We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Take care.....problems......” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Take care.....problems......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Just left the hotel, awfull Hotel, the breakfast included is too simple and they charge you another 9 euros for an upgrade, but is also as poor as the included one, staff is weak, parking is 20€, rooms are noise, no power outlets. Bathrooms smells bad, bed were hard and blankets were dirty. We suppose to stay 5 nights but we left 1 day earlier due to all problems and they charged us a 56€ penlty (absurd!!!!)......strongly not recommended......

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    110
    41
    5
    9
See reviews for
53
199
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I booked two single rooms in September 2011 for our stay in mid-May. When we arrived they did not have 2 single rooms so they had to upgrade us to a Superior Room and a Room but at the single room price. The rooms were nice enough. The Superior room was on the street where all the workers drove around 6 am and late night diners walked. It was quite noisy but that was manageable.
The problem was the staff. For the first two days whenever we encountered a staff member they had to remind us that we were staying in upgraded rooms that we were not paying for, like some poor relative who they were giving a treat.

The staff was often unfriendly and uninformed. One perspn at the desk told us we had to pay for use of the inherent (which you could only access from one small area in the hotel) while another staff member told us there was no charge.

I would never stay there again mostly because of the surly staff.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Attractive position close to main square with fine views over the countryside. Parking is a problem in the town and 20 euros is the charge for the hotel garage! The alternative is to park just outside the city wall and climb back up the hill to the hotel . In our experience this is a perfectly safe place to leave the car and the walk is a pleasant bit of exercise before the first drink of the day.
The staff are efficient and pleasant appearing at the door as soon as the car stopped to help with luggage.
An ample supply of restaurants are within easy walking distance and the town is a most interesting overnight stop.
Bedrooms are ancient as shown by the painted wooden ceilings but the beds are wonderfully comfortable and the bathrooms immaculate.

Room Tip: lift to all rooms and i imagine views on all sides but one to the south would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TitusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have just returned from my annual stay in Cortona. I have stayed 5 times in the San Michele and have never been disappointed. Francesca and her team are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble in making your stay enjoyable. The hotel is exactly in the right place. It is just off the main square which houses great bars and restaurants. The rooms are completely in character and it is possible to have fantastic views from private balconies over the beautiful Tuscan countryside.
A must stay if you are in Cortona.

Room Tip: Ask to be looking out to Lake Trasimeno
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Reasonable pricing and decent breakfast. Not luxury, but a nice hotel.

Staff is very welcoming and if you get lucky you can enjoy a fantastic view on Lago Trasimene (such an historic place!) from your room... even your bed.

Recommended for family or couples, if you manage to go up there by car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, Surrey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here recently with a girlfriend whilst attending a cookery course in picturesque Cortona. Hotel is a stone's throw from the main square yet offers total peace and tranquility. We found the staff polite and helpful. Our room was on the top floor with sloping ceiling and skylights which made it bright and airy (and which also made up for not having a view), and the bathroom was lovely. The building has a fascinating history and has been carefully restored, evidence of which can be seen in the dining room and the stunning sitting room on the second floor. The continental breakfast was very good, with a small nmber of cooked items also on offer, Overall a very positive experience. I wouldn't hesitate in returning or recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Excellent location in the centre of Cortona. Room at the top with skylights was bright and spacious with large bathroom. Staff were friendly and courteous. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Property: Hotel San Michele
Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites , all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing