We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I think we would have enjoyed this hotel if we had been more careful in choosing our room. We had a relatively small window looking out onto a small dark courtyard. The room itself was pleasant enough, very clean with a spacious bathroom. The hotel is in a perfect location to explore Cortona. Close enough to walk everywhere. I guess the reason I am giving it less than a perfect rating is, for me, without a nice view and lots of natural light the room did not measure up to my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask questions about rooms before making reservation.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gshwesternpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    104
    41
    5
    9
See reviews for
51
187
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

All I can say is yes, if coming to Cortona, you must stay here. This quiet boutique hotel is simoly
outstanding. The decor is gorgeous from the moment you enter the door. The staff is wonderful and
most helpful in every area. The rooms are huge and decorated beyond belief. Each room has its very
own decor, with every detail imagined. The location was superb, right off the main square. I am looking
forward to returning to San Michele soon, it will be the first reservation i make . They had our driver
ready at the train station when we arrrived, and he whisked us away for two days in lovely Cortona.
Not to be missed....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you ever find yourself planning a trip to Italy and expect to be anywhere near Cortona, you should consider the Hotel San Michele for your stay.

This lovely 16th Century period hotel is only about twenty steps off Cortona’s main square and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. From Francesca, the lovely front desk manager, to Mateo and Sajid, who helped us with every other need . . . we could not have asked more in the way of service.

Our room was beautiful and the terrace provided us with an absolutely beautiful view of the Tuscan valley and Lake Trasimeno. Every evening, we were treated to a spectalular sunset from a small window in our bedroom.

At the time we book our room online, we already knew about the San Michele from previous stays in Cortona. We had used their internet cafe services in the past. We had stayed further up the hill in a Villa. However, because the climb to and from the villa was some distance and fairly steep, we opted this trip to stay someplace more convenient and leg friendly. When we originally booked our room, we took advantage of a special internet offer. However, this was a special trip for my wife, Amy, and myself. So, when we arrived at the hotel I explained to Francesca, who was working the desk, that I would really like something more special. I asked, “Which room would you want if you were staying here and wanted something special?” She smiled and said, “Okay.” Well, my wife was absolutely thrilled with Francesca’s choice. And . . . we got the room for a very reasonable upgrade charge.

Between Francesca and Mateo, we had wonderful meals all over Cortona. While we had some old favorites of our own, they suggested other options and made all of our reservations. Because the reservations had been made through the San Michele, there was never a delay. As soon as we arrived at each resaurant, we were warmly welcomed and immediately seated at a very nice table. Sajid was our ‘Go to” man. If we needed our car, a wine glass, or anything else, all we had to do was mention our need to him and moments later it would appear. The staff at the San Michele is a fantastic team and they all made us feel right at home. It fact, my wife and I have decided that the San Michele is now our home whenever we are in Cortona.

We wish you the same experience we enjoyed at this wonderful hotel . . . under the Tuscan sun.

Room Tip: When you book your room, let them know your priorities. Value, comfort, view, floor . . . whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomRossAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
561 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

In a gorgeous old building with helpful staff, large rooms, air-conditioning, elaborate breakfast and seconds from the main buzz. We only stayed one night but it was a great spot to stay for popping in and out of the main piazza and Via Roma to eat, drink, shop and watch passers-by. We even joined in a sing-along on the piazza steps !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was a delight. It was appallingly hot during our stay, and the air conditioning was excellent - it meant that one woke refreshed.
It is a very attractive 16th century building right in the centre of the pretty town, appealingly furnished in period style. Our room was not one of the largest, but extremely comfortable and well appointed.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful with advice and information. Breakfasts were generous with plenty of choice.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying in this delightful hotel - and it was good value, too!

Room Tip: I can't think of anything, except some rooms are a good deal larger then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxalis-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koprivnica, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We traveled around Tuscany without making any hotel reservations and this hotel was recommended to us by a stranger who also made a call to the hotel to check if anything was available. We stayed in the apartment at the top floor with a beautiful view. The whole hotel had a medieval charm to it so we had the feeling of experiencing "true" Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel San Michele was one of the most pleasant surprises of our trip to Tuscany. I booked the room because I felt it was a good value and had some relatively good reviews. Every expectation I had was greatly exceeded. Our room was wonderful and very spacious. It was an oasis in which we enjoyed daily afternoon naps and reveled in the antique furniture, wall decorations and rugs. The entire room was spotless. Breakfast was very good. We did not upgrade to the English breakfast and were very satisfied with the options presented. Good yogurt to which we added muesli, wonderful rustic breads, assorted pastries and fresh fruits. Although they had a large pot of Café Americano, I opted for fantastic handmade espresso. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better…just a quick 1 minute walk to Piazza Republica. All in all, Hotel San Michele will be remembered as one of the most enchanting hotels at which we have ever stayed. I can only hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlbintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili Hotel
Villa Marsili Hotel
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites , all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing