We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightful in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Elena

Borgo Elena
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo Elena
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed in the delightful Borgo Elena for 2 wonderful weeks in April. Elena herself welcomed us and was on hand to ensure our stay was hassle free. The apartment was very comfortable and provided all that we needed, from a comfortable bed, a good size bathroom and a large kitchen- sitting room - plus a few cooking ingredients and some delicious coffee. The place oozes peacefulness and the views over the Cortona valley are stunning. We found Villa Elena to be a great base from which to explore southern Tuscany and Umbria.

Room Tip: The Balcony apartment has great views and a large kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Our family (2 seniors, 2 young adults) found Borgo Elena a perfect place to stay: centrally located, magic views of countryside, private "townhouse" with outdoor eating area, pool to relax after day of sight seeing, well equipped kitchen (we did our own cooking) and new bathroom. Above all Elena herself, a very capable young woman, who runs the borgo with her mother and father, went out of her way to help us with car rental and travel arrangements etc. Her family is well established in the area and as a result we were able to explore places not found in the usual tourist's itinerary. The farm produces wine and olive oil - both worth buying! Just minutes from Cortona's good restaurants, concerts and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeraqJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

a wonderfully located, lovely place to stay in Tuscany. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. the appartments are beautifully done, large and the kitchen we had was very good (often kitchens are lacking I find). The garden and swimming pool were fantastic. The views are stunning, the location is great for seeing Tuscany and Umbria, and it's easy to get to. Perugia airport is only 45 mins away. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

We recently returned from a week at Borgo Elena. It was set amongst the olive trees on a high road in the hills near Cortona. Beautiful place just to sit in the late afternoon with a red wine & look at the wonderful view. The accommodation was great for 2 couples, big, clean & with a big Italian kitchen & eating table. A BBQ was provided so we could sit outside & entertain if we wanted. Mario & his wife & daughter Elena made you feel extremely welcome & Mario even with no english took us the where "Under the Tuscan Sun" movie was made. A wonderful experience something we would never have found on our own. With a car we hired from Florence it was a great location to get to Cortona, Sienna, Perugia & many other wonderful cities in Tuscany. We would certainly stay again if we get the chance.
Traveller from Sydney, Australia

  • Liked — Self contained, wonderful views & relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swimmerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2004

Four of us, friends, just stayed at the Borgo Elena, renting two apartments amongst us. We loved the place! The apartments were comfortable, the setting charming, the views glorious, and the owners friendly and accomodating. We would go back in a heartbeat! It is up a steep hill, out of town, so you have to have a car.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viaggatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2002

My husband and I stayed at Borgo Elena in mid May and fell in love with the place, the owners, and everything about the place and area. When we arrived we said we'd stay for two nights, maybe three and ended up staying seven nights. We had to tear ourselves away to explore other areas of Italy. The charming owner, Mario, his daughter and wife were so gracious, friendly, and delightful. Mario told us "No Service", but we found him rumbling up the drive several times a day and a night check as well, to make sure all was well, that we had everything we needed, and most of all were happy. How could we not be happy? The apartment we rented was spacious and comfortable. No TV or telephone......a real treat; we read, wrote, talked, sat on our veranda and watched the sunset while sipping a wonderful Chianti. We'd go back in an instant. Kathy

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Il Casale
Residence Il Casale
#19 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#13 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Elena

Property: Borgo Elena
Address: San Pietro a Cegliolo, 52042, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Borgo Elena Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing