We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views”
Review of Ristorante Tonino

Ristorante Tonino
Ranked #50 of 100 Restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a drink on the terrace, which was great with spectacular views of the Val Di Chiana and a most remarkable sunset. The service was poor and we we then surrounded by groups of tourists wanting to photograph the sunset which meant that are table was constantly surrounded by strangers - pushing and shoving!
We then had dinner in the restaurant and whilst the meals were good, the service was lacking and the deco was straight out of the 80s.
There are far better restaurants in Cortona, but if you want to enjoy a Sundowner with a view, we would recommend a drink on the terrace, just make sure you are early.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    65
    35
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful panoramic views”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and enjoyed the amazing panoramic views from the outside terrace. Delicious local food with the great addition of an outside BBQ set up for the month of August. Restaurant is attached to a pleasant modern hotel. Has excellent marble bathrooms and a beautiful inside restaurant terrace for the winter. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Scenic restaurant in Cortona”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Tonino has excellent views both from the terrace and the beautifully appointed rooms below. Our food was very good but the first person to serve us was not pleasant at all. We were handed menus which listed pizzas and as I had not had one for a long time I chose that. However, on her return this waitress said (as if we should have known) that pizzas are not served at lunchtime. It would be useful to have been told that or have had it written on the menu. We then hurriedly made a choice of 3 salads and 1 pasta. We didn't want to linger too long as although we live not far away, we had overseas guests with us and wanted them to explore the town. We waited a long tie and people who had come in after us were served before us. Eventually we attracted the attention of an excellent waiter who served us very well. The waitress we had with blonde hair should not be in a service industry with an attitude problem. I think she just thought we were tourists but even so, that is not a nice way to behave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

There are more popular restaurants in Cortona. But Tonino has an amazing view, two wide and comfortable terraces overlooking endless green fields of Tuscany. Food was alright, our servers were polite and wine was incredibly cheap (Montepulciano).
I think this the place for some special family dinners or large groups...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercatale, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rushed”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have been twice to this restaurant , whilst it has a view to die for and the food is excellent, we were rushed. We had the 8 course tasting menu which was delicious, but, they were bringing out the next course before we had finished our last!

Felt uncomfortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frejus48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Tonino also viewed

 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Ristorante Tonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing