We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Villa Baldelli
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place is a 10! My daughter and I took a trip to Italy. We visited six famous areas, including Tuscany. This place felt like home. The staff was outstanding, the place stunning, and our stay memorable. The place has the Tuscan charm that you dream about and see in movies. It's an incredibly beautiful place that looks like a post card. It's unbeatable in my humble opinion, and I went to numerous Tuscan cities; Sienna, Montepulciano,, Montalcino, San Gimignano, and Pienza, and saw some of the Villas and hotels, this was by far my favorite. I wanted to cry when I left.
During our stay we had problems with a rent a car agency , called Il Grasole (never rent from them), the staff was so helpfulI and took over the call to assist. They went above and beyond any otherplace would have. Donald, the man who runs the restaurant, was fantastic and went out of his way to accomodate us. Ricardo took so much time to help us with sightseeing. The staff became our second family. We will go back, without a doubt!

Room Tip: We Had room 24. Not a huge room but large by European standards and an incredible view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SerasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Relais Villa Baldelli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 255 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was a 5-star experience in a 4-star hotel. We did not aim for the perfect palace as we wanted a lot of comfort mixed with authentic rustic Italian charm and we were not disappointed in any aspect. We arrived at midnight pretty tired from a long travel day and we were immediately escorted by Donald who was the most hospitable front desk manager one could ever expect and spent the next 30 minutes insuring everything was perfect from our luggage check to our car parking. The breakfast was also delicious and as I found out later, better stocked than other similar hotels. This classy rustic setting is ideal if you want to combine comfort, convenience and get the real feel for the place. Dinner is more a convenience than an experience, but it did not matter, we felt throughout our stay that we were not treated like clients, we were treated like guests.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We went for the Junior suites, they are roomy with an excellent view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbcortona, General Manager at Relais Villa Baldelli, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Guests,

many thanks for your comment. It's true, we usually try to welcome our guests as if they were old family friends...
and sometimes it happens that Guests become friends of us!
This is terrific!
Thanks again,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have actually stayed at Baldelli 2 times - and each time it was perfection! The care that has gone towards the selection of everything from the silk tafetta curtains to the quality of the antiques and even the towels, it's just dreamy. The surrounding gardens and vineyard, abundant with fruit trees and flower pots, have views that are unmatched. The best part is waking up each morning to the aromas of breakfast, so gorgeously and carefully prepared, everything's genuine and freshly made - it was such a great start to our days! The staff has always been so helpfull w/ information @ train schedules, town market days, museum hours even dinner reservations - tho I must say the times I have eaten dinner there, it was just as delicious as the breakfast! The owner, Signor Vittorio, can be seen sometimes walking around his gardens, he is such a wonderful gentleman and is very interested in the care of his guests. From the villa we easily drove to nearby towns of Cortona (actually also a slow 1 hour walk through farms), Siena, Florence, Montepulciano, Assisi, Sant'Antimo, San Galgano etc... Do not miss the nearby Cells of St. Francis or even the sulphur baths at Bagno Vignoni - there is so much to do - a week is never enough and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolcevitaadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vbcortona, General Manager at Relais Villa Baldelli, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

many thanks for the wonderful comment you wrote on us!
We greatly look forward to meeting you again and we wish you all the best!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We booked this hotel because we thought it was a good place to stay in. It was a good place to stay, no question about it but the problem was that you had to get out of the place to get lunch and dinner and that to me is not good service. When we asked the staff they told us thet they did not serve lunch and dinner but it was nothing we could guess from visiting the website or when we booked the hotel. The hotel building was nice and had a nice architecture and nice rooms, big nice pool in the garden but that was it. The tiny two hole golf course/driving range was totally destroyed by wild pigs so that was not so good. This place has some distance to go before I can give it a higher rating, the service needs to get a lot better. Thinking about the value for money, no I wouldn't say that it is great value for money because of the fact that you have to leave the place to get some food. To me that is not an optimal hotel stay at all. Some times you just want to relax in the room and take a quick bite before you go to bed...but that is not possible in this place. Oh, yes I have forgot to tell you how slow teh WiFi was, really slow and it did not even work in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamboswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Located just a mile from the lovely town of Cortona, this idyllic villa is both rustic and upscale. Although the drive in was deceptive, once we arrived, we fell in love instantly with this renovated property set within a vineyard in the heart of Tuscany. The grounds are beautifully manicured. The lobby and dining room were charming, with stone floors, wood beam ceilings, huge area rugs and authentic fireplaces. Our room was enchanting, with windows overlooking the terrace, an enormous plush bed, antique furnishings, and a delicious, modern bathroom. The combination of 21st century amenities such as wifi and marble bath blended perfectly with the old-world charm of the place. However, it was the staff that really made us feel special and welcome. Even though we showed up late on a Sunday, they opened the restaurant just for us to enjoy dinner... which was scrumptious. Each morning, the breakfast was delicious and different. Even the wine from their vineyard was exquisite; our favorite from the over 50 different ones we tried all over Italy during our two week trip. When we were leaving, we tried to buy a bottle of their wine and they refused to sell it to us... but gifted it to us instead. They made us feel like family rather than guests at a hotel. We stayed only a couple of nights but we wished we had stayed there our entire trip. It was a great home base to visit Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza and Sienna. The location was ideal to keep exploring the area for another week. We are sure to return to Villa Baldelli again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Beautiful Villa located just down the hill from Cortona. We only stayed one night and had rain so we were not able to enjoy the beautiful grounds, but the villa is very romantic and charming. Both rooms that we had were lovely with fantastic bathrooms. We had a leak in our first room when we returned from dinner, but the night manager quickly helped us move to a new room. The breakfast was not our favorite, but the villa was not very busy the night that we stayed. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and we would stay her again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsAboutTheTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the villa 2 nights during our yearly one week motorcycle tour. Very nice place, a typical Tuscan villa, sorrounded by olive trees, nice decoration classical bt not overdone, nice large pool and excellent friendly service. They have different type of rooms for different rates; the one we picked was a bit on the small side but very nice and pleasantly decorated. Excellent beds and very quiet during the night so very good sleep;

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigiperis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
745 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Borgo San Pietro
Villa Borgo San Pietro
#15 of 24 in Cortona
184 reviews
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Baldelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Baldelli

Address: San Pietro a Cegliolo, 420, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cortona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: $108 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Baldelli 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Villa Baldelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Baldelli Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Baldelli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing