We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding at Davids resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Jessheim, Akershus, Norway
1 review
“Perfect wedding at Davids resort!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the third time we have visited Relais La Corte dei Papi, but it will certainly not be the last.. The first time we fell in love with this magical place and we decided to celebrate our wedding here. Friday 13th of September we got married in beautiful Cortona. We and our guests had our wedding dinner and spend the whole weekend at Davids beautiful and luxurious hotel. It was just as wonderful as we had hoped for; the food was fantastic, the wine was outstanding and of course the intimate atmosphere and the excellent, personal service David provides is beyond everything! Thank you so much for a great weekend, David! See you in one year! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    37
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
95
399
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We loved our stay at this small boutique tuscan hotel. The grounds and pool were wonderful. Our room was cozy and comfortable, but next time we'll probably choose to upgrade to a larger room. The service was impeccable. David is ALWAYS there, and I don't think he ever sleeps. He is obviously passionate about his hotel and guests. Our favorite part was the food. The breakfast buffet was the best spread we had in our 2 week tour of Italy. We looked forward to the best cappuccino and freshest cheeses, breads, croissants, and pastries every morning. Eating outside on the beautiful grounds next to the pool was a definite bonus. The location was easy with a cool local bar/gelateria right down the block and Cortona was an quick 10 minute drive with easy parking. Driving through the hills and towns of Tuscany was our favorite part of Italy, and when we return, the Relais La Corte dei Papi will certainly be on our list of musts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

David Papi and his staff make this gorgeous place even more welcoming with their attentive, warm service. The rooms are fabulously appointed, the grounds are beautiful and the restaurant wonderful.
Great pool, jacuzzi tubs in rooms, steam shower.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcostello67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel was clean, well kept and comfortable. David (owner) was amazingly helpful throughout our stay. He arranged wine tastings, side trips, and dinner plans. The pool area is beautiful. Our room was upgraded upon our arrival. The hotel has a restaurant on site that is outstanding. We would recommend this hotel to all of our friends and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed for two nights with my wife and a group for a fairytale wedding. From the second we entered the reception area, David(the manager), reached out his hand, greeted us and made us feel welcome. He personally showed us to our magic suite. A really spacious and delicatelly furnished room, containing a luxurious and big jacuzzi and a steambath shower. For the duration of the stay David and his staff was on their feet, providing us a 5-star treatment, day and night! The atmosphere was very relaxed, and if you are looking for a place to really take it back.. This is the place for you! Also perfect for a romantic getaway!! We are most definitely coming back!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sindre78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

TripAdvisor reviews set our expectations for this hotel pretty high, but we were still blown away by the beauty and romance of the rooms and the setting. From the moment we arrived, the service was beyond exceptional - David (the owner) met us at the reception desk and informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite. He helped us with our bags to our magnificent room, and invited us to head down to dinner at our leisure. Dinner... was ... amazing. The wait staff is incredibly meticulous (though unobtrusive) and the food was wonderful, especially the primi (the pici pasta with a slightly spicy tomato sauce was perfect). David recommended a fantastic bottle of wine, and checked on us throughout the meal to make sure we were happy. Breakfast the next morning was terrific and included a tasty selection of cheese, meat, and pastries - a great beginning to a long day of winery tours. The hotel is conveniently located close to many wineries and Cortona, a beautiful town full of winding streets and sweet little shops and restaurants. Our stay was short (only two nights), but we highly recommend La Corta Dei Papi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elyse0171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was, by far, the best hotel experience I have ever had. My mom and I stayed at Corte dei Papi for about a week, and we had the most amazing, relaxing time. David, the owner, is such a wonderful host. We felt like we were family from the minute we arrived, and we were actually very sad to leave after our week-long stay. He puts a personal touch on everything and takes great pride in his hotel, so everything is very well done and lovely. Our stay centered around cooking. We took four cooking classes with Guissepe and Carla, which were outstanding and so much fun. They are fantastic chefs and take so much pride in the ingredients they use and the way they present each dish. We learned so much! David also helped arrange afternoon tours, drivers, and anything else we needed. I am lucky enough to have traveled to many places, and Corte dei Papi is the only place that made me want to sign up for Trip Advisor and write a review. It was a memorable week that I will cherish forever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
730 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
801 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
390 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais Borgo San Pietro
Relais Borgo San Pietro
#15 of 24 in Cortona
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Via La Dogana 12 | Località Pergo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais La Corte Dei Papi is an original late 17 century family dwelling that has been lovingly restored to create a hotel that caters for our guests every wish. An oasis of tranquility and peace ideal for the discerning traveler who yearns for exquisite Tuscan food in an elegant, charming countryside residence. Situated between the beautiful hills that surround the famous historical town of Cortona made even more famous by the writer Frances Mayer in her book “Under the Tuscan Sun” The Relais La Corte Dei Papi provides its guests with classically stylish room and suites equipped with every amenity. The interior has been lovingly restored to its original splendor. Every room and suite is furnished with taste and discernment. The beautiful Spa Suites are dedicated to the balance and wellbeing of guests. A truly unique experience with every imaginable facility to enhance your relaxation, the spa comes to you in the privacy of your suite. The restaurant is housed in what was the originally the wine cellar of the house and it maintains the integrity of traditional Tuscan cooking. The kitchen recreates the delicate flavors of genuine Tuscan dishes with a modern twist. Every ingredient used in our kitchen is selected for its quality, freshness and flavor; this creates a special experience at every stage of your meal. Our Chef daily prepares everything fresh including, bread, pasta and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing