We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely superb”
other travelers have booked this property
The medieval Casaccia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The medieval Casaccia
The 12m x 6m pool with stunning views The spacious kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The medieval Casaccia
The 12m x 6m pool with stunning views
The spacious kitchen/diner
The vaulted-ceiling living room
Eating out under the pergola
The cottage
Double bedroom with king-size bed
Bedroom 2 with 2 beds
Bedroom 3 with 3 beds
Top of the loggia steps
Bathroom
In the old mulberry tree orchard
The 12m x 6m pool
The view from the pool
Dreamy hilltop setting
Looking out from the pool
The 12m x 6m pool
The air-conditioned cottage bedroom
The air-conditioned cottage bedroom
The downstairs living room in the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HalfwayCo...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely pool and location, could do with a refurb”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Casaccia is in a stunning location, and has a lovely pool. It sleeps 10, although this would be a squeeze, particularly as there is very little storage space in the triple room- in reality, 8 is more realistic and comfortable.

The holiday lettings details note air conditioning and ceiling fans - only the cottage has an air conditioning which was entirely ineffective, and there are just a couple of small plug in fans. This won't matter during most of the year, but in temperatures of 38-40 degrees as we had, nights were inevitably very uncomfortable.

If you go with 10 people, note that there are not enough sun loungers/ deck chairs for everyone, and only one pool umbrella. The pool itself is great - it's deep though, so I would probably not recommend for young children.

The gate is extremely narrow - if you have a large party, then you would not get a large vehicle through, best to get two cars.

The beds are old and could all do with replacing. The bathrooms are both on the middle floor, but the main bedroom is on the top floor. The stairs are narrow between the middle and top floor, so not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Similarly, there are also steps down to the shower room from the bedrooms, and the bathroom in the cottage was downstairs.

Overall, I would say the property is best for adults and older children, without mobility issues.
In general, the house would be fantastic if it had a bit of a refurb.

The owners were very helpful and pleasant to deal with before our trip. You can see that some improvements are starting, e.g. a new oven, so I'm sure that the other issues will be addressed soon. The owners also provided fantastic information on the local area which was very useful.

The pricing is good out of the main school holidays, but the full school holiday pricing definitely seems overpriced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pool
Liked least: Lack of a/c or ceiling fans. General refurb needed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Thanks for your comprehensive review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I can provide some information on some of the points you raise. There are usually two umbrellas by the pool but one had been damaged before your arrival. This has now been replaced but I am sorry you had to manage with one. We have also taken your comments on board about the loungers and there are now 6 loungers and 6 deck chairs so that large parties have plenty of places to relax by the pool! I do appreciate that it can get incredibly hot in the summer. The air conditioning (which as you say is only in the cottage not the main house) does help a bit but in a rustic Italian farmhouse such as ours, air conditioning can only do so much. I am sorry to learn you thought the beds were old. They aren't! But they are in keeping with the traditional style of the house. We really do appreciate your comments and as you rightly pointed out, we are constantly updating the facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev A
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

First thing you see is the out of this world view. The scenery alone is amazing and we were fortunate that the lavender bushes were all in full bloom so the scent was lovely. Cassacia is so beautiful and spotlessly immaculate. We ranged in age from 18 months to 80 years and all enjoyed either meals underneath the pergola or around the kitchen table then relaxing in the evening in the spacious yet cosy lounge. Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms too. The pool was enjoyed by all of us and so many happy memories of our 2 week stay will be treasured. Cassacia is the most relaxing and beautiful place to choose for a holiday we really didn't want it to end.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa, amazing scenery, location, sheer peace and quiet
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Delighted that you had such a great holiday and many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. Hope to be able to welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - car needed and be prepared for the steep/narrow roads”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful rustic house, stunning views, well stocked with all amenities. The house is located at the top of a steep hill so be prepared. The directions provided where so amazing though we didn't get lost once despite our trepidation! The English/Italian couple who look after the house where so helpful and organised supplies upon arrival as well as a local cook and wine tasting which we would thoroughly recommend. We took the drive to Assisi and Sienna which you really must experience - we are already planning a trip back. Be prepared for the wildlife we saw porcupines, owls and a few small scorpions in the house although assuring to know they only feel like a bee sting if bitten! We had a two and a half year old with us and the house was perfect to run around and well stocked with games to play. Lovely opportunity to recharge the batteries and experience a different pace of life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and the helpful service offered.
Liked least: The house is a little remote - although this wasn't a problem for us it may be for some and the price reflected this. Its just a shame its just too far to travel for long weekends or without a car!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house, beautiful region and beautiful food and wine, we've just returned from a week's stay and wish it could have been longer. Highly recommend the villa, although a hairy drive the first time you go up there, you soon get used to it and it's worth the drive up the hill as the house is well renovated and in a gorgeous location with a beautiful pool. Tony who looks after the house did a great job, he organised for a chef come to in for a night to cook for us as well as a wine tasting and meal down the road which were both amazing.
Recommend cicli Valentini in Castiglione di lago for bike hire, the shop next to the bar in San Leo Bastia for provisions and the butcher in San Leo Bastia. All our party had a fab time, including an energetic two year old!
We hope to return soon to this amazing place.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSK288
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome in beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I love this part of Tuscany and have stayed at other villas in the area but this is definitely the best one we have found and we are already planning to go back. It has everything we are looking for - traditionally & comfortably furnished, lovely kitchen, great swimming pool. English / Italian couple in nearby village look after things on the ground and are really helpful. Good local amenities including bar/shop in next village and lovely pizzeria. The separate cottage is great as you can invite friends / family and they can have some privacy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & friendly welcome
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaO147
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“serenity”
Reviewed June 24, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

the location and views are wonderful.Felt like we were on top of the world and in communion with God's creation.Very peaceful,waking up to the bird songs in the morning and watching the fire flies at night. We did encounter two scorpions in the house though, but you just have to be aware of that.
The house was spacious and we found everything that we needed to cook a full meal. The mulberry tree provided us with tons of fruit which we so much enjoyed.The seating areas outside were located for both sun and shade depending on the time of day.
we loved the pool which was sparkling clean which kept us cool on hot days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: scorpions
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing