. An ok choice but not fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Our family of four, including two teenage daughters, stayed at Residence II Casale for four nights during Holy Week. It was VERY quiet there. In fact, we may have been the only guests. The weather was cool, but pleasant. It's a good place from which to see Tuscany. We drove to Assisi one day. Another day we went to San Giamono and Sienna.

The hotel is very pleasant. Our apartment was large with a reasonably well-equipped kitchen. We cooked our own breakfasts and a couple of nights dinner too. It would be nice if some essentials, such as basic spices, condiments, paper towels, and dish soap, for example, could be supplied.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. Alesandra was particularly helpful and friendly.

In Cortona, we had a wonderful dinner one night at La Bucaccia, which is run by a family. Very friendly place and good food.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirplaneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Our stay was planned as part of a wedding group. We did not select this accomodation nor did we have any input as to the accomodation being selected.

Our flight was delayed and we arrived late to this accomodation.

The owner was very good about providing directions to our private driver and we were able to find this tucked away accomodation with no problems.

The building is old, the grounds are full of beautiful flowers and trees, but not without some problems due to age of the property.

The 10-12 individual units, mostly two bedroom one bath units, were all included in the group arrangement...we basically had the entire accomodation.

The fee was presumably negotiated for the group stay.

I cannot comment on that. It was more reasonable to stay at the selected accomodation than to find other accomodations in the vicinity as being with the group was the primary focus.

Our unit Gardenia, they seemed to all be named for flowers, was a one floor, 2 bedroom, one bath small /compact efficiency apartment.The kitchen was basic and very small, The mini /dorm sized refrigerator /freezer was not clean but usable.The bathroom was very clean, and large ; it had a large sink, toilet, bidet and a small shower. The towels were thin but good sized and the toiletries supplied were sufficient for a few days, not a week.Other units had a bedroom up and down and some had two up.All had a single bathroom. We understood that we should bring our own toiletries and we did. We also understood that these units were self catering...this means you bring your own supplies and we did.

Unfortunately the day we arrived the hot water was not functioning and that was due to neglect/maintenance.We saw the water heater calcifications. Once the hot water was restored it was plentiful and wonderful.

The furniture provided was a smallish kitchen table (about 24x18) with four chairs, a sofa which was old, springs worn out and shabby. The hutch contained some kitchen equipment and dishes. This was more cabin oriented than we would have preferred.

The beds were very short and if you were 6 ft. they were difficult to sleep in. The bedrooms each had a window with some screening but not fixed so that the flying insects stayed out.The bathroom had a fixed screen and let in some good daylight.

The living room/kitchen area was dark and not well lighted. The doors could be left open but then you were allowing the flying insects to come in. A no win situation.

As we were part of a group we had acess to many of the other units and for the most part they also resembled ours...very rustic.

The courtyard outside the units was small and the units shared some patio table and chairs...the washer for the compound was in a separate building and the charge was 6Euro, no dryer but they did have drying racks. We did not pay to wash clothes even though there was a charge.The drying racks were at each unit and worked very nicely in the courtyard.

No breakfast was included but you could go across the road to the owners other property, Villa Baldelli, where for 13 Euro you could get a continental breakfast...we did not do this. We heard the food was very good and the hotel was described as very nice.

The pool area was very nice...we did not use the pool.

The office staff was EXCELLENT...our luggage did not arrive with us and they kept in contact with the airlines and provided us very good information as to the expected arrival. The ability to have someone who spoke Italian to the airlines was "PRICELESS". We appreciated their efforts as the bags arrived 3 days late.

This accomodation is not near any town within reasonable walking distance. The nearest town was Camucia where the train stops...it has some smaller restaurants and grocery stores for supplies. The COOP store there also is quite nice and the prices are reasonable. Most stores do close daily between 1-3PM.

The city of Cortona, the walled city, is some distance and you will need a car if you want to go there.The parking is outside the walled city and free...the streets inside the walled city are very steep and it should be noted that for people with hip or knee replacements the walk can be tiring and sometimes dangerous. The cobblestones are slippery and uneven.
We had dinner one evening at LaBuccacia and the food was absolutely fabulous. It is a small owner run restaurant and the service and food were just great.

It is a lovely city and unfortuately we did not have enough time to devote to exploring it.

Would we have chosen this accomodation...no

Would we stay at this accomodation again...no

Would we recommend this accomodation...if you understand the limitations presented by the age of the buildings and that it is at best a one star accomodation...the bathroom was the best thing about "The Gardenia" at Il Casale...then I would recommend it.

The photos found online do not accurately portray the actual property and its condition...

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtamchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

I recently spent a week at Il Casale with my husband and friends and we all found this place to be a lovely retreat. The gardens are beautiful and the swimming pool area is a delightful place to relax under the Tuscan sun.

Our accommodation was rustic, comfortable and relaxing and we all enjoyed having our meals outside our apartment. The apartment felt more like a little house with our own area of garden. Il Casale's position is very handy to reach a lot of interesting places and Cortona is a short drive away. (It is very reasonable to take a taxi if you wish to enjoy a few drinks in Cortona's ancient square). We drove to Siena and Lake Trasimeno with ease.

Vittorio, the owner and all his staff were very helpful and I would definitely recommend having breakfast at his other property, Villa Baldelli, which is just a short stroll away - it has a lovely terrace with views of Cortona and the breakfast was sumptious!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappytravellerPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
681 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
324 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#6 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#8 of 23 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Il Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Il Casale

Address: Via San Pietro a 434, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: $92 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Il Casale 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence in The Valley of Etruscan Princes Il Casale, a residence out of a building of the year 500 sits in front of the towers, the domes the green and the sky of Cortona, a city of ancient origins, often visited by the ex French president Mitterand, and today by the University of Georgia (UGA). During august it is the chosen location for the National Antiques Showroom, where for the occasion, in the old rooms of Palazzo Casali and Palazzo Vagnotti, all the most important Italian exhibitors gather. The rural complex is situated nearby the San Pietro a Cegliolo neighbourhood. Today it is a very comfortable and accommodating Residence, hidden in the silence of a spectacular and suggestive creation of the nature. It is laid out around a huge garden and the mother tower which overlooks the main building, which is also the oldest and still maintains the original features, like the double slope roof and the external stairway with a wide landing for the middle floor access. Behind one of the complexes’ wings, finds room on over an hectare of green grass, the swimming pool which is for guests use only. Built with the most modern and efficient techniques its size is 16 by 8 meters. Furnished with deck chairs, comfortable pillows, umbrellas, showers and everything to help relax and fun for the kids, while watching Cortona’s skyline. The garden is one of the most beautiful features of the complex. Very well grown and cared, shines with plenty of different flowers varieties and plants which give colour to the spectacular green English carpet. Here you’ll find the tables and chairs for breakfast and dinner in a relaxing environment. The residence is made of 10 apartments, of which 8 sleep 4, one sleep 3, and one sleep 2. They all provide a stylish and elegant solution, floors and ceilings made with old cotto tiles and antique furniture aging around the year ‘800. Everything carefully planned and put together in respect of the most modern way of living. The apartments have two bedrooms, some of which with two double beds, some other with one double bed and a room with single beds, bathroom with shower and the living room with a cooking corner (fire spots, electrical oven, fridge, double sink). The general feeling is of a relaxing and “antique” luxurious environment. The bedrooms are especially thought in the way they’ve been furnished. Antique beds (‘700 and ‘800), carpets who match the period of the furniture, practical closets also from the ‘800 style. Everything is planned to match with the floors and the ceilings. Apartment sleep 4: two bedrooms with two double beds or one double bed and two single beds, bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Apartment sleep 3: one big bedroom with a double bed and a single bed, two bathrooms with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Apartment sleep 2: one bedroom with a double bed, one bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Possibility to have additional beds on request. SERVICES: Every apartment has its own external space furnished with garden chairs and table, and inside provides Satellite TV, air conditioning/heating direct phone line. WI-FI CONNECTION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Il Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Il Casale Cortona
Residence Il Casale Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing