We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
93
50
9
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
50
9
5
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 158 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2015

The place si probably a renovated convent or pilgrim rest place; it is conveniently located just a few hundred metres away from the city centre, and offers free guest parking - somewhat rare in old medieval towns where space is a premium.
The place is immaculate and has recently been renovated. Rooms are big, and in at least some cases offer a great view on the Valdichiana - my room did. Wifi is available for a small fee.
The place was super-quiet although it could be due to me being there off-season.
The place is a bit lacking in terms of extra services, but if all you need is a clean, spacious room and a reasonable breakfast, then this guest house is an excellent choice.
It is officially rated at one-star, but the rooms are thee-star-superior quality.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imkinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Two friends and I spent three nights at Villa Santa Margherita. It appears to have been recently renovated. The bathrooms are extremely clean as are the bedrooms. It was just what we were looking for. Quiet, with everything we needed to sleep comfortably. Not luxury,and doesn't look like much from the outside but excellent value for money. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful. It is conveniently situate, but I would suggest getting a taxi from the train station. We took the bus and it wasn't a comfortable walk from the bus stop to the villa with luggage! I would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Cat0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I have enjoyed a lot the hospitality of Suore Servi di Maria Riparatrici sisters. They run a nice villa, at five minutes walk outside the old town, with simple but comfortable rooms. Parking is included, which is hard to find in the old Cortona city. Their breakfast is very basic but hearty; coffee is not available.

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Robby_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

You get to the top by Car where you see this huge Holy Place. Its also a good place to park your car and walk down to Cortona. It takes around 30 minutes and you get to know Cortona thoroughly passing the University of Georgia's Faculty of Art.
You also have a fantastic view of Lake Trasimeno and surrounding Villages. ,
.
'

1  Thank nazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

when we booked this hotel we didn't know it was ex convent. It is maybe bit old fashion, but room was big, nice and clean. Only minus is that there's no aircondition.
the convent atmosphere of the place is strong - at breakfast even our kids were sitting calm and eating!
NB. we're not religious, but the place was giving you some calm and peace... needed for the someone who is stressed year around.

Room tip: in the summer ask for the room that does not get much sunlight, so it keeps fresh whole day long
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klik168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews