We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in Cortona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel in Cortona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Villa Marsili is a great place to stay in Cortona. It is a short walk up the old street to the heart of the town. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast is one of the best. The staff was extremely helpful and seem to enjoy hosting us. Parking is limited to the street, but we had no trouble finding a spot close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    65
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
460
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We originally had to cancel our reservation at the last minute due to a back injury I incurred in the CinqueTerre. The hospital in Siena had restricted my travel for a week so we needed to stay on in Castellina in Chianti. I understood that I would be charged for one of the two days we had reserved. However, when I got the ok to travel we contacted Villa Marsili and headed to Cortona. We were given credit for the day we were charged and our original reservation was honored. We loved this hotel and the staff so much we stayed for four nights. The bed was firm which is normally to my liking but due to the swelling I had in my lower back I needed some extra padding. Within 5 minutes the bed had been stripped and two layers of down had been put on and the bed remade along with two chairs that were a little low had also been replaced. Unbelievable, you don't get service like that at the Ritz Carlton! The location of the hotel is great just a short walk to town where the recommendations we received for dinner never disappointed. The room had a great view of the lake. Free parking on the street. Free appetizers in the afternoon in the well appointed and comfortable sitting area downstairs. The free breakfast buffet takes your breath away it is so visually stunning. It goes beyond the standard meats, cheese, breads, rolls and pastries. There were always homemade surprises from the staff like tortes, quiche, and an assortment of jams. But what sets this hotel apart from others is the staff. The level of warmth and caring from the manager on down was unmatched in any other establishment I have ever stayed in. When we left there were hugs just like leaving family. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dreamtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We arrived in Cortona, Italy weary, with three kids, and no place to stay. It was All Saint's Day weekend and there were few rooms available anywhere. Villa Marsili had one room left that was a bit small for our family. They added a bed, rearranged the furniture, brought the kids a snack and made us a cappuccino moments after we checked in. We loved everything about this hotel. The furniture, the setting, the smells, but what we will always remember are the people. Joana, Julia and Stefano were amazing at the front desk, night and day. Marina was incredible and worked tirelessly to make everything seamless. We were the last people to check out before the season ended. We thought, since it was the last day the hotel was open for the season, there would be a small breakfast offered. We were stunned when we came downstairs and the entire spread was set up as if it was their first day open, not their last. Fresh baked goods, fresh, seasonal fruit and delicious coffee and hot chocolate for the kids. We loved Cortona so much that we ended up renting an apartment for the month that the hotel manager told us about. The apartment was owned by one of the owners of the hotel, Maria Silva and Giampiero. The apartment was just like the hotel - perfect in every way. Cortona will always be a special place for our family. It is the perfect place to explore Tuscany from, or just the perfect place to experience village life. The people from Villa Marsili made our time there magical!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Livology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was easily the best Hotel we visited in our 4 week European holiday. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Everything was first class. The friendly, welcoming staff was the highlight. Faultless.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is small, beautifully appointed, comfortable and warm. The young lady. Joana, who runs the hotel is charming. The free breakfast buffet is outstanding, with a wide variety of breads, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, etc. The bar, where there are free appetizers late afternoon, is more like a well appointed family living room. Everyone of the staff was warm and welcoming. When they couldn't get a cab for us to get to the train station, one of the staff offered to drive us to the station and then absolutely refuse a tip. The only negative was that their "American coffee" is like no coffee that you would get in the states. The room was large with a great view over the valley. One warning, if you take the train to Cortona you should arrange in advance for a cab (of which there are not many). We took the bus which stopped well before the town center (narrow streets?) It was a long hot walkup to the town from the terminus.Cortona itself is a great town , a large part of which is surrounded by Roman walls. Lots of art, architecture, good food and wine, great views. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

While on a self guided bike tour with 2 other couples we stayed here for 2 nights. Julia at reception was fantastic. The rooms were great, along with the views. A nice walk into town from there. Breakfast was fantastic also. Different foods kept coming out all during the morning. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlsalse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as a stop during a trip through Tuscany. The room was pretty, larger than I expected and had a very nice view. The room was in the front of the hotel. Breakfast was a fantastic buffet with hot and cold items and the breakfast room is lovely and quiet on a late October morning. The location was perfect for an easy walk up the hill to the center of town and the big piazza.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel, while facing the road and probably noisier in tourist season, provided very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.8 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Property: Villa Marsili
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing