We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Magical Tuscan Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Corte dei Papi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
springfield, pa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Magical Tuscan Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were staying at nearby Casa Bacanella and drove past this beautifully manicured stone facade and decided to turn in to see what was there and we came upon the magical Relais La Corte dei Papi. The beautiful rustic buildings and the well manicured grounds gave a hint
to the pride and care put into this unique retreat in the rolling valley just outside the town of Cortona.
We went in to take a peak and were greeted by owner David Papi who could not have been more friendly and warm. So excited to see a beautiful dining room with the look and feel that you imagine only exists in movies, we made reservations for dinner that evening.
Everything about the meal was just perfect. The service was attentive without being intrusive,
the food was fresh with the simple Tuscan style that makes it so authentically delicious.
But what made this experience even more memorable was the very charm that David Papi exudes---a charm of genuine care about his guests and a pride he has in the beautiful retreat he has created.
If you're looking for a perfect blend of beauty, peace, convenience and a friendly and engaging host, give yourself a treat and book Relais La Corte dei Papi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandbridgeltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    35
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
91
367
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My daughter and I spent 6 days at La Corte dei Papi and attended four cooking classes via International Kitchens. David and the staff were all so friendly and delightful. Our suite in the original villa was lovely with a terrific shower. The grounds were gorgeous. Each meal prepared by Giuseppe and Carla was delicious and beautifully presented, their cooking classes were fun and informative - with the help of Gemma translating. I will honestly prepare many of the dishes we made. I loved having our afternoon excursions all planned, simply had to step outside to meet the driver each day. We were taken to Cortona, Montepuliciano, Pienza and Assisi. Each town unique. Loved exploring Rocco Maggiore in Assisi. If you are looking for a Tuscan experience I highly recommend this one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A great change of pace after an active few days in Roma. The rooms in the main building are charming and couldn't feel more authentic. The grounds are beautiful and feel spacious after time in the cities. Davide is the ever-present owner and has obvious pride in the business as well as the restaurant. The target market certainly seems to be wealthier travellers wanting to pay more for a premium experience. The main building has a number of good rooms at different price points. There is a beautiful new building with huge rooms that are finished very well.

The hotel is on a plot of land between a farmer's field and a road a few minutes drive' east of the Cortona townsite on the hill. There is a super market and a bar three minutes' walk east of the hotel. After trying the hotel's restaurant you should venture into Cortona itself. I'd suggest parking at one of the lots just outside the wall and then walk up to the piazza. Fufluns pizzeria just off the piazza is a great choice if you want to have a simple meal at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajero123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

As others have mentioned, the experience of staying in this beautiful place is very much down to owner, and wonderful host David. He could not have been more friendly and attentive, and really nothing was too much trouble throughout our 3 day stay. He really is quite a perfectionist!
The emphasis is on relaxing and indulging. The food is pricey (especially if, like we, you get carried away with the extensive wine list) however, it is like eating in a top London retaurant - but not as stuffy - so you get what you pay for.
Unfortunately the weather was not on our side during our trip but I can imagine how beautiful dining outside by the pool would be.
We would absolutely love to go back - and maybe stay in one of the new spa suites, which are quite something!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved our six night stay at La Corte dei Papi. We were there with our four month old daughter. The hotel is lovely with a great location close to Cortona, and the rooms are fabulous but what really makes the experience wonderful is David, the host and owner of the hotel. He went out of his way to accommodate our baby and helped us with reservations for dinner at restaurants throughout the Tuscan hill towns for each night of our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Corte dei Papi.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

our last two nights of a backroads cycling trip were spent here. Outstanding service, immaculate and over the top room, utterly incredible dinner. An absolute must if you area exploring Tuscany! The host Davide greeted us as warmly as if we were family, and treated us exceptionally well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Germaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Corte dei Papi for two nights in May 2013 and it was absolutely amazing. We were greeted by David Papi, whose family has owned this estate for centuries, and the grounds were gorgeous, and the rooms spacious and clean. We wished that we could've stayed longer. David was a wonderful host, very friendly and helpful. He worked tirelessly to make our experience special. We ate one night in the restaurant on the property and the food was delicious and the wine list was long and diverse. For sure order the pasta, and the chocolate dessert was to die for. The second night, we wanted casual so David suggested the local pizza restaurant which was a short taxi away. It was fabulous and full of local families enjoying a night out. Breakfast at Corte dei Papi consisted of fresh baked breads, yogurts, granola, cheeses, salamis, and fruit and of course lots and lots of cappuccino. The town of Cortona was a 5 minute car ride away and we loved walking the narrow cobble stone streets and ducking in and out of wine shops and cafes. Our bike ride from Corte dei Papi to Tuoro and back was challenging but gorgeous...I would do it again in a heartbeat. I can't wait to go back and visit David and stay in one of the new rooms...grazie mille David and staff for a wonderful beginning to our amazing biking and hiking trip through Tuscany!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
3.8 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
8.5 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#13 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
3.3 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Nucleo la Dogana 12, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the Tuscan countryside, just few minutes from Cortona, La Corte dei Papi is an oasis of peace and quiet, ideal for those who like to enjoy traditional local atmosphere. All rooms are each unique in decor with handmade antique furnishings and fine crafted linens. Our restaurant offers guests traditional Tuscan dishes alongside with more modern and elaborate culinary combinations. To add to atmosphere, during summer, guests can dine outside, around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing