We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We made Cortona our destination during the middle of our trip to Italy. We knew it wouldn't be as hectic as Rome or Florence, and welcomed the downtime. Hotel San Michele was recommended to us, and we are ever so glad! It was a wonderful stay. We upgraded our room to a spacious suite that had a wonderful view from the private terrace. It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was what we came to expect from other hotels in Italy. Everything was fresh and hot... selection was great. We were able to walk everywhere within minutes of leaving the hotel. Cortona may be small, but there is a lot to see and do. The staff at Hotel San Michele was helpful in telling us where we might want to dine, or things we would like to see. They even knew the hours of the museum and other sights. As another reviewer noted earlier, we also parked outside the wall and walked up to the hotel. It is quite a hike, but it is a lot easier when you leave... :) We will be recommending this hotel to friends and family that will be traveling to Cortona.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    126
    47
    6
    9
See reviews for
64
231
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We booked this Hotel based online reviews. It is a nice location in the old town, with ( very expensive!) parking. The hotel did not reply to our request for a parking space, so we did not find out until we got there whether we had one or not. Our room was very, very basic, even though we paid extra for an upgrade to superior . There was a bed, a dresser, a small TV mounted high on the wall. Also absolutely no view. When we inquired at the front desk the next morning,for the price of a better room, we were told they could not give us a price as the rooms were booked. The not very friendly woman at the desk also said we should have called the hotel directly before booking for a better room.She said she could not even tell us the price for a suite as the price would change according to when it was booked.In other words we were given the worst room we have had anywhere here in Italy, at premium price, apparently because we did not book directly with the hotel. The bathroom had a minuscule shower, and very basic amenities: two tiny bars of soap and two shower caps. In our opinion nowhere near a four star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

It is a good hotel for a little old town. But the rooms is not too fresh, and the bathroom are outdated. Location excellent. Helpful hotel personnel, especially Dragazh? (yugoslav, who parked our car and brought heavy luggage and generally helped us in every possible way and advise). Magnificent view from the terrace of our suite.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The Hotel San Michele was one of the best choices we made during our July vacation in Italy. The hotel is very charming, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, the breakfast is very good and very friendly staff! Another point of emphasis is the location: perfect for exploring the city on foot and return to the hotel to rest or leave the shop!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Very fine and stylish hotel in a converted medieval mansion. But everything is modern, top-notch and very satisfactory. Had a fine, though not very large room with good beds, very quiet, excellent bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Good A/C. Excellent buffet breakfast which could be had in an interior garden, - very nice, indeed. But as a traveller from northern Europe I'll never understand why such a high-standard hotel doesn't liven up the breakfast table with some fresh tomatoes and green salad leaves etc. Centrally located for everything of interest in Cortona. We used the free parking outside the city wall at Porta Sant'Agostina, which meant quite a steep and heavy climb up to the hotel. I guess it would've been possible to drive up to the hotel entrance to unload the luggage, though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed at San Michele for four nights. The hotel staff was outstanding and went out of their way to accommodate us. The rooms are typically small but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and included scrambled eggs, meats, pastries and cappuccino.
The location is outstanding for both exploring Cortona and the surrounding areas of Tuscany. It is a two minute walk to the central plaza of Cortona and all the shops and restaurants. The garage was right next door to the hotel for the days we went out to Siena and the surrounding wine country.
We highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Excallent vacation! Intimate, charming and romantic hotel, tasty breakfast.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kryga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
803 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 24 in Cortona
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
378 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.3 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument by The Italian Ministry of Art and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites some of them with a private balcony with a view, all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. You can also taste a Tuscan aperitif at the Bar dell'Accademia on the first floor. On request: "La Torretta" a relax area with a 360° view and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing