We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy Trip 2013 - Cortona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Italy Trip 2013 - Cortona”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with David in September. The rooms were new and fabulous (never mind a few minor electrical glitches) and the dinners were fantastic. As everyone knows who has visited La Corte Dei Papi it all revolves around David. We have traveled the world and never met a more "hands on" owner. It is his inn, his family's past and his future - It shows to all who have met him. We look forward to returning to Cortona soon and we would not consider lodging anywhere else! R&R

Room Tip: Get a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    37
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
95
399
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Compliments to David (The Owner) who takes a very personal pride in offering his guests the best of the best and he does this with panache and flair.
The Rooms are very comfortable. we stayed in the old "Pig Sty" converted into a most comfortable and welcoming room, with walls so thick that even in the height of summer you will not need any ac.
You can see that great effort has been made to detail and even more so once you decide to indulge in either Lunch or Dinner....oh how I wished we could have stay for a few days longer to be able to truly experience more of the "wonders" that emanated from their kitchen.
2 nights was just not enough to appreciate truly, this beautiful place .....kudos to David and his Mum for creating and sharing with us La Corte Dei Papi.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanovo, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent in the hotel 2 days and realized that it was too short period for such a wonderful place. Everything was perfect: warm welcome, charming park, elegant rooms, lovely landscape and really exquisite cuisine! The hotel offers a unique atmosphere to which you want to return. Elena.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena_pre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

While staying in Cortona at another property, we stopped in to tour La Corte Dei Papi. David greeted us and showed us around this beautiful resort. He encouraged us to come back that evening to the restaurant. We were not disappointed. He welcomed us back like old friends, and proceeded to seat us in the restaurant and explain the menu. After ordering, the wait staff brought not only what we had ordered, but also samples of other items on the menu. He let us taste several wonderful wines before we decided on the bottle we wanted with our meal. Throughout the evening, he would stop by our table to check on us. We loved the story of his family and were impressed with the quality of the resort. We will definitely make our reservations here on our next trip to Cortona! Barb and Gary Richards

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon---and the highlight was staying at Corte dei Papi. Upon arriving you feel as though you have landed in some magical and serene place, from the long driveway welcoming you, to the immaculate and beautiful grounds and buildings. The restaurant is incredible as well. We enjoyed a very lovely evening in it upon our arrival. Everything is so intimate and the attention to detail is incredible. So its not surprising to learn that this place is the the childhood home of its owner David---and his passion and commitment to welcoming his guests and giving them his full attention was not only incredibly charming, but just really made the whole experience stand out. He arranged a day of wine tasting that was just amazing as well as making recommendations for places to eat and taking care of any detail immediately. And while we did not get to use it---the swimming pool and area around it were beautiful. We would love to return!

Room Tip: The newer building with the suites including the amazing steam showers and jacuzzis was a very pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Corte dei Papi last week. The finishes in the rooms are perfection and the food is amazing, but like some of the other reviewers, what made this stay extra special was the warm welcome we received from the owner David, into his "home." David was there to ensure our every need was met, and they were - with kindness and care. Our stay here was truly exceptional. We look forward to the day we return!

Room Tip: The spa rooms have steam showers that are state of the art.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevy chase, md
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Corte Dei Papi is absolutely outstanding - the location and grounds, the accommodations, the breakfast, the fabulous restaurant and most importantly, David. David has taken his generations old family home & created his vision of Tuscan perfection. From the minute you arrive David is there with the warmest of welcomes, with a magnetic smile and hugs & kisses included. As others have commented in their glowing reviews, David is ever present. A true work-aholic, but in a masterful sense.

Traveling with friends, we stayed 4 nights in the 2 deluxe cottages which were comfortable & lovely. The breakfast was incredible. We dined in the restaurant 2 nights & the food was outstanding. David arranged a winery tour for us, at the height of the grape harvest season, and it was fantastic. All of the staff were lovely & clearly have David's stamp on the service they provided.

Of our 3 1/2 weeks in Italy, Cortona, Corte Dei Papi and David were the highlight of the trip. Cannot recommend David & his Tuscan creation enough. David, we miss you already.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChevyChase_MdSzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
732 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
801 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
390 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais Borgo San Pietro
Relais Borgo San Pietro
#15 of 24 in Cortona
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Via La Dogana 12 | Località Pergo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais La Corte Dei Papi is an original late 17 century family dwelling that has been lovingly restored to create a hotel that caters for our guests every wish. An oasis of tranquility and peace ideal for the discerning traveler who yearns for exquisite Tuscan food in an elegant, charming countryside residence. Situated between the beautiful hills that surround the famous historical town of Cortona made even more famous by the writer Frances Mayer in her book “Under the Tuscan Sun” The Relais La Corte Dei Papi provides its guests with classically stylish room and suites equipped with every amenity. The interior has been lovingly restored to its original splendor. Every room and suite is furnished with taste and discernment. The beautiful Spa Suites are dedicated to the balance and wellbeing of guests. A truly unique experience with every imaginable facility to enhance your relaxation, the spa comes to you in the privacy of your suite. The restaurant is housed in what was the originally the wine cellar of the house and it maintains the integrity of traditional Tuscan cooking. The kitchen recreates the delicate flavors of genuine Tuscan dishes with a modern twist. Every ingredient used in our kitchen is selected for its quality, freshness and flavor; this creates a special experience at every stage of your meal. Our Chef daily prepares everything fresh including, bread, pasta and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing