We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memorable!”
other travelers have booked this property
Front Entrance La Colonica
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Entrance La Colonica
Living Room La Colonica Living Room - facing the garden - La Colonica
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Front Entrance La Colonica
Living Room La Colonica
Living Room - facing the garden - La Colonica
Living Room with log-burning fireplace - but there is also AC
Bedroom: Four Poster bed La Colonica
Four Poster bed La Colonica
This bedroom can be Twin or Double
This Bedroom can be Double or Twin
Dining La Colonica
Kitchen La Colonica
Bathroom: La Colonica has 2 bathrooms and 1 half-bath
View from Dining Patio
Dining Patio
Front Garden La Colonica
Secret Garden La Colonica
Front Garden La Colonica
Sculpture Garden La Colonica
Garden
Garden
On the way to Cortona ...
Cortona is minutes away
Siena - a short drive through beautiful countryside
Explore San Gimignano and Chianti region
Assisi - a lovely drive passing Lake Trasimeno, Perugia, poppies
Florence is 1 hour away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DianeB658...
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable!”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

La Colonica was home away from home! Every thing you could possibily want was here! Our private baths were beautiful and the showers were terrific, our bedrooms were large,and the beds were large and comfortable. The kitchen, dining and living rooms along with the grounds were beautiful! We walked into town, 5 minutes away for gelato and awesome pictures. A large grocery store for food and wine was a 5 minute drive away. Thank you to our wonderful hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whatever we needed was there.
Liked least: Length of stay.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Chappell Hill, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Colonica for 2 weeks, starting in late September 2014. We have traveled in Italy often since 2000, and would put this beautiful cottage home/gardens at the top of our list. Cesare and David are the perfect hosts...easy to work with, extremely helpful in every way, and have a very high standard of excellence in the properties they rent. The home itself truly feels like a home away from home. It has been restored in the true Tuscan style, with terra cotta floors and beamed ceilings. The gardens are magnificent, and very relaxing, and the kitchen has everything you need, should you choose to cook meals there. It is perfect for a family of 4 or 2 couples traveling together, as there is a split bedroom floor plan with bathrooms in suite.
Marciano della Chiana is a charming little village. We enjoyed gelato and cappacinos at Vienne's, pizza at Angelita's and Barbara's place, and a wonderful, fun dinner with Massimo at Vecchio Rocco's. Marciano is the perfect home base for exploring all that Tuscany has to offer.
Thank you to Cesare and David for providing a truly beautiful stay in magical Italia!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshLoui...
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2012

Staying at La Colonica was the best decision that we made in the three weeks of traveling that we did in Tuscany and Umbria. The cottage that David and Casare rent was perfect for us: great bed, impeccable linens, spotlessly maintained, beautiful garden (herbs, roses, etc.) with Cortona in the distance. We enjoyed the fireplace on cool evenings. Although they were gone part of the time we visited, David and Casare provided fantastic support for any minor problems we encountered. After a minor wireless issue, David phoned (from London) his local geek who resolved the issue immediately. The loan of the GPS and cell phone were much appreciated as was David's detailed and efficient introduction to the cottage (esp. the appliances), the local area, and tours further afield. Given how centrally located the cottage is and how wonderfully it is run--including wonderful Anna, who repeatedly hung up our clothes for us and helped with
domestic issues--we hope to return here asap. There is a good reason La Colonica is booked so far ahead: it's beautiful, the owners are exceptionally helpful and thoughtful, and the situation is Edenic. We hated to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tips that the owners provided on everything from museums, to restaurants, to historic sites
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spacious and stylish retreat in Tuscany”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Surrounded by beautiful countryside, this house offers understated elegance in a Tuscan style, providing a spacious and stylish retreat for a peaceful holiday. Meticulous attention to detail, ranging from a warm welcome, to the beautiful gardens, the spacious but cosy well equipped cottage with a design that is easy to relax in makes it an ideal holiday retreat. The open plan living area comprises of a well equipped kitchen and an air conditioned lounge diner opening onto a patio area and garden offering an opportunity to dine outside. The two air conditioned double bedrooms with views to the gardens are elegantly furnished and both offer ensuite facilities. Having returned to the house on many occasions and at different times of the year, the warm and friendly welcome of the hosts, and their unselfish generosity to share their beautiful home set in the stunning Tuscan countryside persuades us to return again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewed August 30, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: saying goodbye
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bethesda, MD
Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful staff
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donna R
Sedona, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We can't wait to return!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I will admit it...I actually cried when we had to leave La Colonica. My husband and I were fortunate to have the opportunity to stay there for 5 weeks from mid-August thru the end of September. Every day in Marciano was a joy. Cesare and David were perfect hosts and attended to our every need. NOTHING was too big a request for them. David even found an English speaking tennis pro nearby so that I could play while in Italy and when David left the house for a few days, he gave us a cell phone so that we could call him directly if we needed anything!

The dogs, Rocco and Flint, were always available for pets. Anna, the housekeeper, made sure that our linens and towels were changed regularly and even took our laundry off the clothes line when we were out and rain threatened. Claudio, the gardener, brought us little treats of nuts and fruit from the garden and kept the property as pristine outside as the house was inside. The town of Marciano was beautiful; we loved our dinners at Osteria Vechia Rota as well as the great pizza at the local pizzaria.

We have travelled to Italy many times before and we wanted to stay close to "home" on this trip. The quaint towns near Marciano provided plenty to do and we loved Lucignano, its amazing tiny museum, the lovely cooking classes we took at La Magiolata and the excellent wines at the enoteca. In Cortona, the pici alla carbonara at La Locanda del Loggiato was the best I've ever had.

Some days we spent just relaxing in the beautiful garden, reading on the swing. Most evenings, we ate our dinner under the stars, drank the local wines and watched the moon rise.

Travelling by car or train from La Colonica was very easy. The Autostrada was minutes from the house and it took only 15 minutes to get to the main train line in Castaglion Fiorentino. It's an easy train ride to Florence as well as Perugia...don't miss this city! Montepulciano, Siena, Pienza and Arrezo are all close to La Colonica and make great day car trips. We drove to Deruta which is known for it's ceramics... great quality and reasonable prices! Also, the itineraries that David and Cesare provide are all wonderful,especially the four magical villages!

We loved La Colonica so much that we have already contacted Cesare and David to schedule our next trip. Can't wait until 2013!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Do I have to pick???
Liked least: Saying good-bye.....
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing