We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb traditional accommodation in Cortona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monastero San Silvestro
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have just completed two stays at this property with my wife, the first for three days was so good we immediately booked in for another five days. This property is a gem. Located 5 mins drive from the walls of Cortona this accommodation is close to everything. Montepulchiano and San Gimignano are 20 and 40 mins drive respectively, a great outlet shopping mall is 10 mins drive away, Cortona is at most 5 mins drive and within 5 minutes you have the town of Camucia and local supermarkets and shops for stocking up at. The accommodations themselves are roomy and traditional, but tasteful and modern with great air conditioning, amazing wifi throughout the property nice big bedrooms and bathrooms and great kitchen for cooking. The grounds are large and well maintained with a great pool. The area is quiet and relaxing, this really is a fantastic place for basing yourself to see Tuscany or just to escape and relax. Donnato your host is fantastic, very helpful and gives great advice, always available when you need him, can't praise him enough. Would recommend to anyone this property, the best we stayed in throughout Italy and would definitely stay here again. Superb, top quality, can't say enough.

Room Tip: All rooms great however 1 bedroom apartment is great with nice balcony for eating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San S, Responsabile reception at Monastero San Silvestro, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Ben, your description of the distances' s of the Monastero San Silvestro from various cities that you have visited is evidence of a careful traveler. Thanks for the compliments personal and I want to say that for me it was a pleasure having you as guests. You are welcome in the future. Your testimony and advice that you give to other travelers is very important. At the next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

A very serene and rustic villa dating back to the 14th century boasts all the original features of the monastery it is named after. For me, it was a very surreal experience to be staying in a place with so much history. The property is very big, with lush green lawns. it has it's own swimming pool. It hosts self catering apartments, which is a cool idea for long term stays and the rooms are air conditioned.
The best part is it is close to all the main tourist attractions in Italy, like Rome, Pisa, Florence., and if you have your own car can easily explore the Tuscan region.
Donetto, the manager is an extremely nice and helpful person. He made the stay extra special by providing us with all sorts of help and advice. He was always available. A very very pleasant person indeed.
i would recommend anyone travelling in this region to definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San S, Responsabile reception at Monastero San Silvestro, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Sig.ra Mehreen

Grazie per la sua recensione che sottolinea molte caratteristiche della nostra struttura, tra i quali anche la vicinanza alle principali città in Toscana. Grazie anche per i suoi apprezzamenti personali, relativi all' assistenza fornita e alla disponibilità. Ci auguriamo di averla nostra ospite in futuro o ospitare i suoi amici ai quali ci consiglierà .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: L'appartamento Menta è molto comodo anche per l'utilizzo esterno
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _luisa_armiraglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maltesine Nuvol... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Forse sceglierei un appartamento al piano terra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nizza425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Corrado L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ragazzi, fidatevi, tutte perfette!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank francescod123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.2 mi away
Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri
1.8 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
669 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
7.4 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
#1 of 2 in Mercatale
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monastero San Silvestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastero San Silvestro

Address: Nucleo Abitato Salcotto, 25, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range: $156 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monastero San Silvestro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the thirteenth century, the Monastery San Silvestro was religious building. Today recently renovated retains the charm of a time and is a charming farmhouse is located 3 km from the town of Cortona. The main building houses all the apartments. You will stay in apartments that take you back in time while being equipped with modern comforts to which we are accustomed. Equip kitchen, heating and air conditioning, WiFi. The park has a swimming pool open for the summer season, gazebo, barbecue and free private parking. Its location, close to major cultural tourism destinations, it is ideal for those who wish to combine rest and recreation. Monastero San Silvestro has a large living room with antique fireplace and entrance directly from the garden, which makes it the location for events and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Monastero San Silvestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing