We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-Notch”
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. My husband and I were on our honeymoon in early June and we stayed here. The hotel and grounds are beautiful (fantastic view) but the staff may be the best part. You ask one question, and before you know it they have a tour booked for you. They were extremely courteous and helpful, recommended some great restaurants, parked our car, provided happy hour snacks... The breakfast was superb - you won't believe the spread they lay out every morning. The only negative was the 2-min walk up the hill to get into the square, but we appreciated the exercise. We will stay here again if we get back to Cortona.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 831 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Travel seems to be my middle name as such I stay in loads of hotels, small family owned and large corporate and if I had one wish it would be they are like Villa Marsili. Not only is Cortona a beautiful small Italian town that represents the heart of what is Italy, it also happens to have ne of the most warm and lovely places to stay on the planet, Villa Marsili. The hotel is small and as such can provide the warmth and hospitality that one would be afforded by staying at your parents, other family members (those you like) or close friends. each time we leave we are sad to be leaving friends (and in ways family) they've become

If you want to be greeted like a number don't go there but if you want a warm and genuine hospitality there is no place I can think of I'd rather be other than I my own home..

ps.. Their breakfast buffet is typically Italian, sliced meats, cheeses, pastries, fruits and more w/ loads of great coffee ranging from espresso to Americano.. wonderful way to start the day after a beautiful night sleep

Room Tip: Ask for front suites, you'll open the windows and see noting but the beautiful valley and hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahoeJoe1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

After reading all the reviews on tripadviser, we booked three nights month in advance at Villa Marsili Hotel. We asked for a large corner room on the top floor and got room #37. It was exactly what we asked for. A very large room with a large bathroom with a window on the corner top floor with a view. If you book early ask for this room and you will not be disappointed. We loved the hotel, service, breakfast, bar and location. The bell man parked our car and got our car whenever we asked for. We were able to walk to all the restaurants and shops. Everything was close. One day we drove to Assisi which was not too far and is worth the trip. If we ever go back we would definately stay at Villa Marsili again. It is a beautiful, charming hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for room #37 if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Marsili. We left feeling as though we had stayed with 3 long lost cousins (Julia, Johana, and Luana). They were able to provide ample information about the area, well beyond our pre-trip research.
Each morning we awoke to a stunning view of the valley. My wife, my son and I started each morning with eager anticipation for the ample breakfast. (The only problem is that we were disappointed in the breakfast spread at the hotels for the remainder of our trip.) The biscotti and vin santo were also a nice cap to each day.
The location was ideal for our time in Cortona, yet easily accessible by car. Prior to our arrival, I was a bit aprehensive over the parking. There is no need for concern about that. Often, I temporarily parked the car in the courtyard and left the parking to the ever capable Martin. Other times I parked a block up the street.
Beyond all that, we were impressed to learn that the original Madona and Child work of art was once housed in a church that stood in the Villa's location many years ago.
We will return to Villa Marsili one day.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank smurer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Thank you for all the trip advisor reviews of this hotel...it met all my expectations and was a delightful hotel. Everyone was extremely helpful, even parking our car for us and then returning it to us when we left Cortona. We, once again, rented too large a car and could not manage it so well and were very happy not to have to deal with it and could enjoy Cortona instead. The breakfast was wonderful and there was a wine tasting in the evenings which was very convivial. The view from our room was of Lake Trasamino and it's huge valley and was magnificent. The whole hotel was extremely clean and there was great attention paid to the details of housekeeping.
The hotel recommended La Grotta and it was very, very good. Also, A friend in the area took us to Trattoria Dardano and that was also very good.
I depend a lot on trip advisor recommendation ,as we are independent travelers, and decided to write more reviews. Many folks complain about room size in Italy and my advice is to request a room with 2 beds, instead of a king or queen. Even if it's 2 twins pushed together I feel you have a good chance of getting a larger room. It does not always work that way, but worth a try. Villa marsili was definitely a super choice for us and we are frequent travelers in Italy and Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berkeleylizann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel was almost perfect, the room was however so small that it tainted our stay.
Most annoyingly they were not full and they didn't offer us the opportunity to upgrade for a larger room at the check in process.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hagai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I just want to say that this hotel is definitely worthy of a 5 star treatment for a small town! Amazing breakfast buffet, cocktail hour and late night Vin Santo and cookies!! Smiles where ever you walk. Personal touch from everyone. By the second day, they know what your preferences are and they cater to that. Very clean and cozy. Close walk to all Piazzas and great recommendations for restaurants! Will be back for sure!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Torontoraptor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
774 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
665 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia Cortona
Hotel Italia Cortona
#6 of 24 in Cortona
314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#9 of 24 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: $134 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing