We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eremo Le Celle

Eremo Le Celle
Book In Advance
More Info
$207.36*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Arezzo and Cortona from Siena
York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Peaceful tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The title says it all. What a lovely way to spend an hour. We arrived just before midday and heard the monks chanting which was beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WitchyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    118
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat from Crowded Cortona Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just a few kilometers outside of Cortana - a very long walk or a very short drive. When we arrived there were very few people present, but all of the buildings were open and could be visited and explored. A very nice walk along a path through the woods.The views of the mountains (and in our case an approaching isolated thrunderstorm), were spectacular.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tgrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must See in Cortona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Quaint, beautiful Monastery...must see it while you are in Cortona. Quite an experience to attend mass if you are there on a Sunday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaaabse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Must See...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Eremo Le Celle is such an interesting place, both in the way and the place it was built, and because of its history. Just walking through he passageways causes one to stop and reflect. It is a must see if you are in Cortona. My wife and I still talk about it. We will go back when we return to Cortona.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Serene and Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were taken to this site by our wonderful agriturismo host, Lapo, at Casale della Torre.

When I walked onto the grounds I felt a peaceful serenity.
The waterfall was breath-taking, and when we walked inside we heard the monks chanting,
which enriched the experience.

The small cell of St. Francis was humbling and I felt I could have stayed here for days, meditating and getting lost in the tranquil ambience.

If you go to Cortona, you must not miss this!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenity_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eremo Le Celle also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Eremo Le Celle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing