We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful escape!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I had the privilege of staying there several weeks back. We loved every minute of it. From our arrival, to the moment we left, we felt welcomed and like family!! The staff are friendly and more than accommodating. We took part in the cooking school and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The chef, Richard, was a true delight and we came away confident we could cook many Tuscan inspired dishes for family and friends.

If you get the chance, I would thoroughly recommend staying here!!

I can hardly wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterflymom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 502 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at Il Falconiere for 4 nights. We truly enjoyed the property and the staff. They have a great spa which we used daily. As honeymooners, they welcomed us with a bottle of their sparkling wine and gave us a wine bath when we purchased a massage. The wine bath was a very cool addition to the spa.

The rooms are a bit outdated and noisy for the price.

The restaurant is outstanding, however if you don't want a 5 star meal you have no other option. After a long day of touring we really wanted a simple dinner and that is not possible at the hotel. If you like having a 5 star dinner every night, Il Falconiere is the place for you. If you want to have both options I would suggest staying at other hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Frou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Located at a 10 min drive from Cortona in the middle of vineyards, Il Falconiere has a nice view on the country and is very quiet. We had classic rooms at the top of a refurbished old building. The room are nice but the bathroom has only a small shower and is not at the level of a Relais et Chateaux. Other issue for connected people, the wifi doesn't work in the room and you have to go to the restaurant or close to the reception. The explanation is that the walls are too thick, they should learn what a relay is. The elevator is a bit noisy but it doesn't move much.
The personnel is friendly and is accommodating nicely your requests. We asked to put the table under the trees for lunch and we even brought part of the lunch from outside, it didn't raise any issue.
We had dinner at the Michelin one star restaurant and had the vegetarian menu. It was good, served timely and the wine list shows a good variety of Tuscanese and Italian wines at various prices.
The swimming pool was not heated and a bit cold but big enough. Apparently no specific service at the pool.
In summary, the location deserves a five star but I put only four for the room which would maybe need a bit improved (wifi again, bathroom and room tided up only at 3pm in the afternoon). A nice place anyway.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Thierry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We happily returned back to this Relais Chateau where a genuine Italian hospitality joined to top service is offered by the Baracchi family. The location of this establishment lies in the val di Loreto countryside near Cortona. In a relaxed atmosphere one can enjoy great views of meadow, olive trees, vineyards and farms. Il Falconiere itself produces a few refined wines, magnificent olive oil and pecorino cheese. The restaurant is not to be missed (but see).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianpaolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Gianpaolo,
La ringrazio per i sui commenti sulla nostra casa, infatti sento il mio hotel come una casa da condividere con i miei ospiti. Spero di averla ancora presto quì da noi!
A presto
Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed in July 2013 and cannot speak too highly of our experience. Our room was spacious and well appointed, the food was fantastic (breakfast was lovely, dinner was exceptional) and the wine was excellent. The staff was welcoming and accommodating - very friendly. We stayed for four nights, and very much look forward to going back. Thank you Sylvia for making our stay everything we hoped for and more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BP12568978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

My dear Guest,
Thank you for your beautiful review, I love a lot the comment about my house, I hope to have the possibility in the next future to welcome you again, sharing a good glass of wine, a toast to the good life and relaxing vacations!
Un saluto da Cortona
Silvia Baracchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My fiance and I and our dear friend stumbled onto Il Falconiere while driving around Cortona searching for wedding locations. Unfortunately, it was out of our price range, but we decided to spend the night. We got a suite and spent a blissful day and night lounging around the pool, drinking wine and cocktails, and enjoying our beautiful room. The location was ideal for us (not in old Cortona, but a few minutes drive up the hill), and the grounds with adjacent vineyard, the room, bathroom, spa, everything!! was perfect. Staff was wonderful and I have since recommended it to all who pass through Cortona. It was dreamy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Island_Hopper_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Hisland-Ho,
I’m very happy to when I’m able to change a dream in reality!
I hope you come soon again to visit us, and I will be happy to reserve a special treatment for you.
A presto, a Cortona
Silvia Baracchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Relais Il Falconiere in May and then in October of 2013, each time for 3 nights. On the first visit we were so taken with the views of the Valdichiana and Cortona and our senses so overwhelmed that we needed a second visit to taste it more slowly. On neither occasion did we stay in the main house as we enjoyed the walking and feeling of having our own mini-villa. Highlights included the food in the restaurant - Silvia Baracchi was ever present and delightfully charming. The wine tasting hosted by Ricardo was fascinating and amusing. It was a special treat to meet others there and when you get to a special place like this, there are just a couple degrees of separation. We enjoyed the vigorous walk up the Cortona hillside. We will return, although the setting is so magical, we fear it is like Brigadoon and may only appear every so often in the Tuscan mist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a modern bathroom - the rooms vary a lot but this exists
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cashnickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Mr Scashnick,
thank you very much for your beautiful review, I hope to see again in my hotel very soon! Guests like you are absolutely adorable!
Greetings Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
745 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Cortona
427 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
397 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Falconiere & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Falconiere & Spa

Address: Case Sparse San Martino Bocena 370, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: $228 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Il Falconiere & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical Tuscan villa which dates back to the 17th century was the home of the famous poet Antonio Guadagnoli. Now completely restored and transformed into a countryside Relais, it is part of the prestigious chain Relais & Châteaux, which exuberates the art of hospitality.In the restaurant, in the kitchen, at the reception, dedicated to taking care of the needs of our guests ,we are proud to offer everyday our availability and our specialties, improving them continuously. The art of refining quality is achieved by caring about details that make a difference.An ideal setting for those who love the beauty of the countryside, the atmosphere of the Relais is quaint with characteristic old-fashioned Tuscan charm. The twenty-two rooms are elegantly furnished-each unique in color and décor and reflecting the classic, refined style of important Tuscan homes. A few rooms are in the antique villa, some attached to the villa’s chapel and others in the cottage. All share the view of the magical landscape of the Cortonese countryside and are fully furbished with every modern comfort.La THESAN ETRUSCAN SPA has the goal of reawakening all of your senses through the harmony of the environment and the flavours and tastes of Tuscany.The Etruscan Thesan Spa guides you to discover the true relaxation, with a unique and unrepeatable involving all five senses. A wellness Trail where the two basic elements - water and heat - are skilfully combined with lights, sounds and colours therapeutic to optimize the relaxation. Exclusive for Officina Profumo Santa Maria Novella of Florence. Behind each of our actions is the desire to spark an unforgettable emotion: a recipe with delicate and persistent aromas, a special and rare decoration, the vistas leaving you breathless and astonished, the warm welcome that makes you feel as though you belong.. all of this will take you to the primordial feelings of pleasure. Staying with us will leave you with everlasting memories.The restaurant is on two floors with a glass and wrought-iron conservatory, overlooking the outside dining terrace with its ancient fishpond and rose-clad pergola. The cooking, which is personally supervised by Silvia, with the help of the head Chef Richard Titi, has succeeded in creating new temptations, using original and traditional recipes to create a marvelous cuisineaccompanied by great wines. “Il Falconiere” is situated in a quiet, elevated, rural location amid vineyards and olive groves. It enjoys enviable views of the Val di Chiana to the west, and Cortona, the ancient Etruscan hill town just three kilometers to the south. The Relais is ideally located for short trips to some of the most famous art cities of central Italy, such as Arezzo, Perugia, Siena, Florence and Assisi, all within in an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Il Falconiere & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Falconiere Cortona
Relais Il Falconiere Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing