We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, service a bit slow”
Review of Nessun Dorma

Nessun Dorma
Ranked #21 of 101 Restaurants in Cortona
Price range: $28 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We allure you with our elegant and stunning atmosphere but the food is why you won't want to leave! Traditional and seasonal dishes here mix with innovative and exiting ideas. Everything we do originates from the personal passion of the owner and the cook! Starting from the variety of game to fresh truffle. From the home made pasta to the home made cakes. Even the coffee is the very best: we are the proud owners of the only traditional steam coffe-machine in the area. As Maurizio (the owner) is also a sommelier his passion spreads of course also to the wine menu. If this wasn't enough Maurizio also e enjoys making his very own spirits of which you'll find a wide selection here.
Kent
Level Contributor
256 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great lunch, service a bit slow”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great lunch, recommended by a local. Service was rather slow but we were in no rush. Wine exellent, bussheta great taste and mixed meats find.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    141
    30
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worst service in Italy”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

The pasta was good but the service was soooo bad. Wild boar in chianti sauce was good, but lamb looked like re-cooked table scraps - all rib bones & fat - no meat for 14 EU! Wine was brought to table AFTER meal was served (and declined - instead we asked for the check). Another thing - at most restaurants we've been to, they charged a 1.5EU per person service fee. This restaurant charged 2 EU pp - and the service was terrible. Cortona has plenty of restaurants. Do not waste an evening here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Huntsville Merckette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We tried the famous Bistecca a la Fiorentina and loved it. The chef is an artist. The staff is very friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pivato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a fantastic dinner at Nessun, the atmosphere and service will be unforgettable. Turns out we had the resturaunt to ourselves that night, so the private dining experience coupled with the Barry White playing in the background, lol, was more than we could ask for, would definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tutti dormono a Nessun Dorma”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This place had great street appeal. It is a cellar restaurant, with a cute name, and the dining room is done in lovely stone work, and the lighting is terrific. There it all ends however, as the service was slow, and the food undistinguished. There are much better places in Cortona to dine, and there are much better places to dine in Tuscany than Cortona.

As a single example of how badly things went, we asked for a special Syrah from the area, not being extremely familiar. We were given one which was very ordinary. We noticed another table being given a D'Alessandro. We asked why she hadn't brought us that, and she said, "fuori lista" (off our list). She indicated that we asked for un "Syrah speciale e D'Alessandro e molto speciale." She replied that the D'Alessandro was very special. The service was so slow and it the wait between courses was ridiculous. Everyone in the dining room was grumbling. This place is one of our all time worst dining experiences in Italy, of which we've had very few over the past 15 years.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirklandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nessun Dorma also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Nessun Dorma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing