We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Degli Artisti

Caffe Degli Artisti
Ranked #39 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

During my stay in Cortona, I had lunch here three days. I kept promising myself I would return in the evening, but I was usually still too full from lunch. The pasta is freshly cooked with very generous portions and modest prices. The family are very friendly and while the service is fast, they never try to rush you. Its position is also very convenient. I would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    68
    14
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best service I've ever seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I are spending four weeks in Cortona. During our first week we tried several caffes for our daily coffee hit and quickly settled on Caffe Degli Artisti. It wasn't because of the quality of the coffee. Coffee is pretty much coffee. It wasn't because of the atmosphere, although we both think it's a lovely place to sit and linger while sipping our cappuccino or macchiato. No, we keep coming back because the service is the best we've ever seen. I wish I knew the man's name, but there is an older gentleman who greets us each day with a huge smile. He always, without exception, brings us a plate of confections or bruschetta on the house. He makes us feel welcome, and isn't that what a dining establishment should do. We've been here for coffee more than a dozen times this month. Today, for the first time on our trip, we ate lunch. The lasagna was supurb. I will miss coming here when we leave as much as I will miss anyplace in Cortona that has become part of our routine. I love Caffe Degli Artisti.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Venicel0ver1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza in Cortona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I have been in Cortona for three months now and this restaurant/bar has the best pizza and variety in town. Their pasta dishes are also perfection. Located on Via Nazionale and steps away from the main piazza, it the ideal place to relax and enjoy life in Cortona. The service is fast and extremely friendly and the prices are reason enough to make me a regular.

Helpful?
Thank Tpoppi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had dinner here one of the first few nights in Cortona. The staff was wonderful and the food was delightful. Probably not one of our favorite but the food was still fantastic. I had asked about dessert and even though they did not have anything in particular they had some pastries they gave to us. Definatly worth a visit if you are in Cortona

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, bad attitudes.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We tried this place the first day of our week long stay in Cortona, service was slow and when we asked the waiter a question about a desert item, he said it was fish, the Italian people next to us corrected him and he got angry at us. We reluctantly went back 4 days later as it was the only place in town with seats available, and obviously was a reason why. Again, poor service, bad attitude and they tried to add an 8 euro "table charge" to our bill. There are 100 great places in town, strongly suggest going to any of them over this one.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Degli Artisti also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Caffe Degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing