We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place, but we weren't so lucky I guess”
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I'll start with the good things - The location of the hotel is outstanding, worked well for us when travelling from Florence to Sorrento. The hotel itself is magical, the stuff is extremely helpful and the breakfast was divine. The only problem was, that we got a really tiny room (and I mean really tiny, as you can see in the pictures) which doesn't look close to the pictures, and also, the view from our room was other houses and in the morning there was a terrible noise from outside (bad bad luck)...nevertheless, and due to the fact that we only had 1 night there, we were pleased all in all.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a big enough room, if it's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 834 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you all for a wonderful stay. I love Cortona and the Villa Marsili was a wonderful place to stay while there. Thank you also for helping to make my 50th birthday (turning 50 under the Tuscan sun) one I will always remember with fond memories. From the moment we walked into the front entrance we were greeted like we were family friends, such a comforting thing when you're in another country and don't speak the language. I would recommend anyone to stay here and visit Cortona. If everything we wanted to see in Italy was near here, we would have spent our 3 weeks in Italy at Villa Marsili.
Vikki Buchan xo

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikkiamb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I spent three days/nights here and it was the perfect choice! The staff good not have been kinder, more welcoming or more helpful. The room is lovely, the view is spectacular, the breakfast (and cappuccino) lavish--all making this the perfect base for exploring Tuscany. I loved that I could walk into the center of Cortona and restaurants in 5 minutes (albeit uphill but it IS hill country after all!) but retreat to the edge of town and escape a bit of the hustle and bustle at the end of the day.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with windows open you may want to forgo a room with a view as there will be ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laviajeraliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our first visit to Tuscany and we are impressed. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. It was really three rooms, each with a large window and view. Bathroom was the size of many hotel rooms w/ shower and jacuzzi tub and a fabulous view.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Initially I was disappointed that the top 2 hotels for Cortona were unavailable, and that I had to settle for 3rd best, but from the moment we arrived all of those reservations disappeared. For the actual village of Cortona as opposed to the Cortona surrounding area, Villa Marsili is No. 1.

The rooms are average really. We had the option of upgrading ours to the room next door for an extra EUR 50 per night, but the quality of the fittings and overall ambiance of the room were identical, including the views; it was just larger, and as there were only the 2 of us, unnecessary.

Two things make this hotel top notch in my view: prime location for the 5 minute walk up to the village that has an abundance of cafes, bars and restaurants; and the sheer levels of service that are provided by all of the girls on the front desk. I hope I do not miss anyone out, but iulia (the most exuberant, in the nicest possible manner), ioana who checked us in, Luana and Eliana that all helped us plan our days, guide us on the best attractions over breakfast; the list goes on.

As others have experienced, in this case, my wife was looking for some high quality silk/artificial large sunflowers to take home - all of the girls could not have been more helpful, including getting their 2 florists to assist in the search ...

For anyone looking to explore the Cortona area, look no further - this is a gem of a hotel. I hope we will be back.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of Lake Trasimeno. Our was on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We based ourselves in Cortona for 3 nights in order to explore this beautiful corner of Italy doing day trips. We chose Villa Marsili based on reviews and were blown away by how fabulous it was and by their outstanding attention to detail, and its comfort, stylish elegance and great staff.
We booked a suite which included a spacious bedroom with a very comfortable bed, a fabulous large bathroom with a jacuzzi, shower and double basin, a lounge with a TV, fridge and very comfortable couches. The suite was really good but the 'piece de resistance ' was surely the views from each rooms windows over the sprawling Val di Chiana and sunflower fields right to Lake Trasimeno. Simply breathtakingly beautiful..
Breakfast was an excellent buffet offering a wonderful selection of cold meats, cheeses and varied pastries, yogurts, fabulous fruits and preserves and, as Id written ahead, a wide selection of gluten free items, so appreciated. Tea and wonderful coffee on the terrace after breakfast completed this superb treat.
The staff at Villa Marsili are amazing, warm, welcoming and so obliging even giving me a farewell gift as a reminder of our stay there. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Thank you to charming Stefano, lovely Julia at reception, the barman and the breakfast staff.
Cortona is a charming and very beautiful hilltop town made famous by Frances Mayes ( Under the Tuscan Sun ), it has so much to offer the art lover and is a visual treat in terms of archtecture, vistas and history.
Villa Marsili adds to Cortonas charm and is a truly superb hotel with no opportunity overlooked to satisfy their guests, even the exquisite complimentary snacks between 6 and 8 pm before one goes into town for dinner, and then the Vin Santo, Cantucci and fresh fruits waiting in the lounge on ones return from the evening out.
We are so happy we found Villa Marsili and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting accommodation that is a cut above the rest.

Room Tip: If a room with a view over the Val di Chiana is available grab it....even if it means upgrading, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful intimate hotel overlooking the landscape of Tuscany. Friendly, extremely helpful and happy to go the extra mile for those who stay. Made reservations for dinner and were fluent in English. A great breakfast and worth the extra money. Rooms 27 and 37 were very nice. Baths were larger and very nice as well. Would recommend to anyone. Close to shopping and dining in the town. Although on a main street and a corner, was very quiet with windows closed.

Room Tip: purchase the breakfast option and ask for room that faces the landscape/valley. All the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
680 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
324 reviews
1 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#6 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: $157 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing