We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“1 month not enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Pilari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Pilari
Ranked #18 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 month not enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a very special 1 months holiday with Vanni and Diletta this year, total relaxation.
Perfect base to explore Tuscany/Umbria or just to chill.
Must try wines Capoverso Nobile 2010 and Rosso 2011, Casanova di neri Brunello 2006
La Tunella sauvignon blanc or Pinot grigio
Restaurants . Ambrosia Cortona Pomorancio Umbertide , Canta napoli Camucia
See you next year!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last year I wrote an enthusiastic report about this Agriturismo. Together with the same couple of friends and their 2 children I came back this year and again the week we have spent was at 100% a delight.
This agriturismo is really located in a fantastic environment, with breathtaking views from everywhere, especially from the swimming pool which is surrounded by hills and beautiful nature. The entire place is extremely quiet and peaceful, day and night, the cottages are perfectly comfortable and clean and the owners know how to welcome their host (this year they offered to us not less than 3 bottles of a very good wine from their own wineyard).

A strong advantage of this agriturismo is also the size of the swimming pool, really great and 100% private, shared only with the owners and the two other small cottages. Most of the time my friends and I were alone and managed to play some intensive watersport, alone in this very large pool, quite a luxury that very few Agriturismi provide!). And it is a perfectly clean swimming pool.

The village of Mercatale; where this Agriturismo is located, is pleasant, offering 2 Cafés, an outstanding Bakery / Patisserie, an excellent "Macelleria" who sales delicious prosciutto, and a CONAD supermarket. All shopkeepers are very welcoming and like to share conversations.

From Mercatale the closest "big" town is Cortona (where I found an excellent gelateria) , 15 minutes by car. Perugia and Arezzo are about 45 minutes and Trasimeno lake is 15 minutes.

If you wish to spend a week in a peaceful, relaxing and definitely beautiful environment, this Agriturismo is extremely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisPaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilari, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pilari, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks very much for your review and thanks also to have had another holiday in our farm!
It was really a pleasure to see you again !
For us it's really important to know that you appreciate our farm and our hospitality!

Best regards toall of you,

Diletta & Vanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We are a family with three kids , we found well-furnished apartments in a small, green valley, exceptionally located in the centre of Italy, a family-run farmhouse with friendly owners, the best homemade red wine, places to go hiking in the woods, close to lake Trasimeno ( we went on a boat trip to the main island......lovely), stunning scenery when you wake up......do you want more? Try on the moon.....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supersummerosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilari, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pilari, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks very much for your nice review!
It's really a pleasure for us to know that you had a good holiday in our farm.
We hope to see you and your family again!!

Best wishes,

Diletta & Vanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boom, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've enjoyed our holiday at Agriturismo Pilari. The owners, Vanni and Diletta, are very helpful and friendly people. The three guest houses are quietly situated in the Tuscan hills. In the village you can taste the real Italian atmosphere (few tourists). Pilari has a nice big swimming pool with a jacuzzi! We've visited Rome, Florence, etc. Beautiful region and Pilari is the perfect address to visit Tuscany/Umbria!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilari, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pilari, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks Kurt for your nice review. We are very happy that you and your family had a good holiday in our farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are a family with 2 boys aged 10 and 12, and we spent 2 weeks in June, 2013 on this lovely agriturismo. It was everything we dreamed of! Agriturismo Pilari is lovingly cared for by Diletta and Vanni, their 2 young boys, and Maria (Vanni's mother.) It's located in the Val di Pierle, with a centuries-old castle that is visible from the farm, and breathtaking views of the valley and surrounding mountains all around. Take a 5 minute walk into the small quaint town of Mercatale, where you can get your morning pastries and bread from the baker, stroll to one of the 3 cafes in town for your cappuccino, pick up some fresh groceries from one of the 2 grocers, and then some fresh meat from the butcher. We cooked most of our meals at home--the kitchen is well appointed, and the farm makes a yummy red wine which is always available! The farm is a 15 minute drive from Cortona and perfectly located for day trips into all the classic hill towns. The family is warm and helpful but not intrusive. Vanni even figured out where my 10 year old son could rent an electric bass during our stay! This was a very special trip for us, thank you Diletta and Vanni!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilari, Proprietario at Agriturismo Pilari, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Sandy we are very happy that you and your family had a nice holiday in our farm.
Our purpose is that our client feel our farm as their home and we always try to be helpful and friendly.
Thanks so much for your nice review,

Kind regards,

Vanni & Diletta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

At the end of August I spent a few days with close friends and their little 4 year-old boy at Agriturismo Pilari. The cottage is located in a lovely valley, near an old castle and close to a sweet village (less than 1 min. by car) where one can find everything (grocery, nice cafés, excellent bakery, and even a restaurant).

The place is extremely quiet, the swimming pool is large and overlooks a wonderful countryside, and the cottage is perfectly clean and provided with all the needed comfort.
The owners are very warm, they even drove us to their wineyard uphills and took an hour to explain to us how they produced their own wine (which is actually very good !). We were also free to eat the figs and blackberries of their garden at anytime. The owners also organized a dinner on Saturday night, where all guests were invited. We really felt "at home" and most welcome.

It is mostly a location for those who want to relax and take profit of the "dolce vita" that such a breathtaking place allows. It is perfect for a honeymoon or for families with young children. The only counterpart is that, as the village is located between two steep hills, any trip further to Trasimeno, Cortona or Perugia takes between 20 (for the closest town) and more than 30 minutes, but the roads are so beautiful (and really not stressful) that, for us, it was not an issue.
We will definitely come back to Agriturismo Pilari !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisPaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been visiting Vanni and Diletta for 6 years now they have a wonderful property surrounded by beautiful Tuscan forest and mountains, the infinity swimming pool and jacuzzi are the best place to totally relax and take in the views
It is the perfect base to explore Tuscany and Umbria every year we discover a new gem from Seafood restaurants in Umbertide to a fantastic Nobile Capaverso made by Adriana Avignonesi
We have already re booked for next year as we have done for the passed six years to make sure we have our little peace of heaven!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
11.6 mi away
Agriturismo Agrisalotto
Agriturismo Agrisalotto
#6 of 79 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
6.0 mi away
Agriturismo I Pagliai
Agriturismo I Pagliai
#7 of 79 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
7.1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Pilari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pilari

Property: Agriturismo Pilari
Address: C.S. Val di Pierle 116, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm is situated in Val di Piele, a small valley next to lake of Trasimeno, between Toscana and Umbria.Here you can spend a beautifull time full of nature. You can also visit the most important towns and places of the two countries (es. Cortona, Assisi, Firenze, Siena etc...).Pilari apartments are in the ancient village that is the farm heart and its origins are lost in the past. The oldest part of the village was built as a watch tower of Pierle castle near the XIII century. This castle was a very important fortress for Pierle valley and now it is a very important sign of the history valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing