We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Good Service, Fair Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antica Trattoria

Antica Trattoria
Ranked #45 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Service, Fair Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate at Antica Trattoria on the advice of a local whom we had met. We ended up having lunch the two days days we were in Cortona.

The location is excellent; on Piazza Signorelli. While the patio location was great for people watching, it was less busy than the nearby Piazza della Republica and therefore, from our perspective, a more pleasant dining experience.

The service was excellent; efficient and friendly.

The two lunches we had were excellent. Especially delicious was the grilled lamb, cooked to perfection; succulent with a nicely charred exterior.

We had planned to have dinner at Antica Trattoria, but were unable to find a free night during our stay in the area. Definitely worth a visit on our next stay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    47
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Cinghiale dish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visit every time we are in Cortona. The food is simple but tasty, not too expensive and no arrogance in the service. My daughter had a lovely ravioli dish filled with potato and asparagus whilst we had tagliatelle with wild boar sauce. It was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulesmoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“meat-lovers delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My first experience with wild boar chops (Cinghiale) and my wife had the lamb chops. Both were truly excellent! The roasted potatoes were some of the best potatoes I've ever had. House rosso wine was very good. Saw a LOT of to-go pizzas leaving: they must be good, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simple and very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed a simple lunch, pizza and a salad. The pizza with mushrooms was great. The best we have had in Italy. The salad was fresh. On the square in Cortona, this is a good spot for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrtasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
345 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“This was a nice experience eating a steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a nice small trettoria in Cortona . we tried the steak the chicken and the salad. all of them was good Plus. all i can do is recommend on this place. you are going to enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peretzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Antica Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing