We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Return Family Visit”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Woodland1...
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Return Family Visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We visited Il Villino di Cortona in August 2013 and couldn't wait to return to the house and the area. We stayed again for 2 weeks in August 2015 and the villa was just the same with some great improvements of outdoor rattan furniture to sit and relax in on a night. Michele, the owner is so attentive without being intrusive and is always contactable by text. Unlike other holiday rentals you are provided with all the extras (dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls, washing liquid etc) and then some mornings you wake up to baskets of juice, pastries and wine with leaflets on the local area. Such a lovely touch.
The only very TINY negative points are, the depth and lovely large size of the pool means that it's temperature can stay cool and there are days when you wish it was heated. The wi-fi is very slow compared to UK broadband and did frustrate the children (however it meant they read a lot more rather than being attached to technology which is never a bad thing!). The only English satellite TV channels were two news channels as all the rest were mainland Europe.
Suggested improvements would be, an additional freezer in the room where the washer is kept as the fridge freezer is very small, some plastic wine glasses (and a wine cooler!) and plastic normal glasses to use outside.
We love the fact that you can easily drive to Camucia station and catch the train into Florence (1hr 20mins) so we spent a night there. Pisa was only 2hr drive, Perugia is 30mins and lovely, Castiglion del Largo is stunning and only 20mins drive and Cortona is 10mins away. You will never run out of places to visit. We would definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outside space
Liked least: The wifi was slow compared to UK
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
Gent.mo Andrew and Rachel,

for us there is no better satisfaction than seeing a guest return.
Your family has been, is and will always be welcome.
I thank you for having chosen yet.
I thank you for the many beautiful pictures of your holiday.
I thank you for the best advice, which will allow us to improve.
Thank you.
I hope to see still your wonderful Family in Cortona (Michele)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Michele's friendly nature and everything else
Liked least: Nothing in particular
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnnieCara...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best family holiday!”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

My family and I stayed for a week in August.
We had the most fantastic time and totally fell in love with Tuscany.

Great base to travel and explore,definitely need a car to do so.

The Villa itself had everything we needed and more. Our children wanted to stay in the pool every day(&evening) so I think that sums up how much they loved the villa.

Michelle-well what can I say? He was the most gracious and kindest of hosts and we felt thoroughly looked after. The attention to detail and gifts left on the outside dining table were so kind and very much appreciated.

Unfortunately we left it too late to book for this year but will be booking for next year.

Thank you so much for a truly magical Tuscan experience.
☺️
The Eardley Family

Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeKelly...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and can only repeat the glowing reviews of the refurbished farmhouse, the lovely pool and the setting in a large garden on the edge of the hamlet of San Lorenzo next to a small racehorse stable and with views of the rolling countryside but only a few minutes from good road and rail connections to most of the places you would want to visit in Tuscany and Umbria.

Michele is a fantastic host and really works hard to make your visit special. We were sad to leave and would love to go back again.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2014
Dear Mike,
I enjoyed your review.
I'm so happy to read that our "engagement" is recognized;
I and my family have decided to host people (now 4 years) as our hobby summer.
I hope that in the coming years will spend a few more days to Cortona.
Our small Etruscan town is nice both in summer and winter.
See you soon ....
(Michele)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmb15...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday home”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a great two weeks at Il Villinio and loved every moment. The location is a great base for exploring both Tuscany and parts of Umbria.
The owner, Michele, was extremely helpful and we were grateful for the gifts and flowers he left after his morning visits.
The villa is a home from home and very well equipped. The garden and terraces provide plenty of space to soak up the sun or to have shade and the pool is a real bonus. The main bedroom and bathroom are very spacious.
Most basics are provided from BBQ fuel to soaps, shampoo and toiletries so you can just sit back, enjoy and relax
The whole experience exceeded our high expectations!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Dear Jim and Marian,

Thank you very much for your stay here and for your patience.
I hope to see again in Cortona next years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pretty much a self catering hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just got back from staying at this villa and it was all we had hoped and read about.

Michele, the owner, is very attentive and comes by every other day to clean the pool and leaves gifts of wine, pastries, flowers etc. You won't hear him and he doesn't disturb you. A full clean and sheet change on the middle Saturday was a little early but we took the opportunity to visit Cortona while it was done.

The accomodation itself is exactly as you see it on the website and in the images. The master bedroom is large with plenty of storage and the air con is great to have. The ensuite bathroom is also a good size. The second bedroom is a more compact but perfect for children and another ensuite is welcome.

The living room is a little tight with as it has a table that seats 6, a sofabed and other furniture. The kitchen had everything we needed and the dishwasher saved on the washing up. Things that we would normally have had to buy were available to use, things like washing up liquid, napkins, dishwasher tablets etc. This was mirrored throughout the house as loo rolls, shower gel, shampoo, toothbrushes, shaving kits etc were also available. Lovely toweling robes were provided with slippers for a great touch of class.

Outside there is loads of room considering the accomodation is designed for 4. There are various seating areas and plenty of good quality sunbeds. Pool towels are also provided and ther are plenty of enflatables to keep the kids happy.

The location would be the only thing that marks this down as the neighboors have horses that are tended to by various people who come and go on scooters etc. It can be a little noisy but it's never at night. It's ideally placed for the main road and that can also be heard from the apartment. We got used to the rumble of traffic and it doesn't really detract from the accomodation on the whole. There are a number of supermarkets in close proximity in Camucia and Valdichiana outlet place is not far.

We had some interesting visitors of a frog in the pool, big toads and even a scorpion (not poisinous in Europe I think!) Lot sof butterflies and hawk moths around the flowers. We did have some run ins with a few mosquitos but no more than any other country.

All in all it met all our needs and certainly lived up to the expectations.

Minor point that could be changed, the checkout at 09:00 is a bit early....10:00 would be more reasonable. Whilst we loved the wine, pastries etc there was too much for us to eat drink ;0)

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janevert
Bovenkarspel, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect house , nice location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Everything was as it should be ; house , garden ,swimming pool, privacy,
price/quality,beautifull Tuscany and of course the perfect service!

Jan Evert and Lucienne (and 2 visiting friends)

Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing