We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great property for seeing Tuscany”
other travelers have booked this property
Front Entrance La Colonica
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Entrance La Colonica
Living Room La Colonica Living Room - facing the garden - La Colonica
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Front Entrance La Colonica
Living Room La Colonica
Living Room - facing the garden - La Colonica
Living Room with log-burning fireplace - but there is also AC
Bedroom: Four Poster bed La Colonica
Four Poster bed La Colonica
This bedroom can be Twin or Double
This Bedroom can be Double or Twin
Dining La Colonica
Kitchen La Colonica
Bathroom: La Colonica has 2 bathrooms and 1 half-bath
View from Dining Patio
Dining Patio
Front Garden La Colonica
Secret Garden La Colonica
Front Garden La Colonica
Sculpture Garden La Colonica
Garden
Garden
On the way to Cortona ...
Cortona is minutes away
Siena - a short drive through beautiful countryside
Explore San Gimignano and Chianti region
Assisi - a lovely drive passing Lake Trasimeno, Perugia, poppies
Florence is 1 hour away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gwyn1997
Ystrad Mynach, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great property for seeing Tuscany”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

La Colonica was perfect from the start, beautiful gardens, great rooms and a wonderful host. Everything you would want was available with one of the best equipped kitchens we have stayed in. Cesare has even thought of mosquito screens for the windows great for someone who suffers from mosquito bites.

The location is perfect for touring Tuscany, we even popped into Umbria and Lazio. Cesare and David are always available to recommend places to see and to help with organising anything you need. The location is great with sunshine basking the house all day, but with plenty of areas to sit in the shade if preferred.

Would we stay again, already thinking of dates for next year :-)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnneChest...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A very memorable holiday”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks at the end of September/beginning of October this year and we had the most wonderful time. Everything about La Colonica is just as described on the website - only better!

Booking on the web was easy and responses from the owners were very swift and reassuring. La Colonica is on the edge of a tiny, picturesque village called Marciano della Chiana which has a wonderful butchers and a couple of bars one of which, the Vivian Bar, is just a few yards down the road and has the most fantastic homemade ice cream. There are two little grocery shops and there is also a small bakery, restaurant and pizzeria. So it is great for both self catering and eating out. There is also another fantastic family run bakery in Cesa a few minutes drive away and a large Co-op in Monte San Savino near where you exit the A1.

La Colonica is set in the most beautiful olive grove and has lovely views towards the mountains and Cortona which is about a 30 minute drive away. The house is very well equipped with everything you could possibly want and all commodities are very generously provided. Even the knives are sharp! There is enough crockery, glasses etc for far more than 4 people. There are plenty of books and DvDs ,maps, pamplets and sat nav plus mobile phone are also provided. An insulated rucksack for picnics (including plastic plates and glasses) is in the utility room along with a large airer for drying clothes. There is also a small line outside. It really is the best equipped holiday home we have ever stayed in and has ample drawers and hanging space with enough hangers even for me - and I do not travel light!

David and Cesare, the owners, are very friendly and helpful without being in the least bit intrusive. David is English and has a wealth of information and very interesting stories to tell about the area. La Colonica is very conveniently situated for touring Tuscany and detailed itineraries for both full and half day trips from the property are readily available. We visited Montepulciano, Montalcino, Montisi, Cortona and drove around Lake Trasimeno and visited lots of other tiny hilltop villages and local markets. We went on the train to Florence from the little station at Castiglio Florentino about a 20 minute drive away. David had offered to book advance tickets for us for the attractions but we preferred to just wander around for this our first trip to both Florence and Italy itself. We had a wonderful lunch at Il Goccino in Lucignano and sat on the sunny, but shaded terrace, drinking in the views whilst enjoying the delicious food. We could have done a lot more but preferred some days not to go out and just relaxed in the lovely gardens there.

We had a couple of cold evenings and lit the log fire which soon had us warm and cosy. Logs are provided free and are replenished as necessary. Anna, the housekeeper, kept us well supplied with clean towels and tea towels every three days and the bedsheets were changed after a week. Fresh flowers were left on the dining table and we were also supplied with walnuts and pomegranates from the garden.

We really cannot fault La Colonica and have no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeB658...
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable!”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

La Colonica was home away from home! Every thing you could possibily want was here! Our private baths were beautiful and the showers were terrific, our bedrooms were large,and the beds were large and comfortable. The kitchen, dining and living rooms along with the grounds were beautiful! We walked into town, 5 minutes away for gelato and awesome pictures. A large grocery store for food and wine was a 5 minute drive away. Thank you to our wonderful hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whatever we needed was there.
Liked least: Length of stay.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Chappell Hill, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Colonica for 2 weeks, starting in late September 2014. We have traveled in Italy often since 2000, and would put this beautiful cottage home/gardens at the top of our list. Cesare and David are the perfect hosts...easy to work with, extremely helpful in every way, and have a very high standard of excellence in the properties they rent. The home itself truly feels like a home away from home. It has been restored in the true Tuscan style, with terra cotta floors and beamed ceilings. The gardens are magnificent, and very relaxing, and the kitchen has everything you need, should you choose to cook meals there. It is perfect for a family of 4 or 2 couples traveling together, as there is a split bedroom floor plan with bathrooms in suite.
Marciano della Chiana is a charming little village. We enjoyed gelato and cappacinos at Vienne's, pizza at Angelita's and Barbara's place, and a wonderful, fun dinner with Massimo at Vecchio Rocco's. Marciano is the perfect home base for exploring all that Tuscany has to offer.
Thank you to Cesare and David for providing a truly beautiful stay in magical Italia!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshLoui...
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2012

Staying at La Colonica was the best decision that we made in the three weeks of traveling that we did in Tuscany and Umbria. The cottage that David and Casare rent was perfect for us: great bed, impeccable linens, spotlessly maintained, beautiful garden (herbs, roses, etc.) with Cortona in the distance. We enjoyed the fireplace on cool evenings. Although they were gone part of the time we visited, David and Casare provided fantastic support for any minor problems we encountered. After a minor wireless issue, David phoned (from London) his local geek who resolved the issue immediately. The loan of the GPS and cell phone were much appreciated as was David's detailed and efficient introduction to the cottage (esp. the appliances), the local area, and tours further afield. Given how centrally located the cottage is and how wonderfully it is run--including wonderful Anna, who repeatedly hung up our clothes for us and helped with
domestic issues--we hope to return here asap. There is a good reason La Colonica is booked so far ahead: it's beautiful, the owners are exceptionally helpful and thoughtful, and the situation is Edenic. We hated to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tips that the owners provided on everything from museums, to restaurants, to historic sites
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious and stylish retreat in Tuscany”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Surrounded by beautiful countryside, this house offers understated elegance in a Tuscan style, providing a spacious and stylish retreat for a peaceful holiday. Meticulous attention to detail, ranging from a warm welcome, to the beautiful gardens, the spacious but cosy well equipped cottage with a design that is easy to relax in makes it an ideal holiday retreat. The open plan living area comprises of a well equipped kitchen and an air conditioned lounge diner opening onto a patio area and garden offering an opportunity to dine outside. The two air conditioned double bedrooms with views to the gardens are elegantly furnished and both offer ensuite facilities. Having returned to the house on many occasions and at different times of the year, the warm and friendly welcome of the hosts, and their unselfish generosity to share their beautiful home set in the stunning Tuscan countryside persuades us to return again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing