We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service in a very pleasant scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nessun Dorma

Nessun Dorma
Ranked #21 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Price range: $27 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We allure you with our elegant and stunning atmosphere but the food is why you won't want to leave! Traditional and seasonal dishes here mix with innovative and exiting ideas. Everything we do originates from the personal passion of the owner and the cook! Starting from the variety of game to fresh truffle. From the home made pasta to the home made cakes. Even the coffee is the very best: we are the proud owners of the only traditional steam coffe-machine in the area. As Maurizio (the owner) is also a sommelier his passion spreads of course also to the wine menu. If this wasn't enough Maurizio also e enjoys making his very own spirits of which you'll find a wide selection here.
Heelsum
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and service in a very pleasant scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited Cortona and the Nessun Dorma restaurant with a group of 9 people, around 8 o'clock at night. Other restaurants around the main square refused to take a group of 9 (do not ask me why); Nessun Dorma was pleasant exception and made an effort to seat us all at a long table on the nice terrace outside.

The service remained perfect during the evening and the food was very good. We had an assortment of Tuscan antipasti and a selection of primi and secundi pasti. All fresh ingredients and well prepared.

Should we return to Cortona, we will surely visit Nessun Dorma again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    133
    30
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Truffles!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Forget the #38 rating. We've eaten at Nessun Dorma 3 times on 2 different trips and loved the food. Yes, the service is slow (think relaxed Italian time), but we have always found it very friendly. If you love truffles, their selection of truffle dishes is impressive and a bargain. Their delicious truffle crostone with brie is COVERED in fresh truffles and costs a mere 5 euros. A truffle service with that much fresh black truffle would cost $35-$50 in the states. Truffle pasta, truffle eggs, truffle steak are all a steal and scrumptious! More conventional Italian fare is just as good. My sister-in-law had the lasagna and it was the best of our Italian trip (she had lasagna at least 3 other times). Eat in the gorgeous dining room downstairs for a romantic meal. We had a superb bottle of red Tuscan wine for only 13 euros!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank docdeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Average food, poor service, nice view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Ate here a few days ago. Food was very average, nothing special at all. Service was slow and terrible - we felt like an inconvenience rather than customers. The view of the square is good if sat outside, but there are so many other great restaurants in Cortona, so try somewhere else!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PapaJamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Loved the room, Pavrotti background music-overall, food was good, not great, although the cream of turnip soup was rich & delicious. Venison was poorly cut & had bone fragments, while wild boar was tender & boneless. Good service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozy Grotto.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

It looks like just a coffee shop from the outside, but a few steps inside reveals a beautiful underground grotto restaurant. Don't miss the 30 minute cheese plate, it's the best presentation of Tuscan cheeses in Cortona and is a real eye opener. We had the lamb and steak which were both excellent and finished with the wonderful molten chocolate cake.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveleater10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nessun Dorma also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Nessun Dorma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing