We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marco is sure a character!”
Review of Molesini

Molesini
Ranked #36 of 102 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Marco is sure a character!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We loved the wine tasting and the narrative of the wines by owner Marco. First we smell together and then we drink together was our group's motto after Marco let us taste his Chianti and Brunello wines. Thank you Marco for the lovely visit to your shop and making Cortona a favorite part of the world for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 50mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    19
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service Beyond the Norm”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

While in Cortona for a week, our host recommended a tasting at Molesini. We were not very sophisticated about wines in general and reds specifically. Marco was quite informative without being condescending and shared his love of wine with humor. When finished we wanted to purchase some wine and asked if there was a grocery nearby to purchase pasta and other necessities for a dinner that evening. As the hour was past 13:30 the stores were closed for several hours but, with a gleam in his eye, he said he had a key to "Mama's" store across the square. He opened the store and picked out what we needed for the ten of us which turned out to be the best meal we had in our two weeks in Italy! Marco is a remarkable man who managed to help make our trip memorable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cschaeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb and incredible knowledge.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have been a customer of Marco for a few years now. He has shipped wines to my home in Holland without a glitch. Fantastic service and impressed by his deep understanding of Italian wines. I have followed all of his recommendations blindly, without regret. Recently Marco organised and joined us on a wine tasting trip to Barolo. Not only impressed by who he knows and what doors opened for us, he is also a fantastic person to have around. Thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Italianwines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The place to go for wine purchases”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Marco and his brother Paolo are the experts on Tuscan wines in Cortona. They have an amazing selection which you can ship back to where ever you live all over the world.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tuxedoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wine tasting and dinner”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The wine tasting was well done and there were plenty of varieties from which to choose. The dinner however was terrible (45 euros each). I am not sure if the chef was experimenting with new recipes but each course got worse. It started with standing in line for fried cheese balls. After that we were herded into the restaurant for the meal. The pate was mushy and tasteless; the soup was served in basically a shot glass - we weren't sure of the ingredients - it was mealy and salty. We ended up leaving when the main course of unidentifiable stuffed ravioli was served. The presentation was nice but the ravioli was stuffed with something gross and foul tasting. After telling our wait staff of our disappointment the 7 of us left and got gelato nearby. The service was great. I wish I could say the same for the meal which was horribly overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Loridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molesini also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Molesini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing