We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely restaurant - but they are overwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nessun Dorma

Nessun Dorma
Ranked #22 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Price range: $27 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We allure you with our elegant and stunning atmosphere but the food is why you won't want to leave! Traditional and seasonal dishes here mix with innovative and exiting ideas. Everything we do originates from the personal passion of the owner and the cook! Starting from the variety of game to fresh truffle. From the home made pasta to the home made cakes. Even the coffee is the very best: we are the proud owners of the only traditional steam coffe-machine in the area. As Maurizio (the owner) is also a sommelier his passion spreads of course also to the wine menu. If this wasn't enough Maurizio also e enjoys making his very own spirits of which you'll find a wide selection here.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant - but they are overwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Nessun Dorma and whilst I think the food is excellent, the service is awful. The first time we went, we were seated downstairs in a lovely converted stable. They were busy and the owner sent out for help - a lovely girl from Preston showed up and eventually we were served. The food was good and there is an excellent choice with some more unusual dishes. This time, we were again seated downstairs; although to start with it was a relief to be away from the Tuscan sun, it wasn't long before it got very hot down there and the A/C wasn't working properly. Our Preston lass was there again and did what she could but there were ten of us and it seemed the kitchen couldn't produce more than one dish at a time. I am longing to find a good restaurant in Cortona - a town we love to visit on our regular Italian holidays.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minnie12359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    135
    29
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC, RELAXED AND FLAVORFUL FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Nessun Dorma, located on the Piazza Signorelli in Cortona, Italy is well worth a return visit for my wife and me. We chose to dine in a room beautifully decorated in browns and rust tones. The service afforded by the wait staff was excellent...timely and non-intrusive allowing us a relaxed and romantic evening.

Enjoying a glass of house white wine, we reviewed the menu and made our dining decisions. My wife selected: pasta stuffed with eggplant and served with a creamy tomato sauce and I chose: pasta stuffed with potato and served with a sauce of porcini mushrooms and garnished with a mint pesto sauce. We shared a platter of grilled vegetables and a terrina di asparagi (small dish of asparagus soufflé style) served on a bed of greens and topped with fresh tomatoes.

Our dinner was wonderfully presented and the flavors of our selections were magnificently delicious. Our dinner and the service at Nessun Dorma created a night to remember.

Dave and Edie

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiatori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service, there are better restaurants in Cortona”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Me, my girlfriend and sister ended up here on holiday because we couldn't find a table anywhere else in the town on a busy weekend.

The service was INCREDIBLY slow - our starters took 40 minutes to arrive - I know the pace of life in tuscany is traditionally slow but thats a long time to wait when you're hungry. The restaurant was practically dead, so I have no idea why the servies was so slow.

The waitress was sympathetic and realised we were waiting ages, so she brought us a free bread and cheeses selection, which was delicious - but aside from this she was generally inattentive all night and I had to go and find her a few times to order more drinks.

We ordered a local montepulciano wine but it was corked, when we told the waitress she told us to let it breathe but then she didn't reappear for another half hour.

When the food arrived it was unremarkable - my sister's tagitelli was very bland, my lasagne was reheated - we also ordered sides of a green salad which was very good, and beans which were very al dente and tasteless

After sitting for well over 2 and a half hours, we couldn't be bothered to order dessert in case we had to wait any longer - we waited another age for the bill to arrive, and waited so long for our change that we gave up in the end.

Also, for what we ordered, the bill was very pricey.

Cortona's filled with so many amazing restaurants, if you see this one just keep walking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willmcconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
227 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great lunch, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great lunch, recommended by a local. Service was rather slow but we were in no rush. Wine exellent, bussheta great taste and mixed meats find.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ken1green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worst service in Italy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

The pasta was good but the service was soooo bad. Wild boar in chianti sauce was good, but lamb looked like re-cooked table scraps - all rib bones & fat - no meat for 14 EU! Wine was brought to table AFTER meal was served (and declined - instead we asked for the check). Another thing - at most restaurants we've been to, they charged a 1.5EU per person service fee. This restaurant charged 2 EU pp - and the service was terrible. Cortona has plenty of restaurants. Do not waste an evening here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Huntsville Merckette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nessun Dorma also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Nessun Dorma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing