We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Great Guana Cay
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We continue to be impressed by this hotel. In the very center of the city but very accessible by car. Parking available in the center of a hill town which is rare. Helpful attentive staff. Good breakfast which includes eggs. Our room this time was large, one of the nicer ones we have had there over 12 years. Nice large bathroom. Very clean as always. Wifi worked in the room which is often not the case due to the thick walls of the old buildings. If your trip includes Cortona, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guanacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Direttore at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment . It is always a pleasure for us to meet again with our guests, especially when they notice the improvements that we always try to do to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you again. I hope to have you back here next time!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    124
    47
    6
    9
See reviews for
62
228
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan - Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Loved this hotel and it's helpful staff. Good sized room and bath. Free wifi that actually works. Very good breakfast in a beautiful dining room. The staff was great. Delivering ice to our room (rare in Europe), programming our GPS, and only to happy to share he history of the hotel. This is close to everything and a great value. You'll like it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are visiting Cortona, this location is simply the best. We parked our car at bottom of steep hill as I wasn't brave enough to drive up the narrow one way street but I could see others were much braver. This meant dragging suitcases up the hill but the lack of traffic is one of the charms of this hill side medieval town.

Matteo and the other receptionists were very friendly and helpful but our room was slight disappointment. The wifi was very weak but main problem was noise from other rooms. There is a loud echo and we were kept awake by crying children and conversations of other guests. We mentioned this to reception who seemed genuinely concerned but other them sound proof rooms, I'm not sure what they could have done to immediately rectify this.
Breakfast was lack lustre compared to amazing produce on offer in the area.

All in all, it's a sweet hotel but could be made to be incredible with some investment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joannahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your review. Cortona is a very characteristic historical town with controlled traffic access to allow visitors and residents alike to enjoy its beauty. Our Hotel offers both the options to park the car at the bottom or to drive up to our hotel to load and unload luggage as well valet parking in one of our garages, as an additional service. We thank you for your constructive criticism and we're happy that our staff provided any assistance possible. We'll take care for the next season to make some upgrades to the room in terms of soundproofing, compatible to what can be done in an historical building like ours.
Our breakfast offers a variety of homemade, freshly baked cakes and pastries, three different varieties of cereals, hard boiled eggs, fruit, selection of marmalades, fresh homemade yogurts, plus extras on request
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.c. Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel San Michele is a perfect location for exploring Cortona, close to the heart of the town. This is where much of Under the Tuscan Sun was filmed and the town is as charming as one might expect. The streets either go straight up or straight down but the main square is relatively flat. The hotel is in an old palazzo and easy to find. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. The front desk staff were knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in Cortona and in Hotel San Michele, an historical palace in the very heart of Cortona. We hope to welcome you again here in the future, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Loved the Hotel San Michele. The staff were so helpful, very kind and pleasant. The were happy to help us with anything from booking a wine tour to finding a restaurant for dinner in the evening. The hotel is very clean and quiet, simply charming.

Breakfast is average, with a simple assortment of pastries, a few cereals, hard boiled eggs and fruit. They happily make you a specialty coffee to order. You can order bacon and eggs for an extra fee.

The wifi on our floor was terrible, and we had to sit in the lobby to get access. It quickly booted us off and often slowed to a snails pace.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor had terrible wifi access, and looked onto a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conchitalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your comment. We enjoy giving our guests a full experience at our hotel, helping them with their stay both inside and outside the hotel, providing opportunities to enjoy their stay in Cortona and in Tuscany. we already extended
wifi to all the floors, not limiting it to the lobby and we're going to further improve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a lovely hotel in a terrific location. The room was spacious and comfortable. We staying in 226 which had a 4 poster bed, a loft which took advantage of the high ceilings that accenting the charming wood beams. Even though the room didn't have a view it had loads of space and windows were huge (we left them open all night to let in the mountain air). The staff were very helpful and offered great suggestions for dinner and things to see in Cortona. The breakfast was superb and the waitress was so so cute with a constant smile. She couldn't speak a word of English but communicated perfectly with everyone. The porter, Said (Sieed) was wonderful. He greeted us and told us to leave our worries behind. He also took care of our car and had it for us in moments when requested. Everyone at the front desk was fantastic! Special thanks to Veronica. I would recommend this hotel which for the money was a great value.

Room Tip: as mentioned, we loved 226. No view but loads of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in a historical palace in the very heart of Cortona and that you appreciated the uniqueness of our rooms, all different and vibrant with character. Our staff is always ready to help and assist our guests during their stay to make it a memorable one. Thank you again for choosing Hotel San Michele and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights on our honeymoon in the suite! The view from the balcony was absolutely spectacular, the service at the front desk was wonderful and very friendly. The hotel itself is beautiful and historic. We found the mattress not very comfortable -- very lumpy and the internet connection was crappy. However, we would still come back because it was a wonderful hotel to stay at overall. Lots of options for breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyous_Health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca p, Direttore at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for your comment and choose our hotel for yours honey moon.
We toke note of yours advice and we try to improve the mattress's quality and the wifi service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
774 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
354 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.1 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites , all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing