We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stop for lunch”
Review of Antica Trattoria

Antica Trattoria
Ranked #47 of 100 Restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
catterick
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stop for lunch”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stopped here for lunch on a visit to Cortona. The food is fine without being exceptional. Lamb chops are very good, wild boar o.k. but not the best in Tuscany. The size of courses is enormous and could be a meal in themselves!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tweedsider09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best pasta I've ever had!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We got to Cortona at lunch time and my husband spotted this trattoria.
The place is very cozy and you can just steat there and people watch all day!
Our server was super nice and had a smile on his face the entire time.
But the biggest surprise was the pasta. Honestly the best I've ever had in my life and I've been to very nice Italian restaurants before. I ordered a truffled ravioli that was perfectly cooked and delicious! The entire place was perfumed with the truffle smell.
Deserves a visit! And Cortona was one of our favorite places in Tuscany! Worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montefollonico, Italy
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cheese Fondue with Truffles!!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A smal but goodl Restaurant in the famous Piazza in Cortona. We were in 5. We had between us a Pizza, Tagliata and the Fondue. All of the main dishes were very good. Their Mixed Salads were very good. We finished off with Vin Santo and Cantuccini. The restaurant itself is small. The Service was excellent and there was no long Wait till the food arrived.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waiter unhappy?”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Returning from a wine tour, we stopped by Cortona to take in a bit more if it's charm, a quick bite and gelato. We had a really huge six course lunch on a wine tour earlier in the day and just wanted a smaller evening bite. The piazza was not very busy - many open tables at this and an adjacent restaurant. Six of us, couple bottles of wine, couple appetizers and a couple pizzas to share. The waiter was not very friendly and appeared miffed that we didn't order more. Food and wine were very good, but just surprised as we were used to engaging and friendly wait staff wherever we went - especially in the more rural areas. Would otherwise give a better rating, but left a bit disappointed in the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Service, Fair Price”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate at Antica Trattoria on the advice of a local whom we had met. We ended up having lunch the two days days we were in Cortona.

The location is excellent; on Piazza Signorelli. While the patio location was great for people watching, it was less busy than the nearby Piazza della Republica and therefore, from our perspective, a more pleasant dining experience.

The service was excellent; efficient and friendly.

The two lunches we had were excellent. Especially delicious was the grilled lamb, cooked to perfection; succulent with a nicely charred exterior.

We had planned to have dinner at Antica Trattoria, but were unable to find a free night during our stay in the area. Definitely worth a visit on our next stay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Antica Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing