We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Il Casale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Elena(Cortona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sabrina(Cortona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Cortona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Schiatti(Castiglion Fiorentino)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
30
19
10
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
19
10
7
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 68 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The property is absolutely beautiful and has breathtaking views of Cortona on the hill...the grounds are very well kept and the apartment was very nice. During the week the reception is very helpful and ready to take care of any needs you have however make sure you have what you need for the weekend as the opening hours we were given for Saturday were not followed and it was difficult to find anyone on property. The apartment was beautfiul and mostly very comfortable. The only complaint I had was that while the bathroom was mostly very clean there was some mold in the shower stall and on the wall above it, which is why I only gave it 4 stars in that category. We stayed in the apartment that sleeps 4(Tulipano) and while our bed was quite comfortable the couple we were with complained that one of the twin beds in their room was lumpy and hard to sleep on so when they pushed them together they were forced to crowd together on the other one. All in all Il Casale provided us with a beautfiul respite in Tuscany, a great place to unwind for a few days and enjoy some quiet time before we headed into the chaos of Rome. Make sure you ask to be informed about all the fees up front, they told us about a cleaning fee when we checked in however when we left they also wanted a fee for the heater (9 euro per day) which we hadn't used and weren't informed about. Thankfully when I told the lady we hadn't used the heater she was very polite and did not make us pay the charge. I would say if I came back to Cortona I would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask them to explain any/all fees before hand.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCR1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

It was advertised with King size beds but most of suites we were shown had double beds large enough for 2 children,After complaining ,we were shown their best apartment;one Queen and 2 single beds which were very uncomfortable.The bathroom had a shower smaller than a telephone booth.We were supplied one towel each for the week and 2 rolls of toilet paper.All condoments (salt,pepper,sugar ,etc )had to be supplied yourself and the place was not very clean when we arrived.Between the hordes of mosquitos and the owners constantly barking dog,it was not a peaceful Tuscan experience. Everything was "cost plus"when you actually found someone who worked there.For the money,it was a one star at best

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wally023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerCortona, owner at Residence Il Casale, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2009

With reference to your comment we would like to explain you the following points as we believe that the satisfaction of our guests is vital in our sector.
We don't know where you find the description that in our property we have king size beds, this is very strange because except one apartment we don't have king size beds.
We would be curious to know where you read about king size beds.
Our property is a ancient farm house of 1500 and furnished with tipical antique furnitues (as beds, tables etc).
The showers of the bathrooms measure about 80x80 cm.
About the foodstuffs you mentioned we would like to inform you that we are not obliged to provide them, and on the contrary -according to the latest hygiene rules- we are not allowed to provide it, sometimes when the packaging is well maintained and not damaged we leave them available for the following guests inside the apartment.
About the mosquitoes has been a general problem in the area of Cortona and not exclusively for Il Casale due to heat and humidity that there was in this particular year.
Furthermore, the reception is open both in the morning and in the afternoon in order to help our customers in everything the may need, therefore, if you had problems you should have mentioned them to our staff always at your complete disposal.
we are sorry to learn it now and only throughout the comments posted on Tripadvisor an an other site. If you had communicated them at the beginning of you stay we would have given you another apartment and we are sorry also to inform you that only you complained about all those lacks in our service in fact all the other guests have had a pleasant stay.

Your sincerely,
The Staff
Residence Il Casale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at Residence Il Casalle for a week in May. The weather was wonderful as were the accomodations. Our host was very hospitable, helping us out with anything we needed. The pool had not been opened when we arrived but they opened it early for our use.
The location was good too as it allowed us to do some exploring each day and the proximity to Cortona was just a short drive.
The whole ambience was exactly what we were looking for from the sound of Church bells ringing, singing birds, to the lush greenery that surrounded the grounds and of course the 16th century architecture. We would definitely return to the Residnece Il Casalle.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekiltedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

pro :
- good location : sienna, perugia, montepulciano, pienza, todi, assisi easy to reach
- nice swimming pool
- beautiful garden
contra :
- from 4 - 12 july every night loud music due to music festival within 300 meter distance
- a lot of mosquitos in the garden and in the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steppewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Il Casale provides a self catering option well placed for Cortona's highlights, on the road to Arezzo. The accomodation is in old farm buildings, typical of the period, with small windows and antique furniture. The place was clean, but in late May's rainy weather, rather gloomy, and no heating was available after May 1....we were cold due to the dampness. No starter pack of oil, salt, pepper, wasing up stuff provided which seemed mean, especially after we had to pay a Euros 30 'cleaning charge'. An ok choice but not fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews